Life Changes and Excitement!

16 May

The past few days have been pretty amazing.  I had an awesome weekend celebrating Adam’s graduation from medical school.  Oh yeah and we also celebrated our engagement. (Double whammy!)  What a weekend!  I’ve been overwhelmed with feelings of “Wow- life can really be exciting!”  and “Wow- I am so content, blessed, excited, lucky…and holy cow there’s a lot to do” – okay so I had a lot of thoughts and emotions this past weekend.  But mainly it was just really, really cool.  I was fortunate enough to have my parents come visit for the occasion, and we had a great time together.  It allowed a nice opportunity for both sets of parents to spend more time together as well.  Adam and I are thankful that we both love each other’s family.  It certainly makes things easy.  I thought I’d share a couple of pictures from the momentous occasion.  I’m so proud of Adam!  To be honest I’m only slightly irritated that Adam is now Dr. Adam – in my previous life I worked with a lot of Drs.  And let’s just say I feel it’s my personal responsibility to make sure Adam doesn’t turn out like a lot of them.  He knows about my crusade, and I have accepted my role wholeheartedly!

969548_10102437607457048_1125751261_n

A huge room…And a LONG ceremony!

166047_10102437605895178_394791570_n

What a goober face! Cracks me up.

248017_10102437610645658_1448519494_n

Does this mean I need to call him Dr.??

This week we also got moving with wedding planning!  Yes- I know…so soon?!  But here’s the deal: We’re type A, we don’t want to procrastinate, we aren’t patient…and I want to have the stressful planning parts done.  Then I can just relax!  Additionally, the big driver: Adam is moving to Nashville in June.  The more we get done before he leaves the better for all  involved parties :)  And truthfully…we aren’t going to have a long engagement.  We are thinking a winter wedding – let’s get this show on the road!

Wedding Updates:

  • Location/date almost decided! (We’re this close to nailing it down- truthfully our discussions started pre-engagement)
  • Dress done!  I found one off the rack, on clearance (almost 50% off), under my budget, and requires no alterations.  I call that meant to be!  I take after my mom and I don’t particularly enjoy shopping.  Major score I didn’t have to search endlessly, or really at all.
  • Photographer almost decided – this is the most important decision (yes more than the dress)…taking our time on this one.  I’m obsessed with photography so I want it to be perfect!  Can’t I just have three photographers?? :)

I’ll try and keep the wedding posts to a relative minimum, but I mean come on…buying a dress??  That’s big news!  The good thing- a short engagement means this won’t turn into a wedding blog! :)

dress

I said ‘Yes to the Dress!’ You’ll have to wait until January to see what’s under the stars.

The one downside to all this personal excitement…oh yeah… ummm I’m running a half marathon on Saturday.  Haven’t really thought much about it (except that I’m scared and it will be slow).  Oh and finishing P90X!  Adam and I have done a good job of not getting totally side-tracked.  But we have been slightly less strict – you only get engaged once!

photo(13)

“Here Comes the Bride” cupcake Adam and I enjoyed Tuesday.

I love May – the weekends will only continue to get better.  Birthday, friends, graduation parties, family, wedding planning!  Oh my!  Yep – I’m thinking May will be a little “Ramble” heavy.  But hey- that’s why it’s in the title!   June will bring the beginning of Insanity and the start of short runs again (I’ve essentially stopped running normally/regularly due to my knees).  I’m really excited to start chronicling my thoughts of Insanity and doing a post-P90X wrap-up, results, and review of the program.  Man alive – there is excitement all around.  When it rains it pours!

Have a wonderful week – we’ve already made it to Thursday!

-Kelly

12 Responses to “Life Changes and Excitement!”

  1. turtlepacerunner May 16, 2013 at 9:51 am #

    Congrats on the engagement! How exciting! :) I’m a wedding planner, when I’m not obsessing about running. Check out my website for any planning tips: http://www.chillweddings.com. If you need any planning advice, don’t hesitate to reach out.

    Also congrats to Dr. Adam too!

    Thanks for checking out my running blog. :)

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings May 16, 2013 at 10:00 am #

      Thanks so much!! Certainly exciting times around here :) Also – thanks for passing along your wedding site! How convenient!! It’s a shame you are in Philly! Adam and I have decided not to have a planner per say – but a day-of coordinator is really appealing. It seems like that would help with a lot of the stressful parts of a wedding. Thanks again for passing that along!

      • turtlepacerunner May 16, 2013 at 10:01 am #

        Definitely look into a day of coordinator. You wont regret it and it might be the best $ spent to ensure you get to really enjoy your day! I’m looking forwarding to hearing more about your wedding (and running too of course!).

        • kelly @ racesrepsramblings May 16, 2013 at 10:08 am #

          I will! Thanks for the advice. If you know of any good “day of only” coordinators in Indy, let me know! I’m excited for wedding – it’s fun to get plans rolling!

  2. megbek May 16, 2013 at 10:00 am #

    I love that you covered up the dress with stars, haha! Can’t wait to see that, wedding dresses are always so wonderful to see! :) Yay for Adam graduating! And on the short engagement, yay! :) What half are you running this weekend? I have several people doing Insanity and I want to give it a try so bad! They get great results!!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings May 16, 2013 at 10:06 am #

      Haha! I know – I had to find some way of disguising it. The garment bag was clear :P Thanks for all the congrats! When it rains it pours :) I’m running the Geist half-marathon. It’s a smaller race (8000 I think?) so it will be a nice change of pace from the indy mini. I’ll probably put up a pre-race post tomorrow, first I have to come up with a game plan haha!! And I can’t wait to start Insanity – I’ve heard the same as far as results. I’ll keep track of my progress on here so you can see if it’s something you might want to do someday!

  3. Lucy @ lucylookout May 16, 2013 at 11:10 am #

    Hehe I LOVE what you did with the dress photo and I’m a billion times impressed and more regarding how great and efficient and nonbridezilla-ry you are being about the wedding, it sounds like you’ve got your priorities straight (and definitely agree that the photographer will be one of the most important things :) ). Good luck with your half marathon, look forward to hearing how it goes!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings May 16, 2013 at 12:42 pm #

      Hehe :) I had to find a way to make sure my editor didn’t see the dress! It’s going to be hard to keep that secret for so long! I’m trying to keep priorities straight and remember the whole point of this is to get married – not have a wedding. Adam and I want a lovely day, but more importantly we just want to get married! I say this now – ask me how stressed and bridezilla-ry I get when it gets closer haha!! Thanks for the luck on the race – I will definitely need it. My legs are still a bit out of it from the half-marathon 2 weeks ago…fingers crossed! I’ll be sure to give an update no matter how (terribly) it goes! ;)

  4. atwostoreyhome May 16, 2013 at 12:18 pm #

    Lots of exciting stuff! So does that mean you are moving to Nashville?

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings May 16, 2013 at 12:48 pm #

      Good question! I think the proposal means he wants me to go with him ;) I’m sort of old fashioned so I’m thinking I’ll move down there after the wedding (probably in January). We’ve been doing the whole two rent thing in the same city (our apartments are in the same complex about 5 minutes apart ;)) and it sort of feels like wasted money because we spend so much time together. I’d rather just stay in Indy for a few more months than find my own place there for just a couple months…just seems like more of a hassle to “double” move. So eventually yes – it looks like I’m heading to Nashville! :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The End of 2013 | Races, Reps, and Ramblings - December 31, 2013

    […] Adam’s Graduation!  Birthday!  Two half-marathons!  Half-marathon PR of 1:51!  Finishing P90X! May was a great […]

Share your thoughts!

