Running and Wedding and Wedding, Oh my!

7 Aug

Half-way through the week!  Woot!  Somehow it’s been another busy one, full of lots of wedding planning, ChaLean Extreme (still loving it! :)), and trying to keep my sanity!  I’ve been a bit amazed at how much all this planning and business can be a bit anxiety-provoking at times.  However, I always remind myself that most of the big wedding decisions are complete!

It’s like every week I’m finding new, more irrelevant things to worry about.  Maybe it’s hormonal?  Maybe it’s the nature of big life changes?  Maybe it’s the pressure of planning a large event for all the people that matter in your life? Either way there are moments of extreme wedding planning joy (I love weddings, I can’t wait til January, oh my gosh this will be the best wedding EVER) and other moments of wedding disaster (Adam asking me when I want him to call back and me shouting “I can’t make another decision!!” Lovely.)

Running Updates

But before we get to the wedding stuff, let’s chat a bit about running!  Yes, I did say that 7 letter word!  I started running again, for the first time in a month?  And in June I only ran 2-3 times, so sufficient to say I took a very healthy break to allow my Runner’s Knee to heal up.  Though I don’t feel that I’m 100% miracle cured, I do feel it’s time to get running again.  My doctor gave me a progressing plan for running, and I want to start out with some smaller distances.  Hopefully my hip strength is a bit stronger now and this runner’s knee will give me a break.  I’m going to be patient with it and just try for a few times a week.  Let’s just say the first time back wasn’t pleasant: slow and labored!  It’s amazing how fast conditioning disappears.

I also officially signed up for my next half-marathon!  I know – kind of crazy.  But… there was a super discount if I signed up now, even though I was planning to wait (man am I a sucker for a deal).  And a lot of my friends signed up (total peer pressure).  And I figured – I will walk it if I can’t run.  Which sounds pretty long and unpleasant…let’s hope I don’t have to resort to that :) It’s in three months, so I’ve got time.  Fingers crossed that I’ll slowly, but surely be able to get at it.  Goals for the race?  Run the whole time.  No time, no pace… I will be ecstatic if I can just jog it.  Ecstatic.

Wedding Updates

The Jacket!

Alright…now onto the wedding fun!  This past weekend I was on the hunt with my future mother-in-law for a jacket of sorts for my wedding dress.  Because I’m getting married in January, I want something to cover my sleeves during the ceremony.  I just don’t want to look freezing!  The good news: I found the perfect one.  The bad news:  I can’t show you until January!  But, I’ll compromise and show you some of the runner ups :)

photo(65)

Note: not my dress, just a random one at a shop. Sadly, this lovely jacket did not win! First runner-up.

photo(67)

Again not my dress – random one in random shop. But, this jacket was edged out due to itchy lace and cost. 2nd Runner-Up.

The Decorations!

Decorations have been moving along quite nicely as well.  A great friend of mine is letting me borrow lots of her decorations from her wedding (and her 2 sisters, convenient).  The vases, overlays, and fake flower are beautiful – and FREE!  I will supplement the things I’ve been loaned and purchase a few new things like more blue bottles, fake snow, and some lights.  Not a bad deal at all.  When I sent out the “Hey do you guys have anything weddingish sitting around?” request to my friends, I was overwhelmed at how much people were willing to loan and help.  I’d definitely recommend reaching out to those close to you before buying everything!

photo(68)

Starting to mock-up some of my decorations! Everything in this picture was borrowed from a friend (except the frame).

photo(70)

Found these awesome frames for ONE DOLLAR at Ikea. I’ll put either table numbers or the menu/thank you/itinerary in here. They are double sided too! One per table.

inspiring-winter-wedding-centerpieces-24-500x736

My dream centerpiece on Pinterest. Just lovely! We aren’t budgeting enough for decorations to do flowers (aren’t these amazing??), but I LOVE the fake snow in this centerpiece. Looks so wintery and classy! I’m going to try some fake snow with my donated centerpieces.

Time with Adam!

And last but not least, Adam is on vacation next week!!!  I can hardly contain my excitement.  Due to his residency he gets three weeks off a year: 1 one-week block and 1 two-week block.  His 1 week is next week, and his 2 weeks is our wedding.  And that’s it until next July!  It has certainly made scheduling tricky.  Adam is coming up to Indy (exotic vacation right?), and we’ll split our time with relaxing/visiting family and wedding planning. I. Cant. Wait.  It will be amazing.  Ah-mazing.  Hopefully Adam will be wildly impressed with my self-sufficient skills I’ve developed.

And last – a big THANK YOU to those of you that commented on my photographers blog!  We just received our prize:  a beautiful large print of our choice.  It’s gorgeous!  THANK YOU for helping us get it!!  Makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside.

photo(69)

I surprised Adam with a trip down to Nashville and the beautiful print! Can’t wait to hang it up!

Have a wonderful Wednesday!

Kelly

Which jacket did you like best?  Do you have any wedding stuff you want me to take off your or hands or borrow from you? :)

17 Responses to “Running and Wedding and Wedding, Oh my!”

  1. Meghan @ fitnesscrEATures August 7, 2013 at 9:22 am #

    Ohhhhh, I love that second wedding dress with the lace sleeves, gorgeous!!!! I can’t wait to see the real thing in a few months!! AH!
    Congrats on winning that prize!! How freaking awesome!
    Love that you signed up for a half girl, for a deal! I did the same thing a few months ago.. Haha, glad to hear you’re building up your running – it’ll take some time, sure, but you’ll do great! All happy things, YAY!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings August 7, 2013 at 11:54 am #

      Yay! Glad you like it! That was my sister’s first pick. You’ll get to see the final product so sooon. I’m finally feeling good about the whole look. It really “winterizes” my dress. And thanks for the congrats – it is an AWESOME prize. So happy :) Yay for happy things!

  2. Sarah @ Sweet Miles August 7, 2013 at 12:21 pm #

    Oh how fun!!! Both of those jackets are gorgeous..I can’t WAIT to see your wedding come together!!! It’s the best feeling :) YAY! Is that a canvas gallery wrap?! LOVE!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings August 7, 2013 at 4:04 pm #

      Thanks so much Sarah!! I’m pretty pumped – it’s nice seeing things starting to come together. Kind of a relief :) And that IS a canvas wrap – it’s beautiful and really high quality. I’m soo pumped about it. Who doesn’t love free? :)

  3. TheDailyRunner August 7, 2013 at 11:59 pm #

    I agree, the second dress is GORGEOUS! Remember to cherish every moment, no matter how stressful. The wedding planning is sooo stressful and frustrating, but it will go by so quick, you’ll sometimes wish you’ll be back in your “wedding world”! :)

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings August 9, 2013 at 7:59 am #

      Thank you so much!! It seems like the second dress is the clear winner looks-wise :) It was so fun looking for them. And thank you for the reminder to cherish the process. It’s easy to get so caught up in the stress/planning to forget how amazing it is. I’ve found myself trying to enjoy it a bit more this week :) Cuz you’re right… it’ll be over before I know it!

  4. Catherine @ A Two Storey Home August 8, 2013 at 8:50 am #

    Ahh, so exciting!! You look beautiful in the dresses, and I love all the decorations!! I’m glad it’s all coming together… the planning can be so stressful.
    When’s your half marathon??

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings August 9, 2013 at 8:01 am #

      Thank you so much! :) I’m sooo excited, it’s just really nice seeing things come together. The more lines crossed off on the to-do list the better. And plus it’s starting to give me a day to envision. Now that I have things decided, it’s making it much more fun to day dream about :) The half is Nov 2, so should be done before getting too close to the wedding. I probably won’t do another until Spring, after all the changes!

  5. crazycatruns August 8, 2013 at 10:13 am #

    Can’t wait to see the winner. :) That photo you won is gorgeous! Congrats! :) Your wedding is already shaping up beautifully. Hope that it is more fun than stressful overall :)

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings August 9, 2013 at 8:02 am #

      I know! I’m so excited to show the winner! It’s a pretty good winner. It was one of those winners that I didn’t feel the need to text the picture to my friends asking “what do you think?” I just knew! And maybe loved it so much I didn’t care what others thought. That made it easy :) Thanks so much for the well wishes!

  6. Brittany August 8, 2013 at 10:58 am #

    That photo of you two!! SO gorgeous. I loveee the second runner up jacket!! Also I am super jazzed about your half and being able to start running yahoo!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings August 9, 2013 at 8:03 am #

      So glad you like it! I’m so excited about it. Adam has it in Nashville, so I’ll have to wait until after the wedding to get to see it regularly. Worth the wait :) And another vote for the second jacket – seems to be the winner on here!

  7. fitnessfatale August 8, 2013 at 1:11 pm #

    Woohoo weddings! Looks like you are WAY ahead of the game for a January wedding – keep up the good work! :)

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings August 9, 2013 at 8:05 am #

      That makes me feel great that I’m this far ahead!! My goal has been to front load things as much as possible. With the holidays in November and December and performing in White Christmas I think I will be too busy to really plan much in the couple months before. Glad to know I’m ahead of the game :)

  8. Kelly @ RaceFor50States August 8, 2013 at 10:38 pm #

    Loved that second dress! Way cute! Sounds like you’ve got your hands full!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings August 9, 2013 at 8:06 am #

      You vote the same as my sister – she just loved that second dress too! I’m so excited. And yeah – things have been a bit hectic. But good hectic, it’s certainly fun!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The End of 2013 | Races, Reps, and Ramblings - December 31, 2013

    […] completed my first 30 days of ChaLean Extreme and really enjoyed the program.  Wedding planning and a week of Adam in Indy were the major highlights.  Still struggling through my Runner’s […]

Share your thoughts!

