Wedding Friday: My Bridal Shower!

13 Dec

This week has been a cold one here in Indianapolis.  Cold weather AND I have a cold.  Just ridiculous.  I’ve been in full on sickness-hibernation mode between the two.  Send me some healing vibes as I get ready for the last 4 shows of White Christmas!  I’m on the up-swing for sure but my life has pretty much been sleeping, working, sleeping.  And a bit of wedding planning and thank you notes too.  Just for fun.

This past weekend was a happy, happy one for me.  I celebrated another wedding milestone with my bridal shower!  Woot!  My shower was thrown by my moms (my mother and my future mother-in-law) and they did such a fabulous job.  When bridal shower discussions first happened we decided on one joint shower.   I know that with many friend/family groups it can often be easier to throw multiple showers… but with the holidays, White Christmas, and general busy-ness of the season I just figured it might be easier on all parties to just have one joint shower.  It worked out perfectly!  And I must admit, one was the right amount for me!

photo(138)

My sister and I at the shower.

The Moms split up tasks with my mom taking games and half the food and my MIL taking on decorations/favors and the other half of the food.  I’m glad the shower gave them an opportunity to work together on something before the wedding.  I know traditionally the shower is thrown by the bridal party, but with my two sisters spread across the country they didn’t even know if they’d be able to fly here, let alone be available to throw it.  Having Team Mom step in was perfect.  My sister was able to make it and she helped out once she arrived, but it allowed the two retired Moms (aka have a little time on their hands) to have a little fun project to work on together.

The Schedule:

  • 1-1:30: General mingling, getting a plate of food, everyone getting settled.
  • 1:30-2: Games! (with prizes, huzzah)
  • 2-2:30: Gifts
  • 2:30-3:00: Tear down and mingling

I loved the timeline because we had enough time on each activity, but we didn’t have a lot of dead time.  I’ve been to showers that really seem to drag on and I wanted to be respectful of peoples’ time. The Moms did a terrific job planning this out.

The Food!

Team Mom did a great job with a variety of sweet treats and finger food.  It was perfect. Yum, yum.

photo 4(7)

With the whole spread!

photo 1(10)

Wedding dress cookies! So cute :)

photo 5(6)

My yummy cake (from Costco!)

photo 2(10)

Mints and nuts on the table to munch on.

The group going to town.

The Games!

  • Memory: Adam made a special appearance for this bridal version of “Memory”.  We introduced it as ‘sharing the full story of how we met’  but it was really a game. :)  Adam and I have spent months working on “Our Story” which is a booklet a couple pages long and alternates between Adam and I telling the story of how we met.  We plan to have it in the pews for people to read if they are early to the wedding. At the shower Adam and I stood at the front of the group alternating reading our respective sections.  At the end my Mom announced it was a game and created a quiz based on some of the events in the story.  I couldn’t believe how well people paid attention, it was so cool.
  • Door Prize: All the chairs had an envelope taped to the back with one lucky prize winner.  It was fun seeing everyone open their envelopes looking for the winning ticket ;)
  • Bride Survey: My mom emailed me earlier in the week a basic ‘getting to know you’ survey.  Then we handed it out and whoever got the most points won.  Very fun, though lots of the questions were hard!
  • Bride Bingo: This one was great.  Your typical bingo except with words like “groom, rings, vows” etc.  Lots of fun and very themed.

The whole group!

Door prize envelopes on the backs of chairs.

photo 3(10)

Reading “Our Story” together

photo 2(8)

Apparently we had fun.

photo 1(7)

I really don’t remember laughing this hard. Don’t tell Adam. I’m always trying to convince him that his corniness just isn’t funny. Apparently it is…

The Gifts!

Honestly, I tried to open my gifts as quickly as one reasonably could.  Two reasons… one, I felt a bit awkward.  It’s like a birthday party, except it’s not your birthday so I felt a bit weird getting all these gifts!  And two… is it really ever THAT fun watching someone open lots of presents?  I mean it’s fun for a little while, but it can get a bit tiring.  So I kept it snappy, but appropriate and had a great time.  I got some wonderful gifts from my registry and a few things that were a bit more rogue.  It was great.

photo 2(7)

Hello! I am the queen of gifts!

My sister taking record of all the goodies!

The Unexpected

There was only one sort of strange aspect to the shower…I was a little caught off guard by the couple of comments about me needing to cook or pop out babies (Adam and I want to eventually have 3 or 4 kids, so I got plenty of “You better get going!”  Wait… are you not only asking me about my sex life and uterus plans, but you’re also calling me old??  All in one comment.  Lovely).  I had to remind myself several times to just smile and laugh along with it… people really mean well.  But inside I was thinking “PEOPLE YOU ARE NOT GONNA SEE ANY BABIES IN AT LEAST 5 YEARS!!  AND IF YOU DON’T BEHAVE, MAKE THAT 10!!!”  Okay maybe I’m being a little dramatic.  Just not used to people wanting the happenings on my uterus. And the kitchen slave comments were almost more unsettling… “Adam also knows how to cook.  Why is this my sole, lone responsibility??”  Adam and I are a great equal team when it comes to household things, so it was a bit disgruntling to hear those ‘expectations’ thrown down on me.  Especially expectations that aren’t even from Adam!! I had a mini freak out that night asking Adam if things like that were going to change once we got married.  His response? “Kelly, who do you think I am??  We’ve already discussed all of this and we’re an equal team. Getting married isn’t going to change this at all.” I felt a bit better :)  But definitely be prepared that you may get some well-meaning comments from older women if you have a few outspoken ones in the group!

Overall

All in all, it was a pretty fantastic shower.  Great friends and family, awesome food, fun games.  Just terrific!  I even managed to walk away with a pretty awesome bow bouquet (which we almost forgot to do!).

photo 3(7)

Smiling with some family.

photo 4(6)

The cute favors and decorations (that will also be at the wedding…resourceful :))

photo 5(5)

The whole room!

photo 3(8)

With my dear friend Katie!

photo 2(9)

Little wedding dress favors full of candy.

My bouquet for the rehearsal!

I had a lovely shower and it makes me that much more excited to marry Adam.  Hard to believe just 37 days.  Not that I’m counting,  or that I’m out of my mind excited.  But maybe I am.  Gush gush mush mush gross.. you get the idea.

Happy Friday!

-Kelly

14 Responses to “Wedding Friday: My Bridal Shower!”

  1. sincerelylily December 13, 2013 at 7:25 am #

    IM SO EXCITED/HAPPY FOR YOU. Funny you should post this…. I just was going over the final guest list for my bridal shower which will be in January! we are lik twins. seriously.

    I love the games! I was planning on looking some up but the story one is so cute… I have never heard of it. And the cookies! Gahhhhh the moms did an excellent job decorating. I love that two seem so loved and cared for- and all the details that went into this. Truly a special milestone for you… and probably makes the wedding feeel like it is one step closer!

    You two are so blessed– what a lovely shower and you are gorg in all the pics. Adam is marrying one fine lookin’ lady. The babies (when you DO have them) will be b-e-a-tiful.

    Enjoy this last month!!! xoxo

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings December 13, 2013 at 2:06 pm #

      EEE!!! So fun. It was just so cool completing that next milestone, because in my head I’m thinking, “AND NEXT IS THE WEDDING!!” :) If you have any questions or need any help, please let me know! Glad the timing worked out. It’s hilarious, every time I write a wedding post I always think, “Well even if no one else enjoys it… Lily will!!” Wedding twins 4life. Only a few more months of wedding posts… then I get to look forward to yours!!! :) Gosh time flies. And your baby comment made me laugh out loud, thanks for the support… looking forward to those (hopefully cuteish ;)) babies, after several more years :)

  2. Catherine @ A Two Storey Home December 13, 2013 at 9:25 am #

    Everything (including you!) looks beautiful!! I love that photo of you laughing at what Adam was saying… so adorable. :-D I’m glad it was such an awesome day!
    And yes, the awkward baby comments. I still don’t know how to respond to them. Sometimes I’ll rub my stomach and say, “Well, don’t tell anyone, but…” Then for a second they aren’t sure if I’m serious… and then they realize that I’m not and that they shouldn’t have joked about it in case I was. :) Because my older sister has kids, it took a little pressure off us at first, but now that we are approaching two years, I’ve noticed a definite increase in the amount of baby suggestions. Thanks, friends. My uterus, my (our) life; we’ll let you know when the time comes.

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings December 13, 2013 at 2:11 pm #

      Aww thanks so much Catherine!! It was so fun and such a special day. Yeah I have yet to show Adam that picture, I don’t want to give him any ideas that he’s truly funny or anything like that ;) Your baby responses are AMAZING. I think humor is a great way to sort of get people’s attention without making them feel TOO bad about it. I know they mean well. And YES, thank goodness for older siblings with kids and the desire to have kids soon (thank goodness for your sister and my brother ;))

      And glad to know I’m not the only one. I think the other piece is who knows if the couple has had trouble trying for babies! I think the older I get I realize just how personal of a question that could be…because maybe the couple doesn’t want kids, can’t have kids, has been struggling for YEARS to have kids, or have perfectly good reasons for wanting to wait. And I guess I’m cool with people asking if we’ll have kids in a genuinely curious and friendly way (at least close friends or family)… it’s just the judgement for said answer that gets me. Such is life! Hopefully we won’t turn into those older ladies ;)

  3. beil4 December 13, 2013 at 9:51 am #

    Such a fun day! I remember my bridal shower and reading your post brought back so many memories from my day! Your shower looks beautiful and you look so happy!!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings December 13, 2013 at 2:12 pm #

      Aww so glad to bring back happy thoughts!! It was so fun and such a truly happy day. Hard to believe the wedding is getting so close!

      • beil4 December 13, 2013 at 4:37 pm #

        Have fun with this last month! It seriously goes by so fast!

  4. Britta December 13, 2013 at 1:38 pm #

    Looks like you had an amazing shower and um….. CAN YOU GET ANY MORE BEAUTIFUL!!!! Oh the baby and “housewife” comments, I feel like people probably don’t realize how it comes across and I am sure they mean well – just like you said but I can totally see how that can get to ya.. I would feel the same way! I love the picture of you laughing (at or with adam?!.. jk). I cannot wait for the recap of the big day! bah!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings December 13, 2013 at 2:15 pm #

      Oh my goodness girl you are so sweet!! Thank you so much for your kind words! Secret: I actually had my make-up trial the day of the shower so my secret weapon is professional make-up… it was so cool! Saving that recap up for another mush gush wedding post though!

      And you are so right, I really don’t think people meant anything offensive or rude by it… I think they are just trying to make conversation and be cute. I kept trying to remind myself that everyone meant well and just to smile and laugh along. I think it worked for the most part ;) I guess it was a good lesson too, now I’m a little more prepared if it happens at the wedding or afterward. SO excited for the wedding, it’s crazy… I mean I knew I’d always look forward to my wedding someday, it’s just insane how much I anticipate it. It’s the start of a new life together. Okay done with gush. Apologies ;)

  5. Cat December 13, 2013 at 4:18 pm #

    Beautiful! You and the party. ;) And just an FYI – those comments actually don’t stop once you start having kids. :) Then they weigh in on whether you should have more, when, how many, how you parent, etc. Smile, nod and ignore! My strategy at least. Congratulations!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings December 16, 2013 at 10:35 am #

      Thanks so much Cat!! :) It was very fun and great to pass another milestone! And very good to know that I’m just beginning a lifetime of comments… I guess everyone has their opinions! I think your strategy will work well!!

  6. Brittany December 15, 2013 at 11:22 am #

    You are so unbelievably gorgeous!! HOLY MAN! What a fun day, despite the comments!! Those will never stop, but you can learn to deflect them I am sure!!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings December 16, 2013 at 10:36 am #

      Awww you are too sweet! Professional make-up is a pretty amazing thing ;) And you’re right… it will just be a matter of learning how to deal with the comments. Such is life.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The End of 2013 | Races, Reps, and Ramblings - December 31, 2013

    […] Bridal Shower!  Time off!  White Christmas! December has been a pretty great […]

Share your thoughts!

