ChaLean Extreme Prep

29 Jul

Happy Monday!  I’m coming back from the most wonderful weekend out in Seattle with my little sister.  She moved there this winter and it was my first chance to get a peek at her new life out there.  We did a little of this…

photo-9

Checking out the AMAZING views Seattle in the summer has to offer. We did lots of exploring!

 

And then we did a little of this…

photo-10

Took lots of selfies to show Mom we were still alive.

 

We threw in some of this…

photo-12

Wedding fun! Trip to Ikea for some cheapo wedding decorations.

 

And we can’t forget, some of this…

photo-13

Ahh, relaxing at the pool.

 

All in all – a completely awesome trip.  I wish I were still there!

photo-8

And of course silly pictures to send our family. Love ya Jules!

 

Unfortunately I had a bit of a flight snafu and instead of my nice early flight (with time to prepare for ChaLean!), I had to take the red eye.  Yeah.  So I flew home last night, landed in Indy, hopped in my car and went to work.  A day running on just a few hours of sleep.  Absolute madness.

I had my fingers crossed I would have a certain package waiting for me.  And sure enough: ChaLean Extreme had arrived!  This evening after getting home from work I skimmed the program manuals and got familiar with the program.  I plan to officially start the program in the morning, and I wanted to be prepared.  My flight situation threw off my plan, but I decided to do the prep work tonight and start tomorrow.

photo-15

Hooray! Look what arrived :)

So, how do you prep?

The most important thing for me – remove all barriers.  Essentially, I wanted to set myself up so that tomorrow I don’t have any excuses not to begin.  It’s easy to push things off, “Oh I’ll do it next week” or “I’m too tired and I can’t start now.”  I want to start strong and motivated, and that requires effort.

Step 1: Read and Plan

It’s crucial to understand more about the program.  Tonight I didn’t do my deep dive of planning, but I got familiar enough to begin tomorrow.  This week I’ll spend more time specifically mapping out recipes and workouts (once I’m running on more than 2 hours of sleep).  Tonight I skimmed the books and made a plan for the morning.  Because there is a fitness test prior to working out, I needed to plan for it… I can’t just start workout 1 tomorrow.  I’ve decided to do my fitness test in the morning as my day 1.

photo-20

Doing some light leisure reading.

Step 2:  FOOD!

Diet is 80% of results and I knew I needed to get some fresh food to start strong.  I cleaned out my fridge, made a list, and tackled Target.  I broke my cardinal rule of always throw a chopping party immediately – but with my restful-sleep-on-a-plane night, I cut myself some slack.  The chopping party will be tomorrow evening.  :)

photo-14

1. I threw out all old/expired food and made a list of what I needed.

photo-16

2. I gave the old fridge a nice cleaning.

photo-18

3. Weeeee! Fresh food purchased and ready to go!

photo-17

4. Voila! Instant full fridge of yumminess.

It looks like the ChaLean program follows a high protein diet, limited by calories.  This isn’t typically my favorite style – I really loathe calorie counting.  I’m planning to give it a solid go though, as I want to follow the program as closely as prescribed as possible.  I was pretty disappointed that my calorie intake is set to 1300 calories.  Yikes.  I miss the P90X diet of 1800.  But I know what I’m up against now, and filled my fridge accordingly.

Step 3: Equipment

Because I have a lot of equipment from P90X, I was pretty much set and ready to go.  Tonight I picked up a cheap scale, as I know that’s one of the metrics used in the before/after.  It was a little annoying not having a scale with P90X, so I splurged on a $7.99 dial scale at Target.  It doesn’t show half-pound increments, but that might be a good thing.  I really don’t like to obsess over numbers.  General trends is what I’m looking for.  Other equipment like resistance bands and a fat caliper came with the program.

photo-19

The newest piece of equipment.

Step 4: Bring it!

My alarm clock is set and I’m ready to start my day with photos (this will present an interesting challenge alone), measurements, and a fit test.  I’m excited to give myself a baseline, though I know “Day 1” can often be a somewhat depressing place to start (I think most people can agree!).  I know I’ve lost a bit of fitness in the last 2 months.  But the good news?  There’s no where to go but up!  I’m already looking forward to day 30, 60, and 90!

I feel as ready as I can be to start, and that’s so crucial.  My foundation is set and there’s nothing left to do but press play!  Wish me luck on my first day!

-Kelly

How do you start a new workout program?  

7 Responses to “ChaLean Extreme Prep”

  1. Lucy @ Lucy On The Lookout July 30, 2013 at 5:17 am #

    Love how you (and Adam) show real commitment to your fitness DVD programs, it’s no wonder you get to see great results! I think you’re right that breaking down the barriers and organisation is the key (I also need to make sure the fridge is stocked full of healthy food!) to it being a success. Am interested to see how you find ChaLean! 1300 calories sounds a little too little for me personally though if the workouts are intense… Good luck though :) !

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings July 31, 2013 at 10:51 am #

      Hahah! You’re right – we have really gotten into our fitness DVD programs! I haven’t always done it – but it seems to be working well now, so I’m going with it. I think Adam gets an automatic gym membership with his work, so he might switch back to that. But you’re right, either way it’s more about consistency than the program. And yeah – 1300 calories is insane. I gave it 1 day try, and that was enough for me haha :) Going to up it today!

  2. Catherine @ A Two Storey Home July 30, 2013 at 7:24 am #

    I know you will do great today!! It sounds like you are well prepared. 1300 calories though? Yikes! I would definitely struggle with that (I think 1300 calories lasts me until about 2 PM most days :-D) I look forward to hearing how the program goes!!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings July 31, 2013 at 10:52 am #

      Thanks lady!! It went really well and I’m so excited to keep doing it! Yeah 1300 is crazy talk – I don’t know why that’s even in the guide. I’m glad to know I’m not the only one that thought that seemed a bit light! Today – many more calories… I just turn into a very mean person without food! ;)

  3. hkzwart July 30, 2013 at 2:20 pm #

    I, too, am going to visit my sister on Friday (in MN) and can’t wait! Nothing better than a little sister time. Great job planning with the time and opportunity you had. If the good food is your only choice, that’s what you’ll eat! Sounds to me like the calories are too low and you may find the need to up it and still get great results. I’m anxious to follow your journey with Chalene! :)

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings July 31, 2013 at 10:53 am #

      Aww have fun with your sister!! Sisters are truly the best – I hope you have an awesome trip. And you’re so right – if good food is all you have available, it’s all you have to eat. There have been countless times that this has saved me from eating my feelings! So far so good with Chalene :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The End of 2013 | Races, Reps, and Ramblings - December 31, 2013

    […] a theme?).  We sent out our Save the Dates AND picked out bridesmaid dresses.  I also started ChaLean Extreme.  I started adjusting to my life without Adam just down the road (literally… we used to live […]

Share your thoughts!

