Welcome and Hello!

8 Mar

Welcome!

Wow! This is exciting stuff – my blog has finally arrived! I will try to restrain my exclamation points – but let’s just say I’m excited this day has arrived :)  I have been planning this in my head for several months now, and it’s exciting to put those dreams into action (or words rather).  First, let me say welcome to the blog and I’m excited you are reading it.  Second, I want to give you a little background behind the why and purpose of this blog.  Let’s begin…

The Why

So why a blog?  Well, there are many reasons but I’ll give you the big ones.  And because I like organization, I’ll give them to you in a list :)

  1. I have read many blogs over the past few months as I have started transforming my fitness (and life).  I have found them invaluable.  The best ones have been inspiring, fun, informational, motivating, and interesting.  But most of all, they have truly helped me! I want to be able to help others in the ways my favorite blogs have helped me.
  2. I have learned a lot over the past couple months and I want to share!  Over the past 5-6 months I have put a renewed focus on my overall health and fitness.  I started doing P90x, running more again, eating healthier meals, and focusing on being a healthier me.  Along this journey I have learned so much.  My head is bursting with little tips and strategies that I have found helpful, and I love the idea of being able to record this information and share it with others on a similar quest.  I’ve spent a lot of time searching for info online about P90X resources, running articles etc. and thought, “Hey why not help someone else out by putting information in one place!”  I think there is something to be said about sharing experiences.  If my family doesn’t want to hear about it – why not put it out there for folks who do ;)
  3. I love creating and having projects.  I really enjoy being creative, and a blog is a terrific way to express myself and do something with the right side of my brain.  Having a blog sounds fun to me, plain and simple!
  4. It’s accountability. Let’s be honest, sharing experiences about health and fitness is a great motivator and a great way for me to continue to push myself and learn more about health and fitness.  Doing research “for my blog” will be a wonderful way for me to continue to grow and learn. Win-win I say!
  5. I have enjoyed blogging in the past.  While living abroad, I kept a travel blog and enjoyed the experience a lot.  That blog was only for friends and family, but it was a great introduction to blogging.  I have been doubting my ability or credentials in blogging about running and health (which is why it took so long to get this started), but I know my passion for the topic will give me a lot of joy!  I hope you enjoy it too.

The Purpose

So what will this blog be about?  Well, I tried to pick a name that would be straightforward.  So you might’ve guessed…

  1. Races: I want to share information about running, racing, jogging, sprinting, walking, and anything in between.  Whether it is running shoes, race day chronicles, or general training information, I want to share my experiences of continuing to improve as a runner.  I’m not a professional (by any stretch of the imagination), and I run because I enjoy it and to stay healthy. I plan to share my journey of an everyday woman working to keep running and running well!
  2. Reps: So I started this little thing called P90X a few months ago, and I’m hooked.  I never really did weight training previously (honestly I was nervous I would bulk up, and truthfully I’m still a little nervous).  BUT – I can’t believe how much stronger and better I feel overall now that strength training is a regular part of my life.  I hope to share my P90X experiences, tips, and opinions.  I also plan to continue with other weight training programs and chronicle my experiences here.
  3. Ramblings: Because this is a personal blog, I wanted to leave the door open to whatever my heart desires!  A few of these potential ramblings include book reviews, recipes, travel experiences, personal milestones, music, product reviews or anything inside/outside of the world of fitness and health (broad, huh?).   I plan to sprinkle my ramblings in here and there for a bit of fun.

Well now that you know the purpose and the why I guess it’s time to begin!  Likely over the next few weeks/months I will blog as much as possible.  I have literally 30 different post topics written down from the past few months of my journey – I feel like I need to play catch up!  I keep jotting them down with the intent to write “as soon as I have a blog.”  Well, that day is here!  Once I’m caught up I will likely slow to a more normal cadence and see where this takes me.  Happy reading!

“Focus on the journey, not the destination. Joy is found not in finishing an activity but in doing it.” – Greg Anderson

-Kelly

3 Responses to “Welcome and Hello!”

  1. Sarah @ Sweet Miles February 14, 2014 at 5:29 pm #

    So I just totally creeped and went back and ready several of your posts :) I’m all caught up now!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The End of 2013 | Races, Reps, and Ramblings - December 31, 2013

    […] take a page out of Abby‘s book, a little review of 2013 in pictures!  I started this blog back in March and it was SO cool looking back on previous posts to jog my memory.  Pretty […]

Share your thoughts!

