ChaLean Extreme Final Results

29 Oct

chalean-extreme-hybrid

Well it’s hard to believe, but 90 days with ChaLean Extreme have come and gone! I’m so excited to have officially ‘graduated’ from this program and thoroughly enjoyed the process.

What Is ChaLean Extreme?

ChaLean Extreme is an at-home fitness program that can be done right from your living room, with training by Chalene Johnson.  The program is broken up into 3 one-month sections that involve different weight lifting DVDs.  The workouts each last around 30-60 minutes, which is fantastic for anyone with a busy schedule (pretty much everyone ;)). While the focus of the program is lifting weights (go heavy or go home!), there is an intervals DVD (alternating between cardio and weight lifting endurance), and also a sole cardio DVD.  I really enjoyed the variety offered, and the fact that there are 5 days of workouts and 2 rest days. I filled one day with Yoga and the other I usually kept as a real rest day or danced (for my upcoming musical, White Christmas).  The flexibility of the schedule was really appealing to me, but it was also a challenging enough program that I never felt bored.

Final Results

These results are based on following the workout plan and completing most of the DVDs (I worked out on average 5-6 days a week).  Some weeks I switched out the cardio DVD with my 3-4 hour dance rehearsals. I figure it’s probably about the same ;)  Additionally while I did not strictly follow the 1300 calorie meal plan with recipes, I did eat well the majority of the time.  I packed my lunch daily for work and tried to do a higher protein, less carb mix.  I was probably eating on average 1300-2000 calories (depending on the day and the amount of other dance rehearsals I had). I did have occasional treats and was not super strict on completely avoiding things not on my diet plan (especially with special events like my brother’s wedding and bachelorette party).

Tape Measure (across the 90 days):

Waist: -.5

Hip: -.5

Chest: -1.25

Arms:  left +.5

Thighs: +25

Weight

-3.5 lbs.

Muscle Definition

I have noticed a definite improvement in overall tightness.  I feel like my body is lean, as promised!  There is much more definition in my arms and abs in particular.  My core is pretty tight!!

Body Fat

-3% (WOAH!) I am thrilled at this. And I feel like it really makes sense.  So although I haven’t lost tons of “inches”  I feel much tighter and muscular.  This makes sense.  I’ve already done P90X several times so ‘size-wise’ I’m probably about where I should be.  It’s just awesome that my body fat is going down and my muscle is going up! This is a huge health benefit and I’m really thrilled about this one!

Wedding Dress

I had a dress fitting over a week ago and shocker: my dress is a little bit big.  Yeah, caught me off guard.  Which is exciting…Yay!? But…  (A true first world problem if I’ve ever heard one). But… the fit of my dress was one of my favorite parts, it hit me just perfectly!  My game plan is to wait until 3 weeks before the wedding before altering anything.  It’s mainly big in the chest (as my numbers support), so the alteration would be a quick fix. PLUS I have the holidays before my wedding (yum Mom’s crack cookies) and TONS of dancing for 4 weekends of shows for White Christmas.  They will probably even each other out.  Let’s see what happens.

Picture

Please don’t hurt me, but I forgot to get a picture this weekend while I was around people.  I’m going to have Adam take a picture this weekend, so I’ll edit this post if I manage to get one.  But I will leave you with a picture from my Bachelorette party as a consolation prize. :)  More on the weekend to come…

photo(115)

Pros:

  • Quick workouts, nothing over 1 hour
  • Great variety, with a different workout every day.
  • Goals and challenges with the 3 phase structure.
  • Awesome, fun, motivating trainer
  • Empowering program with a focus on weight training
  • It works!
  • Not a ton of equipment: weights are pretty much it.

Cons:

  • Meal plan, it’s really not for me since I’m not a huge fan of cooking for every meal.  I needed something that could be adapted to my lifestyle (like the portion plan in P90X).
  • You really need weights for it to be 100% effective.  There is a resistance band included and I used this whenever I traveled.  It’s a great option, but I do think weights are a better option.  I would suggest weights of three different sizes… really 4 or 5 is best.  This can be an investment.  I invested in them for P90X so it worked out great for me, but something to think about.
  • There is some great variety here, but not a ton of variety (I’m thinking P90X with its yoga and Kenpo DVDs).

Overall, an excellent well-planned program that I would recommend to anyone who is looking to become leaner and tighter in the comfort of their own home.  This program is very suitable for all levels: beginner to advanced, as many modifications are shown on both sides.  I can’t recommend this one enough!

Up Next:

This morning I took my “final” ChaLean measurements as I took my “before” measurements for P90X.  I’m so excited to start up with P90X again!  It’s extreme (more extreme than ChaLean), but it’s extremely effective.  With all my dancing and lifts in White Christmas (there are about 8 in one song), I need to be STRONG… not just lean.  I think P90X is awesome at getting you strong, exactly what the dr. ordered. More on my third cycle of P90X later this week!

Happy Tuesday!

Kelly

8 Responses to “ChaLean Extreme Final Results”

  1. crazycatruns October 29, 2013 at 11:15 am #

    Congrats! Awesome 90 days

  2. hkzwart October 29, 2013 at 1:37 pm #

    Love it, Kelly! Congratulations on completing 90 days with Chalene and good luck as you return to the Tonyisms! :) I have an all-Chalene Challenge Group running right now… everyone’s doing either TurboFire or ChaLEAN Extreme…. and I’m going to put a link to this review on that group page. They’ll love reading about your results as it will inspire them to keep going now that they’re at their half way point. I’m PUMPED to get to work out live with Chalene in Dallas this weekend… YEP!! Thanks, again, for another great review and be prepared for some alterations! :)

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings October 31, 2013 at 3:45 pm #

      Thanks so much!!! Glad you enjoyed it and please feel free to share away! Happy to inspire or help in any way I can :) I can’t wait to hear about your without WITH Chalene in PERSON!! That will be amazing! And so far so good on the Tonyisms… my first video made me so happy to be back actually! I’m a bit behind this week because of travel delay issues… but looking forward to another round!! :)

  3. Meghan @ fitnesscrEATures October 31, 2013 at 2:56 pm #

    Congrats on finishing and down that HUGE percentage of body fat! That’s incredible!
    Also, what I’m more concerned about is the fact that you don’t have more pictures from your bachelorette! That ONE picture is stunning!!!!! Truly, I love everything about your outfit and your make up and your hair!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings October 31, 2013 at 3:46 pm #

      THANKS!! I’m pumped!! :) An awesome benefit :) And… and… it’s coming I promise! I have a beautiful draft all typed up. Just need to add the pictures and I’ll press publish. Okay, you’ve motivated me. Gonna go gather some pictures. Your wish is my command m’lady!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sometimes All You Need is a Break | Races, Reps, and Ramblings - November 6, 2013

    […] returning from my whirlwind Bachelorette weekend I was excited to get started with P90X.  After finishing 90 days of ChaLean Extreme on Friday, I was pumped and ready for the next challenge.  Well… insert a little bit of standby […]

  2. The End of 2013 | Races, Reps, and Ramblings - December 31, 2013

    […] brother got married!  I finished ChaLean Extreme! I had an amazing bachelorette party in New Orleans!  October was pretty […]

Share your thoughts!

