The Surprising Similarities Between Dancing and Running

19 Nov

Remember that one time that this blog was a running blog, that actually talked about running?  Yeah it’s a foggy memory in my head too.  Thanks to my knees breaking and getting engaged…I do more wedding planning (daily) than running (never, thanks knees).  Life happens.  And for the record, I’m determined to be a runner’s knee success story that you all can read/cheer about, as I throw a celebration parade and toss candy throughout all the land. Slightly excited about that mayhaps…

White Christmas - Sisters

The past few weeks I’ve spent a ton of time dancing in preparation for the musical White Christmas (which opens FRIDAY!).  Through my dance rehearsals I’ve been reminded of running somewhat frequently, and thought I’d have a little fun comparing and contrasting the two.  Because let’s be serious, the dance floor is as close as I’m going to get to running for another few months.  Er, yeah, makes perfect sense. Go with me.

Similarities between Dancing and Marathoning

  • Your feet are just disgusting.  Whether it’s blisters, sores, or other nasties… they just aren’t that pretty. AND you can’t get a pedicure because you’re afraid of losing your callouses. I’m tempted to post pictures, but I will spare you all.  You’re welcome.
  • It is freaking hard.  After my 4 hour dance rehearsal I actually uttered, ‘That was literally harder than a marathon.’  Keep in mind one (usually) trains for a marathon and this dance rehearsal was the first session for me in many years.  Let’s just say I wasn’t properly trained for it.
  • It can be both thrilling and frustrating.  GAH must stop running, WEEEH must never stop running!  GAH can’t get this stupid lift, WEEEH let’s dance like this forever!
  • The right attire can improve comfort and reduce chaffing.
  • Shoes make all the difference.
  • You’re tempted to text pictures of your feet to friends and family because you feel like a warrior.
  • If you’re asthmatic like me, you have to remember to take your inhaler before you begin!
  • Stretching can make all the difference in performance and reduces injury.
  • You secretly hope people will start chanting your name in support.
  • You plan your other workouts around your runs/dancing rehearsals… because of course, you want fresh legs!
  • It can make you sore.  Really, really sore.
  • Holy moly does it make you hungry!  Why yes I need to scarf that whole lunch box!!  I’m a growing girl!

So even though I can’t run, I’m still hanging in there (read: keeping very busy and distracted).  PLUS I’m managing to find a way to ‘blog’ about running.  Win and Win.  Just FOUR days until the show opens… holy tummy ache.  Last night was the first night with microphones and lights, tonight we’ll add some more costumes, and tomorrow I get my wig.  Things are getting real!  Hope you all had a great weekend!

Kelly

13 Responses to “The Surprising Similarities Between Dancing and Running”

  1. sincerelylily November 19, 2013 at 7:27 am #

    OHHHH GOOD LUCK!!! I AM A HORRIBLE DANCER. LIKE THE WORST. you will do amazinggggg!

  2. beil4 November 19, 2013 at 8:42 am #

    I agree that running is very much like dancing. I use to dance and I would see similarities all the time! Good luck this weekend!!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings November 19, 2013 at 10:04 am #

      Glad I’m not the only one who has found this! It cracks me up because one wouldn’t think they are super similar… but the similarities exist! ;) Thanks so much for the luck!!

  3. Change of Pace November 19, 2013 at 10:49 am #

    Good luck, or is it more appropriate to say break a leg!?
    I never took dancing and am brutal at it, so I can’t compare the two. but I’m pretty sure I’d be more sore and tired from dancing from using new muscles!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings November 19, 2013 at 3:26 pm #

      Haha break a leg is perfect! And you’re definitely right about the new muscles thing! I thought I was in decent shape before I started… but yikes just such different movements!

  4. Britta November 19, 2013 at 1:33 pm #

    Ughhhh I am the worst dancer on the planet. Absolutely no coordination… You are going to do SO well at the musical, I am sure of it! Such an exciting thing :D And, since I just read about your injury I hope you heal really fast! Nothing worse than knee pain… ugh, been there.. well.. always kinda there (repaired acl, meniscus) but you will be back to running soon, I am sure of it!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings November 19, 2013 at 3:27 pm #

      Aww, I am so excited!! Nervous but excited! :) And I hear ya sister… gosh injuries seriously are the worst. Though I will say, they definitely make you appreciate your health and being able to run!! Thanks so much for the kind words!

  5. FitnessFatale November 20, 2013 at 12:11 am #

    Good luck! I’m a terrible dancer so I’m totally in awe of those that can !

  6. Catherine @ A Two Storey Home November 20, 2013 at 1:23 pm #

    Hahaha this is awesome! I have no dancing skills but always wish I’d done some sort of dance growing up… it must be such a tough workout!! I’m so excited about White Christmas for you… I wish I could see it!
    Please post photos of your feet :)

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings November 20, 2013 at 3:01 pm #

      It really is a workout! I feel like my legs are getting tighter even though I’m doing zero running or lifting of my legs… craziness. All that tapping! I will take some pictures tonight at our dress rehearsal (make-up and wigs woot!!) so I can share the experience! :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The End of 2013 | Races, Reps, and Ramblings - December 31, 2013

    […] you say White Christmas!?  Rehearsals and shows took over my life as I sang and danced my heart out every day.  I also […]

Share your thoughts!

