Friday Favs!

14 Jun

Good morning and HAPPY FRIDAY!  We did it!  We made it!  And… I only did my whole half-a-block of cheese thing for dinner one night this week.  And only skipped my workouts twice.  And watched only 5 episodes in a row of Season 1 Grey’s Anatomy last night while sobbing hysterically over the story lines.  Okay – clearly things aren’t going quite as I had planned.  But before you panic that I’m going to go off deep end – I’m heading off to vacation to recharge soon and honestly the situation sounds worse than it is!

On Wednesday my Uncle was admitted to the hospital while on vacation in Alaska – very scary.  Because Alaska is 4 hours behind me time-wise, it made for a very, very long night.  Thankfully Uncle E is doing well and was discharged yesterday.  They still aren’t quite sure what happened, but possibly an infection.  This was the first time I was super thankful that Adam is a doctor.  He made my family so at ease, and while he didn’t know exactly what was going on (as he wasn’t there and didn’t have my Uncle’s chart), he could translate some of the procedures and tests so everyone felt more comfortable.  Talk about rocking the routine a bit.  Not your usual Wednesday.

And after that… I sort of let myself fall off my routine wagon.  For one major priority: sleep.  After a couple late nights I am just dragging.  This week has been a good lesson in planning ahead, and when I come back from vacation it’s time to turn back to my habits I’ve formed (chopping parties being the main one).  The good news – with my new workout program even if I skip one workout, I’ll probably have running or something else on the schedule.  I’m still meeting the standards for a healthy active adult.  And really – isn’t that what it’s all about?  All said and done, I’m relieved my Uncle is doing well – nothing like an experience like that to put things into perspective.

Fitness Updates

In other news…so far I am loving the Jillian Michael’s workout DVD.  Who knew that 30 minutes of exercise could be so taxing??  After the hour+ of P90X, this has been a welcome change.  I’m looking forward to continuing to use it – it’s been awesome!  My runs this week have been 2 miles each and I’ve successfully completed 2 of them.  Unfortunately, I’m still having knee pain…but hoping it will dissipate as I get stronger with my exercises.  Fingers crossed.  I guess this is just more validation that Insanity wasn’t the right call right now!

Vacation, Beach, and Guest Posts, Oh My!

Tonight I’m off to vacation with Adam and his family to the beach – I cannot wait!  Because I won’t be in full-on blogger mode next week I’ve arranged for a couple of guest posts to shake things up!  Man alive, doesn’t that sound exciting??  I think you’re supposed to be a legitimate blogger before you can really pull off the whole guest post thing.  But here’s the deal folks – I’ve been wanting to share this content anyway, and this vacation is a great excuse.  And somehow doing a guest post makes me feel totally legit, right??  Well anyways, I can’t wait.  One of them is a friend from real life who I didn’t know was a blogger.  Her story to a healthier state of being is pretty awesome.  I really enjoyed it, and I hope you do too!  My other guest is a secret mystery person that you may even feel like you already know! ;)

And just because it’s Friday, I’m going on vacation, and I’m in a remarkably excellent mood – I wanted to share some Friday favs!  Enjoy!

 Friday Favs

Favorite Protein Bar

After trying several different bars Adam and I finally settled on Balance bars as our absolute favorites.  They have a good amount of protein, pretty good stats, and taste amazing!!  They don’t leave you with a terrible taste, and honestly I look forward to eating one every day.  My favorite flavors are S’mores, Lemon Meringue, and Chocolate Mint Crunch.  Delightful!

My current fav flavor!

Favorite Running Shoe

In a running world full of Mizuno, Brooks, and Asics… I stand by my forever trusty (and not quite as popular) Adidas running shoes!  Since starting to run long distances with my very first full-marathon I’ve used Adidas shoes.  At this point I’ve tried 3 of their styles and I have loved them all.  Currently I use the Adidas Boston and it has been great.  Why am I so loyal to Adidas?  Well it may not sound exciting or spirited, but they are the only running shoes that don’t make my feet fall asleep when I run!  I’ve tried almost all of the other brands, but continue to find success with Adidas.  If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it!

photo(23)

Maybe not my favorite color scheme, but keeps my feet awake!

Favorite Healthy Treat

Froyo has got to be my absolute favorite thing.  It is divinely delicious, and if you prepare it correctly it can be healthy for you too!  The big trick: knowing how to make it.  While doing P90X, Froyo was on the meal guide, however it was only 4 oz.   Which translates to something like  .25 lbs.  Yeah – shocker… most froyo places measure in lbs (in the US).  So it wasn’t .4 lbs it was .25 lbs.  Talk about portion reevaluation!  This realization has helped me stick to a healthier treat when I do indulge.  Additionally while doing P90X I got used to plain original froyo.  Yep – just the boring white flavor.  But the amazing thing: now that I’m used to it, I actually prefer it (I used to hate it)!!  Now my go-to froyo is a bit of original flavor loaded with healthy fruit.  It makes for a great treat without causing too much damage!  It takes time to become accustomed to no more cake batter or chocolate, but now that I have made the switch, I don’t feel any guilt!

Score.

OH so delightful.

Happy Friday to all and to all a Happy Friday! (yeah…can you tell I’m excited?)

Kelly

What’s your favorite froyo flavor?  Do you have an awesome protein bar you love?

6 Responses to “Friday Favs!”

  1. Lucy @ Lucy On The Lookout June 14, 2013 at 11:17 am #

    I’m glad your uncle is doing a-ok and resting up :) Glad also you are doing ok – as a fellow sob-monster good choice with the Grey’s Anatomy – it’ll get me drenched in tears within about half an hour ;) Better out than in I’d say! Ooh will the guest post be… Adam..? Hehe though perhaps not if you’re heading off to sunnier climes. I love froyo though wish I wasn’t so lactose-intolerant so that I could love it more frequently! Enjoy your holiday, and the beach – sounds ideal!!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings June 14, 2013 at 6:32 pm #

      Aww!! Thanks! Yep a big relief Uncle E is on the mend. Makes it much more relaxing going into a vacation. And you could be right about Adam but you could be wrong…guess you’ll have to wait and see!! Haha I love surprises :D Have a WONDERFUL weekend!!

  2. megbek June 14, 2013 at 6:51 pm #

    Sorry to hear about your uncle, I’m glad everything is going to be okay. Messing up your routine will happen, but that’s life and you’re doing the best by just rolling with it. I need to try Jillian Michaels, I know everyone loves her! I hope your knee pain goes away soon too. HAVE FUN ON VACATION!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! YIPEE! Can’t wait to see who your guest posts are! Fro yo for the win, all the time. My favorite fro yo flavor is red velvet and cheesecake mixed together!! :)

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings June 18, 2013 at 8:07 pm #

      Thanks for the thoughts lady! Uncle E is doing much better now- thank goodness!! And yeah- Jillian Michaels! I have really enjoyed the DVD and hilariously enough gotten some of the family to join me with my morning workouts, love it. And I’ve never tried red velvet and cheesecake!! Next time ill give it a whirl! Hope all is well :)

  3. Sarah.Jo.Fairchild June 19, 2013 at 9:55 am #

    I’m in the market for new shoes after wearing my pair out!! Will have to look in Adidas–as a former soccer gal they were our high school favorites. I’ve been enjoying smoothies lately with just frozen fruit, a little yogurt, and 1 1/2 cups of spinach which doesn’t look nearly as pretty as yours but tastes great! Plus my kids think its a treat and every mama knows getting veggies in where you can is a major score!! I think I will be learning a lot from your blog!! Thanks!!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings June 19, 2013 at 10:08 am #

      Yeah you should definitely check out Adidas! They have always worked well for me :). I always go to a local running store and get them fitted, that helps. And I hear you with the slipping veggies in where you can…I have to do that for myself ;)

Share your thoughts!

