My Brother’s Wedding!

14 Oct

What an awesome weekend!  And the best part – my brother is officially a married man!  My family all gathered together to celebrate the wedding of my big bro and his beautiful fiancée this past Saturday!  After a lovely ceremony, the reception ended the night on an amazing note with a fabulous sparkler getaway.  Truly a stunningly beautiful wedding.  I don’t have any ‘real’ pictures back yet, but I’ll post some once they are done.  Sadly, I only took a handful of pictures on the actual day.  With my sister acting as the DJ and me acting as the “day-of” wedding coordinator – we had our hands full!  It was busy (maybe add in a few more busys), but it all turned out wonderfully, plus it was a great experience for me with my wedding coming up in 96 days (not that I’m counting!).

The venue was at a winery with an outdoor ceremony and indoor reception within the winery.  The weather was absolute perfection and every detail was accounted for – it was truly one of the most beautiful weddings I’ve ever attended!  I can’t wait to see the real pictures.  Adam and I had the chance to sing together during the “Unity Canvas” ceremony.  We sang the song “Lucky” by Jason Mraz and Colbie Caillat.  It was so fun, and went pretty smoothly!  Performing also helped me control my tears, I knew I had to get up and sing!

Some Wedding Mishaps

A few pretty ridiculous things happened including:

  • Meeting the family for the first time.  Carolina is from Brazil originally so we had an international night meeting all of her family.  Hilarious language barrier issues ensued. So much fun.
  • Adam becoming a groomsman the day before the wedding.  When the child of a groomsmen was in the hospital, Andrew let Adam know he was the sub!  I drove around all of Atlanta trying to find the matching suit.  Crisis averted when we finally found the right one.  All this hunting occurred without Adam – he was working both Friday and Sunday.  When I bought the suit I had my fingers crossed it would fit.  It did!!
  • Getting about an hour (or more?) behind the timeline…  Let’s just call this one a cultural difference :)  Though, all’s well that ends well!
  • Running the show.  Once I realized that a few aspects of the day needed some coordination (who was releasing tables for dinner, who was pushing the timeline, etc.) I realized I should to step up to the plate.  I spend part of the evening barking orders and making sure things ran smoothly.  It was fabulous.
photo(105)

Thursday and Friday we were running around like crazy. We picked up just a little bit of water on a Costco run.

photo(106)

Oh the suit… we finally found the correct color and size after checking with about 15 stores. Hooray!

photo(104)

Of course we had to pick up some Starbucks for the bride (and ourselves) to get Saturday started on the right foot!

photo(107)

Why heck yes I’m a fancy lady! Look at what professional hair and make-up can do! :)

photo(108)

Every wedding morning needs some mimosas!

photo(109)

This gem of a photo is the only picture I took of Adam. Love it. Though, please note the beautiful vines in the background!

photo(110)

My sister and I, ready to go!

photo(111)

Taking some couple photos right after the first look. PERFECT weather.

photo(112)

What can I say? We were excited.

photo(113)

Julie caught the bouquet! And by caught, I mean if she didn’t put her hands up it would’ve hit her in the face. It was amazing.

Other Updates

So…when you are not in control of anything, it is REALLY hard to eat well. The past four days I had to go with the flow, work, and eat whatever was thrown in front of me.  Man alive, it was a reminder of how hard eating on the go can be, especially when you don’t have a car and aren’t really in control!  I really should pack more food when I do these sorts of trips that way I can at least control my snacks or breakfasts.

Just 2 weeks left of ChaLean!  I’m excited to wrap up the program – it’s been great, but ready for a new challenge.  I have officially decided on starting P90X again- can I get a woot?  Hey, why fix what isn’t broken?  I LOVED my experience with P90X and I’ve had about 5 months off from it, so I’m ready to tackle it again.  Additionally I know that it works – what a perfect thing right before my wedding!  Though I must say, it will be really hard not having Adam around to tackle it together.  I’m starting to mentally prepare myself for beginning it again.  Can’t wait.

I survived my yoga class.  Yes, I survived pretty painlessly!  I still don’t enjoy yoga – but I do value the benefits, so I’m planning on sticking to my lunchtime Mon and Wed yoga classes.  I am hoping it will help my body in the long run…and maybe my knees??  The good news is I have to cancel 24 hours in advance or I lose the money for it, which means I can’t wimp out an hour before because “I don’t feel like it.”  Talk about accountability!

Hope you all had a great weekend!

Kelly

14 Responses to “My Brother’s Wedding!”

  1. crazycatruns October 14, 2013 at 2:19 pm #

    Sounds like a blast! You looked beautiful :)

  2. Abby @ Change of Pace October 14, 2013 at 3:39 pm #

    You look gorgeous, and you and your sister sure look alike with your hair all done up!
    It sounds like the wedding was awesome practice for you..in 96 days! Can’t wait to see the official photos.

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings October 14, 2013 at 4:01 pm #

      Aww, thank you ma’am!! Yeah, we had a few “are you twins?” comments during the wedding. It was great, and so true, a perfect trial run for 96 days from now. Woot!

  3. sincerelylily October 15, 2013 at 6:28 am #

    I love your hair! eeeek so pretty…. sounds like it was a lovely wedding :)

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings October 15, 2013 at 9:29 am #

      Aww thanks so much! It was such a lovely day – it’s hard to believe that it’s over though. So much build up and now it’s done. Thankfully I still have the pictures to look forward to and obsess over ;)

  4. Lucy @ Lucy On The Lookout October 16, 2013 at 10:49 am #

    Aww you and your sister look totally gorgeous but I love how you guys always look like you’re having so much fun together :D I know what you mean about finding it difficult to “healthy eat” when times are super busy but all we can do it go with the flow sometimes and just try our best!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings October 16, 2013 at 11:20 am #

      Thanks lady!! :) It’s always a treat when I get to spend time with her! We had a lot of fun this weekend. And agreed… it’s always about doing our best. That’s all we can do!

  5. Catherine @ A Two Storey Home October 18, 2013 at 8:52 am #

    You look gorgeous!! I can’t wait to see the rest of the photos!!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings October 18, 2013 at 9:37 am #

      Thanks lady!! I’m anxiously anticipating the photographer posting them!!! Hopefully next week?

  6. Luv What You Do October 25, 2013 at 11:41 am #

    Cute hair! I may need to borrow that for my brother’s wedding : )

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Wedding Wednesday: My Brother’s Wedding | Races, Reps, and Ramblings - November 20, 2013

    […] I said this was the most beautiful wedding I’ve attended – I mean it!  Andrew and Carolina did almost everything on their own – no planner!  Hard to […]

  2. The End of 2013 | Races, Reps, and Ramblings - December 31, 2013

    […] brother got married!  I finished ChaLean Extreme! I had an amazing bachelorette party in New Orleans!  October was […]

Share your thoughts!

