Match Day Excitement!

17 Mar

Ahh Match Day.  For those of you that know nothing about Match Day, it is best summed up as the day that medical students work towards for 8+ years.  It is the day where all students know where they will go for their residency.  Adam is in his last year of med school, so we had the pleasure (or torture) of going through Match Day this past Friday.

IMG_2098

What is Match Day?

Residency placement is unlike the normal job interview process.  Instead of interviewing at locations, gathering offers, negotiating and choosing the best one, you rank them and are ‘matched’.  Adam interviewed at many schools across the country, and once he completed all his interviews, he submitted a ranking.  He could rank the schools in whatever order he’d like, but the list would then be compared to the programs’ own rank lists (of all the students they interviewed).  All of the information is put into a computer and the results are spit out, matching each student with a slot at a program.  This is the way it works for all med schools and residency programs across the entire country – insane, I know!  You can learn more about the match process here if you’re curious.

The Ceremony

Adam finished his interviews in January and ranked the programs in February.  I was an absolute wreck going into the ceremony Friday.  I ended up taking a day off of work to experience it with him.  The ceremony was also live broadcast so family and friends could join in across the country.

Students were called up in groupings of 5 and handed the envelope with their placement. After receiving their envelope, they could open it on stage to announce it to the room, open it in line, or take the envelope and leave the room.  They even provided a screen for students to go behind if they wanted some privacy to open their results.  Adam and I opted to go up on stage together (you could bring a loved one with you if you so desired –  wives/husbands, brothers/sisters etc).  We also decided to open the envelope on stage instead of opening it a few minutes prior.  We wanted our family/friends to see our reactions.

IMG_2099

The ceremony started at 12 and was over at 1pm.  All of the results were posted online at 1 (actually 1:05), so it needed to be short and sweet.  Adam had a financial aid meeting from 9-11am before the ceremony (talk about not being able to pay attention!).  I had breakfast with my family, who was in town visiting, and then headed over to meet up with Adam.  I expected to be nervous – but I honestly didn’t expect to be quite that worked up.  It was a lot of emotion.  Adam is very gifted so I knew he would be okay (this is my chance to brag about how proud I am of him!), but still you never know…

We made our way up to the room of the ceremony and sat with a big group of friends.  Noon hit and the first group of names were called.  I couldn’t believe my nerves – I wanted to be sick!  The minutes ticked on and his name wasn’t called.  Finally a few friends were called, but still no Adam!  It reached 12:40, and I was actually starting to relax.  The more time  went on the more resigned I was that whatever was in the envelope couldn’t be changed.  Finally around 12:52 Adam was called!  We anxiously went up to the line for the stage.  He was handed his envelope, and we sort of mindlessly made our way closer to the stage.  He grabbed my hand and we were up.  I stood behind him as stepped up to the microphone.

The Result!

IMG_2100

“I really hope this says Gryffindor”

Opening the envelope.

“Hi I’m Adam, and I have matched into Neurology at Vanderbilt University Medical Center in Nashville!”

Shakingly make our way off stage and hug…a lot.

We made it!  We know – the information was now in our hands. Vanderbilt is a great school, and Adam was very excited to be placed in such a fantastic program.  I’m so proud of him!  This will bring some complications as Nashville is about a 4 hour drive, but we’re excited as we start figuring out what this match means.

Guess we need to buy some cowboy boots :)

-Kelly

7 Responses to “Match Day Excitement!”

  1. Padma August 7, 2013 at 10:33 pm #

    Congrats to your fiance on his match! Reading that made me so anxious, haha. But match day is literally the most nerve wrecking day for every MS4. Thank goodness I’ve some time. :)

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings August 9, 2013 at 8:10 am #

      Thanks so much (on his behalf :))! It was SUCH an anxious day, but also incredibly exciting. Really once you know you match, it’s all down hill from there. After the Monday of that week the real “stress” is over – it’s more anxious curiosity! Good luck (once your time comes!)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Back-to-Back Half Marathons! | Races, Reps, and Ramblings - April 18, 2013

    […] thrilled with my running lately, and why not seize the opportunity to do another race?  With Adam moving to Nashville in June, I won’t have many chances left to have my #1 fan in tow (though my mom might object to […]

  2. P90X: Phase 3 Results! | Races, Reps, and Ramblings - May 27, 2013

    […] half in the fall.  Let’s see if Insanity brings me the results like P90X has!  Adam will be moving and I’ll lose my workout buddy.  He will have access to a gym for free (lucky stinker) and will […]

  3. Running and Wedding and Wedding, Oh my! | Races, Reps, and Ramblings - August 7, 2013

    […] but not least, Adam is on vacation next week!!!  I can hardly contain my excitement.  Due to his residency he gets three weeks off a year: 1 one-week block and 1 two-week block.  His 1 week is next week, […]

  4. Wedding Workout Prep | Races, Reps, and Ramblings - December 16, 2013

    […] getting into great shape for the wedding… and then reality hit.  He’s in his intern year of residency, so working out just isn’t really a priority.  I keep telling Adam that he’s just wearing a […]

  5. The End of 2013 | Races, Reps, and Ramblings - December 31, 2013

    […] ramped up training for my spring half marathons (including a St. Patty’s race!).  Adam also matched for his residency in Nashville, TN.  Oh and we put down a deposit on our reception hall.  Oops, […]

Share your thoughts!

