All By Myself…

12 Jun

Don’t wanna be… all by myself!  (Sing it with me!)  Okay – yes, someone is maybe being a little melodramatic. That’s not quite the right song for it.  I guess in novel version it is: All On My Own…The Adventures of Kelly Learning to Feed Herself and Work Out Alone.  Yep you guessed it – Adam officially headed on down to the big city of Nashville!  He left yesterday morning, and so far I seem to be coping reasonably well.  I haven’t starved and I’ve even gotten my workouts in.  Success.  I mean, what more could you ask for?  In my endless experience of time alone (36 hours), I have gleaned some wisdom.

Tips for Working Out/Eating Alone:

  1. It’s just you baby.  Yeah – if I don’t workout I’m just letting myself down.  Now that sounds like it could be de-motivating, but to me it’s almost more of a challenge.  Think selfishly – how could you let yourself down!?  Your body will thank you if you don’t.
  2. Plan! Well – if I don’t plan my food, who will?  I have learned that I must plan ahead.  Because no one is around to make sure I do ;)
  3. Make Time.  Yeah I know time doesn’t come out of thin air – but now I find myself needing to make the time to pack/plan food or come up with my goals.  I’m a one man team and I need to use my time wisely if this team is going to have success!  This morning I realized my alarm needs to be a bit earlier to have time to make food!
  4. Print out a Schedule.  To me, there is nothing more gratifying than crossing something off the old to-do list.  If you need an external motivation, print off the work out sheet and start marking down those days.  It’s motivating, but also allows you to see progress.  Awesome.
  5. Plan fun group activities. Though partner or group activities won’t be a daily part of my routine anymore, I’ve been talking to friends about possible Zumba dates.  And I’ve been planning runs I’ll do with Adam in Nashville.  Plan these social fitness times as something to look forward to – it will help you remain on your path!

I’m sure as I get more comfortable to working out stag I will gather more wisdom and do a legitimate post about it.  In the meantime – anyone have any helpful tips?  I could use all the help I can get!

Last days in Indy

Adam and I made the most of our time together as the days counted down.  Last Thursday we had a wonderfully relaxing Engagement Party!  It was more cookout style and we just relaxed and caught up with friends.  Adam’s parents ‘catered’ the event and it was divine (Adam’s mom is an amazing chef).  Such an awesome chance to celebrate before Adam hit the road.

image_4[1]

We remembered to take a picture after it was dark and everyone left. Perfect.

Over the weekend we went to the wedding of a family friend.  It was absolutely gorgeous, and our first wedding together “post-engagement.”  It was fun to attend a wedding through the lens of planning one!  Sunday evening Adam and I went out to our favorite sushi restaurant for the last supper.  It was delish – and totally appropriate as the last date night in Indy.

image_1[2]

Can you tell by the empty plate that we love sushi?

Monday was the day I’d been counting down for quite awhile: Engagement Picture Day!  I absolutely adore photography (good photography) so I was very nervous and anxious about this.  On Sunday the wise and all powerful internet reported a 60% chance of rain for Monday.  Nooooo!  I decided to just own it and went out to buy a couple umbrellas.  I googled “rainy engagement pictures” for ideas and started wrapping my mind around our totally cute rainy session.

image[2]

Ready for anything!

image_2[2]

See you can see my face through the umbrella. Sweet.

Well… Monday came around and it. was. perfection.  I kid you not – we had breathtaking weather.  It was a bit cloudy (ideal for photography) for some of the pics, and we had a nice soft sun for some as well.  We had so much fun.  Emily (Emily Weis Photography) was a blast to work with, and we enjoyed the experience thoroughly.  I ended up deciding to do my own hair and make-up.  I don’t wear make-up daily, but I have a love affair with it from an “on occasion” aspect. Many years of performing has helped me hone my craft.  Thankfully everything cooperated and my look came together!

image[3]

Sorry for the selfie – went for a natural, but somewhat bold look. Success?

Adam’s hair and make-up was uneventful as well :)  Neither of us had any zits or issues  (a real concern)- so we got everything we could’ve asked for!  Perfect weather, ironed clothes, nice make-up, good hair day.  Incredible.  And you know what?  It was the perfect way to spend Adam’s last evening.  DISTRACTED.  I didn’t even really think about him moving because we were so busy running around town being models.  After our session we were ravenous.  We had a delightful treat of some Qdoba and passed out.

photo[1]

Being a model is hard work.

image_1[1]

Such a model.

In the morning Adam blasted off to Nashville.  It kind of hurts to type that – but the other HUGE part of me is just tickled pink for him.  Yes it will be a challenging next few months, but Adam is onto the next step of his training.  And truthfully I am so thrilled for him.  In the meantime, it will be a great opportunity for me to learn and grow, and we’ll be married in January!  Sounds easy enough!

With just a few weeks until I see the results of our engagement shoot (not that I’m obsessively check her site) and vacation next week, there is plenty to look forward to!  Those thoughts keep me going when I just want to cry (or I just cry and feel better).  I’ve got my new workout plan and lots of summer events – it’s gonna be great folks!

Happy hump day!

-Kelly

What tips do you have for working out alone?  How do you keep pushing yourself?  How do you motivate yourself to eat meals instead of Cheez-its?

17 Responses to “All By Myself…”

  1. jojo922 June 12, 2013 at 3:41 pm #

    Can’t wait to see your engagement photos! I find working out by myself to be pretty relaxing and know that I’m only “competing” against myself.

  2. pnwrunner June 12, 2013 at 3:44 pm #

    I prefer to workout by myself. If I workout with others I never know what they are feeling or how hard they can push themselves. I guess a good idea would be to determine their fitness abilities!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings June 14, 2013 at 10:24 am #

      Interesting! I’m curious if I will eventually come to prefer working out alone :) I guess I only have to worry about myself which is nice!

  3. Lucy @ Lucy On The Lookout June 12, 2013 at 4:27 pm #

    Hehe love the make up (and the post-modelling dining photos – you guys are too cute & a whole load of funny at the same time)! As for working out alone – in some ways it is easier because when you’re bored/lonely = perfect time to distract yourself with a workout. Agree though that group workouts are important as you don’t want to grow into a workout lonester hermit – perhaps a local running group (scary!) or meetup.com are good (I used this when I first moved long distance away from friends & the boyf). You’ll do great Kelly!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings June 14, 2013 at 10:25 am #

      Awww! I’m glad you approve of the make-up – I can’t wait to see how they turn out! And I think you’re right…working out could become my new distraction. I’ve thought about a running group but it does sound so scary! Have you ever done one?

      • Lucy @ Lucy On The Lookout June 14, 2013 at 11:22 am #

        ‘fraid I was too much of a wimp so didn’t join one off my own bat! I always get worried I’m going to be left behind, and I’m not sure if people wait for you?! A fellow blogger/friend started her own running troupe in London online though and we all get together when we can to run/picnic/race and it’s totally awesome!

        • kelly @ racesrepsramblings June 18, 2013 at 8:09 pm #

          Wow- started her own group?? That’s impressive!! And ambitious. I need to do some research, I think I’d really like it!!

  4. megbek June 13, 2013 at 6:25 am #

    You two. So. Freaking. Adorbz. I love this post! Haha I immediately started singing along to that and now that song is stuck in my head. Gurrrreeeeat!!What a fun recap of your guys’ last few days! You are quite the gorgeous girl and your man is so handsome! Together, you’re beautiful! Woo! <3 When it comes to working out alone, I'm the same way – I hate letting myself down the most so that's a great way to stay motivated. I like to create workouts before I go that I know will kill me or I like to get out a good run and get that endorphin high. As for meals, I can't help. I'm all over the place (that includes cheez its!). Have a great day!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings June 14, 2013 at 10:26 am #

      Hahah!! Thanks so much :) And glad I got you singing early in the morning. I call that a success. Thanks for your sweet words – we can’t wait to see the pics! I’ve finally gotten my obsessive checking to just a couple times an hour instead of every minute :) Great thoughts on working out alone. I really need to think of it as letting myself down. So far I’m not having smashing success, but I imagine I’ll get better as I get used to it. Hope you’re having a great work trip!

  5. atwostoreyhome June 13, 2013 at 7:49 am #

    Ahh, I’m sorry that Adam is gone :( It sounds like you have a great attitude about it though! I think planning ahead–especially in terms of nutrition–is critical. I am much more likely to cook a healthy dinner if all the ingredients are in my kitchen at 6 PM; if I have to choose between going to the grocery store after work and eating non-dinner food that’s already in my kitchen, I’m probably going to pick convenience. The model shots look awesome… I love your makeup! I am pretty sure that you and I would be good friends in real life if we lived in the same city :)

    • atwostoreyhome June 13, 2013 at 7:50 am #

      P.S. That song is going to be stuck in my head all day. Thanks. ;-)

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings June 14, 2013 at 10:28 am #

      It’s okay – sigh – I’m doing fine! And the best part it’s just short term. There is an end in sight… and the end will be our wedding so that’s pretty awesome. Your comment EXACTLY sums up my week. I didn’t get to the grocery store with all the excitement this week and I paid for it majorly. Next week I’m going to have to plan ahead so I can make those nutritious meals more regularly. Glad you approve of the model shots – can’t wait to see the real deal! And I AGREE.. let me know if you’re ever in Indy! :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Engagement Photos + A Favor! | Races, Reps, and Ramblings - June 19, 2013

    […] and hang them up.  They turned out so lovely – Adam and I are thrilled.  I think all of our really hard work of modeling paid off […]

  2. The End of 2013 | Races, Reps, and Ramblings - December 31, 2013

    […] vacation in Hilton Head, Adam moving to Nashville, and the beginning of intense wedding planning. Started taking a big break from running to heal my […]

Share your thoughts!