Wedding Friday: My Bridal Look

15 Nov

Warning: very girly and long wedding post. :)

With White Christmas opening NEXT FRIDAY the wedding has taken a real back seat.  Most of the big tasks are out of the way and we’re down to details.  Adam and I are feeling pretty good with our progress, as we front-loaded many decisions and tasks due to the holidays and White Christmas.  The show runs for 4 weekends, so I’m going to be a pretty busy lady until December 16th… and then it’s Christmas… and then it’s WEDDING TIME!  My how time flies when you’re having fun.

1417744_10152704766950656_1510427684_o(1)

Hooray! It’s almost show time!

One of the fun parts of the wedding for me has been determining my ‘look’ for the big day.  I’ve thought a lot about all of the details including the dress, under garments, make-up, and all the small special touches.  For you brides out there (I’m talking to you Lily) or people who just enjoy wedding crack (I’m talking to you Meghan)… here are some of the details I’ll be wearing/doing on January 18th!

Beauty

New Routine

For the last couple months I’ve upped my normal beauty routine.  Instead of forgetting to wash my face or put on lotion (like I normally do,) I’ve gotten more regimented about my habits.  Yay!  I really hope this sticks around after the wedding.  Some of the things I’m doing to feel extra ready:

  • Acne control: I already used ProActiv on a daily basis.  I’ve never had a huge problem with acne, but I do get the occasional breakout.  I used ProActiv in college and loved what it did to my skin.  I started using it every morning a few months ago (I only do the regimen once a day).  I have noticed a smoother look to my skin and less random zits popping up  (pun intended, har har)
  • Wrinkle Cream: Yes because I’m at that lovely age where I use both acne lotion and wrinkle lotion :)  I put on some anti-aging cream at night before I go to bed.  I read an article when I was a teen about how important it is to start moisturizing and that your 20s are a great time to start using anti-aging cream.  I took it to heart!  The main benefit is that I’ve noticed my skin is more moisturized.  With a winter wedding.. just what I need.
  • Body lotion: Am I the only one who gets a bit scaly in the winter?  Normally I’m super lazy with body lotion and just put it on once my skin is dry and sad (aka when it’s too late).  This year I’ve decided to be proactive and put on lotion every day after my shower.  My skin is much smoother and I’m liking this new habit.  Fingers crossed that I’ll avoid scaly wedding skin (lovely thought right??)
  • Teeth whitening: So I’m a huge ‘teeth’ person.  Don’t know what it is, but I’m a big fan of a bright nice smile. (Side note: When I lived in Costa Rica, my Polish co-worker said she knew I was an American before I even spoke by my ‘movie star smile that many Americans have’ – her words not mine.  Maybe a nice smile is a cultural thing?!)  I’ve used Crest Whitestrips in the past, which are awesome.  I have pretty sensitive teeth and my sister recently recommended the crest whitening mouth wash.  I LOVE it and its effects are gradual, but noticeable, which is great.  I use it about every other day and I think my smile is coming along quite nicely.  I don’t want to have a super bleached look (you know what I’m talking about), but something nice and bright.

Hair/Make-up

For the actual day of the wedding I decided to get my hair and make-up done.  Now this one was a big surprise to some of my family members.  Mainly because I’m pretty adept at doing hair and make-up (mainly make-up).  I’ve been performing my whole life and do make-up for friends and family if they have a special occasion or event.  Here’s the thing… could I do my hair/make-up?  Absolutely.  Do I want the stress/anxiety of doing my hair and make-up!?  Heck no.  I want to relax and know that whatever happens I hired a professional to deal with it.  Bad hair day?  No problem.  Make-up issues?  No big deal.  I’ll happily do my make-up for other weddings or other people… but with such a huge event I just want to be pampered.  Call me crazy :)

One other note on this.  I know many people feel that we shouldn’t perpetuate society’s crazy ideas that the wedding is “the best day of your life” and “the bride has to look her best, oh and groom just show up” and you must “diet down and sweat for the dress.”  I’m really not a fan of all that pressure out there (particularly on females).  Planning a wedding is enough stress.  BUT.  I enjoy make-up, I enjoy dressing up, and for me this is a very fun excuse to do some special things that I will likely never do again (hello, make-up artist?).  I want to be clear that I don’t feel this is necessary for a wedding, or even something that you should do. It’s just something fun for me, so I plan to partake, because seriously when is the next time I’m going to get a facial?  Um never.  And for the record I do want to look great!  Not because society says so, but because it’s a huge party… and well… who doesn’t want to look awesome at a party (especially one they are hosting).  Can I get a heck yeah?  But can I also get a heck yeah for those gals that prefer less grooming on their wedding day?  Totally support and understand that.  Because truthfully… Adam and I could wear pajamas and no make-up and this day will still be so incredibly special because we’re joining lives and getting married.  Not because I got my make-up done (though let’s be real, that’s pretty special too;)). Okay stepping down from soap box.

I’ve decided to go with airbrush make-up (yes it’s extra, boo) and actually went with one of the more highly rated places (read: expensive, GAH). I’m happy to cut corners in many places… but not on my face (I actually tried and my sister was like… Kelly, what is the point of hiring a nice photographer if you look crazy in the face.  Good point Jules).  And especially because I know how to do my make-up, I really might be critical and want a true artist :)  I went with the same place a friend used and she seriously looked like a goddess.  Like, model amazingness.  She said the make-up lasted til the next day and it was the best experience.  Fingers crossed I find the same thing!  I have a trial coming up in December to get all the details worked out.  I played around with my look to get an idea and I want something natural looking with a nice bright lip.  It’s winter so I sort of want to look rosy cheeked, like I was just out for a snow ball fight, on my wedding day. Yep, that happens.  Sorry for the selfie…

photo(134)

I make an exception for selfies when showing make-up is involved.

With my hair my sister also offered up some brilliant advice: put it back.  I really prefer my hair in some variation of down but Julie said, “Kelly, before every picture you’re going to ask me which side should have hair in front.  Or maybe I should put this hair in back behind my shoulder?  And how does it look?  And is there still curl?  Knowing you, you just need it back.”  So back it is!  I haven’t fully decided on the style.. but classy, with some swoop-age.  Adam’s only request is ‘not promish’.  So some variation of this:

photo(5)

Ooo so classy.

photo(8)

She is so gorgeous. My hair may be too thick for this style, but I love it!

I’m also planning on putting in a sparkly hair piece since my jewelry is minimal.  I found this comb on Rent the Runway that I think I may use. Ooo fancy.

photo(7)

Pearls and sparkles, ooo la la!

Accessories

Jewelry

I’ll be wearing my engagement ring, my old roomie’s earrings, and a necklace at the reception.  Because of my bolero, I will only wear earrings during the ceremony, and add the necklace for the reception once my dress is strapless.  I’m hoping to create a simple, but elegant look.  I’d say the overall feel I’m going for is elegant.  If people think in their head “Oh she looks so classy” I’ve done my job!

photo(129)

My earrings and necklace I plan on wearing. The earrings belong to my former roomie and the necklace I already had.

My something “old” is my Great Great Aunt Julie’s sapphire ring. The ring is super old and beautifully fun.  It will be special wearing such an old family heirloom.  Oh and it’s gorgeous.  This will go on my right ring finger.

photo(135)

Didn’t even know we had ‘heirloom jewerly’ til my Ma pulled this one out of nowhere!

Veil

This is my something borrowed.  I’m using a dear friend’s veil that conveniently matches my dress perfectly!  I originally wanted a drop veil – which is essentially like a big sheet of tulle that also covers your face.  My friend’s veil just is in the back, which is just fine.  Adam wasn’t a big fan of the face veil so that helped me come to a decision on that (though I am just the slightest bit sad that I won’t have a blusher).  Plus veils like I want are like 400 dollars.  How is that possible!?

Rings

The rings have finally been picked up and here’s the finished look.  Hooray.  So thrilled with how they turned out.  I love the idea of having a simple band that I can wear alone should I want to leave my engagement ring safely at home!  And the contrast against my engagement ring is nice, by my eyes anyways!

photo(133)

Adam’s ring and mine!

photo(132)

My set together.

Winter Details

The fabulous part of having a winter wedding is the fun wintery details I get to include!  I’ve decided (or attempted) to not go too overboard on the winter-ness and incorporated some fun elements that seriously make me giddy.

Gloves

I want something for my hands to stay warm, but also that add to my look.  I found a pair of gloves on Etsy that were perfection.  Conveniently enough, Adam’s Grandma knits/crochets!  She agreed to make me some ivory gloves and I’m SO thrilled.  It will be SO special to have her create my gloves.  Can’t wait to wear them! She’s making some gray ones for my ladies.  Such cuteness.

photo(131)

Look at that bow! So cute!

Leg Warmers

Okay, we’ve all seen the wedding shoe shot.  It’s fun, it’s cute…and I want one too.  I thought about boots for the shoe shot, but then thought… wait a minute.  What about leggings!? I found some ivory leggings that serve the practical purpose of keeping me toasty, but also adding a fun look.  My girls are going to get some leggings too.  Cute and practical!

photo(128)

Love my little leg warmers!

Tights/Thigh Highs

During my brother’s wedding I learned something very important.  If you wear tights that go up above your bellybutton and you have a fitted dress…you have to essentially take the dress off to go to the bathroom.  I kid you not, I had to take my dress off every time I went to the ladies room.  It was ridiculous. This also meant my sister had to accompany me.  Every. Single. Time.  With my wedding dress I would have to do the exact same thing (gross).  Enter the solution: Thigh highs!  I’ll still get warmth, without the hassle.  I also hate that my thighs rub together at the top, so these should help with the rub (it doesn’t matter what size I am, my legs always rub a little bit.  #firstworldproblems). Thigh highs are kind of fun and classy too.

photo(127)

ooo so fancy.

Scarf/Shawl

Instead of a coat, I’m planning to wear a shawl/scarf thing.  I know I’ll be a bit chilly…but honestly we aren’t planning on being outside much.  I’ll be able to survive for the pictures! And it was 12 dollars.  I don’t want to buy a beautiful coat that I will only wear a few times.  I already have an ivory jacket that I will wear when we’re not doing pictures if it’s insanely cold.  Plus I love the more casual feel of the shawl.

photo(126)

Here’s my shawl with the bridesmaid dresses.

I also have my bolero over my dress so I don’t look strapless and freezing.  Can’t WAIT to show you guys the whole look.

I feel like my personal details are really coming along and I’m so excited for these little touches that will make the whole look special.  Just 64 days!

-Kelly

What beauty tips do you have for me to get me ready?  Did you have any personal touches on your wedding day?  Any other advice for me!??

16 Responses to “Wedding Friday: My Bridal Look”

  1. sincerelylily November 15, 2013 at 8:16 am #

    Umm… Okay, I LOVE this post. Love it. Such good advice. Where do I start…

    I need to wash my face on a more regular basis and apply lotion! I didn’t even THINK of these things but I’m also a winter (well end of winter) wedding and get scaly feet and legs and EW. Ain’t no body want to marry that! (joking). I’m planning on using whitestrips too so my smile is super duper blinding.

    I LOVE all your hair/makeup choices. Um.. you already look like a perfecto model in your selfie so I imagine that you will be a complete knockout on the big day. I’m getting my makeup done too and having for all my girls- it is such a treat to have someone else do your makeup! So worth it for that one day… Love your hair choices and the RTR comb!

    The jewelry is fantastic. That heirloom ring is so pretty and unique. I love the leg warmers. Your big day will be amazingggggg. And I could not agree more- there is so much pressure, especially on the women, to be thinner and lose weight and ‘get in shape for the wedding.’ Ugh. I have had a few freakout moments where I start to obsess in this thinking and I’m like ‘geez I should try to lose weight’ and Mr speedy is like ‘are you crazy! You athlete! You eat your food and run and eat!’… and then all thoughts leave me. It is very fleeting but it seems to be a subject that is drilled into your engaged head. How about a bride that is healthy, happy and confident all over??? WIN.

    Annnnnnd I wrote a novel….. :)

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings November 15, 2013 at 11:35 am #

      First of all – I love novels :) And second, happy to help! If only to get your wheels turning for what you might do! This part of the planning I actually have fun with, because it really is that amazing excuse to do fun things like professional hair and make-up. YAY! And yep, you’ll still have a lot of the ‘winter’ concerns – I find that I’m still somewhat scaly come March! Haha. I’m trying to prevent it as much as possible… so far so good!

      And I TOTALLY agree with Mr. Speedy! DO not stress or worry about it – you look amazing and the thing I remind myself is that I will not feel differently the day of whether I gain or lose weight. It will still be such magic and it has nothing to do with a number on the scale. Healthy and Confident brides for the WIN!!!

  2. beil4 November 15, 2013 at 9:37 am #

    You are so much more organized than I was about the beauty regimen! I started about 1 month before and was very inconsistent! I love the personal touches to the wedding, those make your wedding! We were married in December and I had a shaw as well, mine was my mothers and it was a light blue (my something blue). My favorite touch though was my wrap around my flowers were my mothers wedding dress and my husbands flower was his mothers dress !

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings November 15, 2013 at 11:37 am #

      Trying to be organized! I think another reason is that I’ll be wearing TONS of make-up for the month of December for the musical I’m in so I wanted to start early to try and get my skin to a good place. What a COOL touch… LOVE the idea of wrapping the dresses around the flowers. I actually asked my mom about her dress to see if I could find some use for it and she doesn’t know where it is haha!

      • beil4 November 15, 2013 at 12:16 pm #

        Oh my goodness that is crazy. I would go crazy if I didn’t know where I put my dress!

        • kelly @ racesrepsramblings November 18, 2013 at 12:09 pm #

          I know! Silly lady. She let us play with it as kids… and then didn’t know what happened to it. Clearly she wasn’t attached to it, just to my Dad! :)

          • beil4 November 18, 2013 at 5:44 pm #

            Oh that is so cute! :)

  3. Single-Tracked Mind November 15, 2013 at 3:20 pm #

    Such good advice! Airbrush makeup sounds very expensive but probably worth it for your big day!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings November 18, 2013 at 12:10 pm #

      Yeah, I was nervous to make the plunge… but I had wanted to try it and this is the perfect excuse. Plus I’ve heard it lasts and lasts.. you’re right, probably worth it!

  4. anna November 15, 2013 at 3:33 pm #

    Wow, you are so detailed! Heck yeah I want to look great for my wedding, too – I mean, all eyes are on you (at least for the ceremony), so why not look your best? Thanks for the tip on the mouth wash – I was planning on getting both of us strips but I’ll tack on the mouth wash, as well! I *love* the leg warmers and gloves, so cute!!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings November 18, 2013 at 12:13 pm #

      Haha yeah.. a little OCD, it can be a good thing and a bad thing!! In this case I’m trying to use it to get more organized.. so I’m not too upset :) And you’re so right.. it truly is a moment where all eyes are on you… I definitely want to look my best! Yeah I LOVE the mouth wash because I feel like it really reaches your teeth from all angles, which is great. I’ll probably also do white strips once it gets closer too, just for good measure :) So glad you like the leg warmers! I’m so excited. And they are actually warm… win win!

  5. Lucy @ Lucy On The Lookout November 15, 2013 at 3:56 pm #

    Ahhh reading this makes me think that winter weddings are so much fun – cutesy gloves and leg warmers, how awesome is that?! Re: scaly winter skin (yup, we all get this problem ;) ) have you thought about dry skin brushing? I swear by it in the winter as it *really* gets rid off the top layer of dead skin cells (as opposed to those exfoliating bath poofs) and can transform skin from lizard-y to glowing. They aren’t too expensive and I would get one with a long handle so you can do your back as well. Natural fibres are best and it can get a while to get used to as the fibres aren’t super soft. I do it once a day before a shower (when I remember ;) )

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings November 18, 2013 at 12:15 pm #

      Hahah I know right?? I was sort of feeling like it was a brilliant idea to have a winter wedding after writing this! ;) There are definitely some great pros (off season, unique, could be beautiful with snow, cute things like gloves), but some big cons (could be insane weather, pale scaly skin!)… either way should be a good time. :) I have never heard of skin brushing!! Where do you get them??? That sounds amazing. And something to add to my little routine!!

  6. Tubontherun November 16, 2013 at 8:05 am #

    I love this post :-) You’ve put way more thought into it than I managed (I am ok with make up, and kind of wish I’d done it myself in some ways, but my hair doesn’t hold a style but I tried to make sure that it was at least in good condition).

    If I was doing mine again, I would probably have put my hair up too. I was talking to my mum about it, and in many of the photos, it looks like my hair had just been forgotten, or just didn’t look all that “cared for”. I wouldn’t have had this if I wore it up. So another wear it up proponent here!

    That sapphire ring is stunning – such a gorgeous blue!

    On the tights – I wouldn’t bother. You will get warm – nerves and the dress will see to that! And then when the nerves have gone, you’ll be walking around, drinking and chatting, and eventually dancing. That said, you could always take the stockings off if you do find that you’re getting super warm.

    I can’t wait to see your write up! You’ll look beautiful!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings November 18, 2013 at 12:22 pm #

      So glad you enjoyed! And you MRS. probably have a lot of great experience from this! Interesting that you probably would’ve done your hair up! I’m sure it looked gorgeous for at least some of the pictures! But you’re right – that’s my concern… by the end of the night I just don’t think my hair can make it. It’s just not that resilient! Glad to have some validation on that – thank you for the support!! :)

      My thing with the tights… the main reason I want to wear them is to reduce chaffing with my thighs (I normally wear little short shorts under all my dresses, all the time). Plus I don’t want my feet to get too sweaty! But you’re right… I didn’t think about overheating. I guess the perk of them being just thigh highs, I really could just easily take them off if I’m crazy hot. I’m glad to have that back-up plan in the back of my head! Let me know if you have any other advice or thoughts!! :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The End of 2013 | Races, Reps, and Ramblings - December 31, 2013

    […] Can you say White Christmas!?  Rehearsals and shows took over my life as I sang and danced my heart out every day.  I also made more progress wedding planning and figured out my bridal look. […]

Share your thoughts!

