The End of 2013

31 Dec

To take a page out of Abby‘s book, a little review of 2013 in pictures!  I started this blog back in March and it was SO cool looking back on previous posts to jog my memory.  Pretty convenient for a gal with a pretty miserable memory (check out January – pathetic).  I’m a huge fan of reflecting on life (duh I have a blog), and making goals for the future…so hang with me while I recap some of the 2013 highlights.

January

I literally can’t remember anything that happened in January 2013.  Ooops.  Let’s move on, shall we?

February

Adam and I started P90X for REAL.  We did the workouts and the diet and started on an awesome experience.

P90X-Extreme-Home-Fitness-Guides

Bring it!

March

A musical!  Adam and I performed in our first musical together in Indy.  I also ran in my first 10K and ramped up training for my spring half marathons (including a St. Patty’s race!).  Adam also matched for his residency in Nashville, TN.  Oh and we put down a deposit on our reception hall.  Oops, did I not tell you guys we started planning the wedding before we got engaged?  And that is a real “we”.  Actually it’s more Adam – he started planning because he had to submit a vacation request for the following 1.5 years (ah the joys of residency)…so we booked the reception/band, forgot about it, and then started planning again in May.  Now does our early-in-the-morning-I’m-determined-to-surprise-her engagement make a bit more sense?

photo

Performing together.

IMG_2100

On stage for Match Day!

April

Costa Rica!! Adam and I took an awesome trip together and had a blast.  I ran my first 15K and we kept powering through P90X.

IMG_3636

After my successful 15K!

IMG_3831

Vacation bliss.

May

EngagementAdam’s Graduation!  Birthday!  Two half-marathons!  Half-marathon PR of 1:51Finishing P90X! May was a great month full of lots of celebrations.

428726_10102429468013558_1589665486_n

7 years after the initial rejection he finally got me to say yes.

IMG_1182

Ready to get a PR! Only cool runners wear tape all over their knees.

248017_10102437610645658_1448519494_n

Adam’s graduation from med school!

June

Family vacation in Hilton Head, Adam moving to Nashville, and the beginning of intense wedding planning. Started taking a big break from running to heal my Runner’s Knee.  Adam wrote his first blog post, aww isn’t that cute?

photo(27)

Enjoying our vacation together.

Emily-Weis-Photography-_-Kelley-Adam-24-of-25

We got our engagement pictures back :)

July

I auditioned for White Christmas (woot and got the part!).  Adam and I continued wedding planning (are you sensing a theme?).  We sent out our Save the Dates AND picked out bridesmaid dresses.  I also started ChaLean Extreme.  I started adjusting to my life without Adam just down the road (literally… we used to live in the same complex).

7-19-2013 10-57-47 AM

These puppies went in the mail.

photo-20

Working out with my girl Chalene.

August

I completed my first 30 days of ChaLean Extreme and really enjoyed the program.  Wedding planning and a week of Adam in Indy were the major highlights.  Still struggling through my Runner’s Knee.  I started rehearsals for White Christmas!

photo(68)

Ooooo mock-ups!

photo (6)

I MADE this, believe it or not.

September

Rehearsals for White Christmas were in full swing.  I attended the beautiful wedding of Adam’s cousin in Hilton Head.  I also blogged the least… and did the bulk of wedding planning in September.

photo(84)

With the bouquet!

photo(91)

With the bridesmaid dress and wrap.

October

My brother got married!  I finished ChaLean Extreme! I had an amazing bachelorette party in New Orleans!  October was pretty awesome.

099-Carol & Andrew Wedding-J46A0888

Yep they are models.

photo 3(2)

NOLA Halloween style!

l_024eb0a0-e410-11e2-959f-419e1ca00016

Finished 90 days of ChaLean Extreme!

November

Can you say White Christmas!?  Rehearsals and shows took over my life as I sang and danced my heart out every day.  I also made more progress wedding planning and figured out my bridal look.

photo(137)

I’m totally a natural blonde.

photo(132)

With the wedding band! Eeek.

December

ChristmasBridal Shower!  Time off!  White Christmas! December has been a pretty great month.

photo 4(7)

Guarding my table of bridal food.

IMG_29001

Hooray Christmas!

What were some of your highlights this year?  What do you have to look forward to in 2014?

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

-Kelly

13 Responses to “The End of 2013”

  1. Ryoma Sakamoto December 31, 2013 at 8:50 am #

    London New Year’s Eve Fireworks 2014

    I wish you good luck in 2014.
    ARIGATO!!
    Ryoma.Japan

  2. Catherine @ A Two Storey Home December 31, 2013 at 9:54 am #

    Umm, that’s hilarious that you put down the deposit in March! It makes complete sense though considering Adam has to plan a year and a half ahead! Yikes!
    What an awesome year! :-D

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings December 31, 2013 at 10:21 am #

      I know! It was so funny calling our immediate family members to say… so we’re officially getting married, but not “engaged” so please keep it quiet. ;) Mom wasn’t very happy having to keep that secret for TWO full months! We just wanted to get our venue (which I describe as the cheapest of the nice :)). It all worked out! And it’s hilarious because my parents never got “engaged” and we always made fun of them for just sitting on the couch and deciding to plan to get married. And turns out we ended up doing the exact same thing. Hilarious.

  3. Abby @ Change of Pace December 31, 2013 at 9:54 am #

    Wow- you had an incredible 2013 with a lot of big changes! I’m so happy for you and have loved reading about it.
    Can’t wait for 2014, your wedding, and moving to Nashville!
    Personally, I’m looking forward to a warm trip in early 2014!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings December 31, 2013 at 10:22 am #

      I know!! So many changes and excitement in 2013 – it’s kind of fun to look back and reflect. Makes you very thankful for what you have in life :) Glad you enjoyed the read and thanks so much for the brilliant idea! Here we come 2014 – good things for all. :) YES warm please!!

  4. Brittany December 31, 2013 at 9:58 am #

    You guys are so cute, I just can’t get enough. What an amazing year of fitness and wedding plans!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings December 31, 2013 at 10:23 am #

      Aww thanks lady! And true story – that has been the theme of the year: wedding and fitness. Excited to see what next year’s themes will be :) Happy New Year!

  5. Tubontherun December 31, 2013 at 11:54 am #

    And the culmination of all your hard work wedding planning will come to fruition in 19 days – that is SO exciting :-) Enjoy every moment of these last couple of weeks. And, of course, Happy New Year!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings January 2, 2014 at 2:27 pm #

      EEEK!! So crazy that it is so soon. Honestly it always felt like it would ALWAYS feel forever away. So surreal that it’s actually here. :) HAPPY NEW YEAR!

  6. anna December 31, 2013 at 5:09 pm #

    WOW, Kelly, what an exciting year for you – so much travel, love, festivities, and major milestones for you and your fiance- congrats! And you’re so fast when it comes to running! 2014 is shaping up to be amazing for you, and I can’t wait to read about it! Happy New Year, girl!! :)

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings January 2, 2014 at 2:28 pm #

      Aww thanks lady! I know, looking back it was QUITE the year. I don’t know how I can top that! ;) Excited to see what 2014 will bring – I’m definitely starting it off with a bang! Hope you have a wonderful start to WEDDING year :)

  7. Lucy @ Lucy On The Lookout January 1, 2014 at 1:16 pm #

    Aww you and Adam are so darn cute (I just re-read your engagement story and can yes, re-confirm, definitely 10 out of 10 on the cuteness scale!). What a wonderful 2013 Kelly, and here’s to an even more brilliant 2014!! x

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings January 2, 2014 at 2:29 pm #

      You are too sweet! :) And I’m impressed you made it through that long one again! I was re-reading it the other day and it does make me so happy I have it recorded for when those memories start to fade. So fun. Hope you have an amazing start to 2014! :)

Share your thoughts!