Recipe: Simple Egg Scramble

4 Sep

So guys, I have a confession… I’ve been cooking.  Gasp!  I know, it’s pretty amazing.  Now let’s get this straight – I haven’t been doing anything fancy.  But there’s still something yummy about some warm, home-cooked food.  At least my Mom is impressed.

Cooking is not my forte.  I repeat, cooking is not my forte.  But, I do understand and value home-cooked quality meals.  Over the past few months I’ve worked to slowly add simple, quick recipes to my repertoire.  My simple asparagus and simple arugula are still some of my favorites that I rotate in pretty often.  Lately I’ve been switching up my routine a bit from my normal shake (shakeology and protein) in the morning.  I have been cooking in the morning, with a shake for dinner.  I find that sometimes when I come home from work I really crave something sweet and often don’t have the patience for a meal.  Living alone, this swap has worked pretty well.  I don’t do it everyday, but I’ll throw it in for some variety.  And who doesn’t love variety?

This egg scramble is super simple and is a great way to get in lots of veggies!  It is one way that I ‘trick’ myself into eating more vegetables!  Additionally I’ve used the same principles to make many spin off dishes, like breakfast burritos or sautéed veggies and pasta.  Now I’m really getting fancy.

Ingredients:

  • Eggs or Egg Beaters (when I use whole eggs I do three egg whites plus one whole egg, lately I’ve been using egg beaters and do 1/2 or 2/3 of a cup).
  • Morningstar sausage patties (made of soy, but you could substitute for any other protein source).
  • Pepper (I throw a whole one in!)
  • Spinach (a handful works well)
  • Zucchini (I’ve been using half of a small one, cut into small pieces)
  • Salt/Pepper
  • Nonstick spray

Directions:

  1. Heat a large frying/sauté pan (see I don’t even know what cooking things are called!). Normally I put mine at about a 4 on my stove.
  2. Once the pan is hot, spray with the nonstick spray, and throw in the cut up veggies.
  3. Let the veggies cook for around 10 minutes, flipping them occasionally.  Often I’ll turn down my stove and let them cook a bit longer if I’m getting ready for the day as well.  Multi-tasking at its finest.
  4. Once the veggies are cooked to your liking, throw in the 2/3 cup egg beaters and cooked morningstar sausage (I normally heat it in the microwave for 30 seconds).
  5. Stir everything about and scramble it!
  6. Let all ingredients cook until they are to your liking.  I tend to like them a bit on the browner side – I know, I’m weird. Often I will turn down the stove once everything looks dandy just to keep it warm.  Right before I walk out the door I’ll throw it into a tupperware for a delicious hot breakfast at work.
photo (3)

Cook the cut veggies on their own first.

photo (7)

Next, add in the eggs and sausage.

photo (4)

Ta da! Hot food on a plate. Amazing.

It’s fast, it’s easy, and it’s an awesome way to get in those veggies!  I have experimented with all sorts of different chopped veggies.  Instead of eating a salad, I’ll eat my egg scramble full of veggies.  Much yummier.

photo (1)

The breakfast burrito variety – just add a wheat tortilla!

photo (5)

Look at these fancy veggies!

photo (6)

Look! Veggies with pasta!! Yum.

When I showed my breakfast to my co-worker he responded, “Oh so I can see that you’ve learned you can put anything in egg beaters and it’s delicious.”  Apparently it’s a thing.  :)

Enjoy and happy eating!

-Kelly

What have you thrown into eggs?  Are you a lazy chef?

10 Responses to “Recipe: Simple Egg Scramble”

  1. Meghan @ fitnesscrEATures September 4, 2013 at 10:17 pm #

    Look at you cooking and doing things!!! I’m so proud, mostly because I still don’t man up enough to do this myself either. :) I love eggs when I am cooking though because they are so dang versatile, delicious and healthy! They go great with almost anything. :) So happy you’re getting around to cooking! And yes to that pasta with veggies!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings September 5, 2013 at 9:26 am #

      Agreed!! It’s amazing how relatively easy they are. I’ve been quite proud of myself for making them! And I think it’s been a gateway food – something that has shown me that maybe I can in fact, cook other things! ;)

  2. Abby @ Change of Pace September 4, 2013 at 11:22 pm #

    Sounds delicious, and a great way to get in veggies first thing in the morning!
    Truthfully, the only think I love in my eggs is cheese and sometimes some mushrooms! But, I may have to give your eggs a try!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings September 5, 2013 at 9:29 am #

      You know I always thought the exact same thing! I was always a ‘cheese and eggs are the perfect marriage, nothing else!’ kind of gal. Then I gave this a go and I was quite surprised. I actually don’t miss the cheese! Tough to believe. ;) But I do love that it is a great way to sneak in all sorts of veggies!

  3. Catherine @ A Two Storey Home September 5, 2013 at 7:47 am #

    Nice! I’m so proud of you cooking!! What a great idea to make breakfast your cooking meal…whatever works for you! Back in college when I owned a microwave, I would beat eggs in a little bowl, put it in the microwave, and have the perfect sized patty for a breakfast sandwich!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings September 5, 2013 at 9:30 am #

      Thank you!! I have been feeling quite accomplished lately ;) And wow – I never thought about using the microwave to create a breakfast patty. I’m a huge fan of breakfast sammies – I will have to give that a go sometime!

  4. Brittany September 8, 2013 at 10:42 am #

    I love simple, yet delicious meals!! One of my main go to’s for simple meals is pasta! YUM!

  5. Lucy @ Lucy On The Lookout September 10, 2013 at 4:54 pm #

    Kelly, you are totally rocking this cooking malarkey :) ! I love make egg/banana pancakes and top them with peanut butter, yums! Oh and breakfast burritos sound delish, how do you do them?

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings September 11, 2013 at 9:31 am #

      I KNOW!? Can you believe it? The breakfast burritos are pretty easy – I just put that scramble mix into a whole wheat tortilla and voila it’s a burrito. When I make it for Adam I’ll top it with salsa cuz he loves spicy. :) Easy peasy.

Share your thoughts!

