When You Get Off Track…

11 Sep

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Maybe if I had an alarm clock like this I could get up…

Hi folks!  Happy Wednesday!  This week has been an awesome one and will continue to bring more excitement (eek!).  With a visit to Nashville on Monday/Tuesday (sigh, 3 weeks is too long without seeing Adam), and a wedding down in South Carolina on Friday and the rest of the weekend-  it’s completely full of awesomeness!  It’s during times of awesomeness (or complete crazy unpleasant stress) that I find it hardest to get my workout in.What to do when things are all out of sorts!?

Last night I got in super late from Nashville and this morning I. Could. Not. Get. Up.  My alarm rang and rang and I just kept pressing ignore (I have a bad habit of not being fully aware of this).  Suddenly I have 15 minutes until I have to leave, let alone workout!  I scrambled around, managed to get clothes on and throw together a lunch (I call that success).  Yet I sit here now kind of disappointed I didn’t get my workout in (that feeling always happens!).  There are several options when you skip a workout (if you have a set weekly schedule).

1. Push the workout back.  I could continue about my day as if it were a rest day.  Tomorrow I’ll do what I planned to do today.

2. Do the workout in the evening or afternoon.  I’m a morning worker outer (note, not a morning person), so the afternoon is always a great back-up.  And I would…but I have 2 hours of dance rehearsal tonight.  I won’t get home until 8:30 and likely won’t be in any physical shape to lift.  But… I could make it happen. No excuses right? Chooo Choo… do you hear the excuse train??

3. Skip the workout.  Come on Kelly, live a little!  Just skip the workout and tomorrow start “Thursday’s” workout.

Honestly I’ve done all three, and they all work.  :)  My favorite tends to be 2, as normally I can find a way to squeeze it in.  But what’s better on your body?  Switching up the routine?  Keeping at it?  Here are some thoughts on each of the options.

When to Push it Back:

If you have built in rest days and pushing back the workout by one day will not ‘mess up’ the next week, go for pushing it back.  This keeps your week on schedule, but just slides things back a bit.  Generally if I’m out of rest days and pushing back means I spill over into the next week I’ll stay away from doing this.  It’s okay to slide, but I hate getting that out of routine.  Getting so out of sorts makes it SO easy to skip more workouts.  Other times I won’t push back?  If I’ve already skipped a workout in the week.  One change up is great, two… is a slippery slope.  (I’m naturally so lazy, I gotta watch myself! One minute I’m working out and the next I’m laying on my couch pinning and eating white cheddar cheezits, yikes ;))

When to Do it No Matter What!

Some days if I sleep over my workout, I just have to make it happen no matter what.  If I have a free or ‘freeish’ evening I generally try to make this happen.  Also, if I’ve skipped workouts previously in the week, or had a pretty treat filled weekend (a la Labor Day) I will make the workout happen!  Generally I decide in the morning what option I’m going with.  This helps me mentally plan and prep for an evening workout.  I’m a huge expectations person, so talking myself into the workout nice and early is helpful!

When to skip the workout

Sometimes no matter how hard you try, you just can’t make it work!  Times when I’m okay skipping?  If I’m sick or completely exhausted (like crazy-land exhausted, not just ‘meh I’m tired and don’t want to workout’ <– duh, that’s everyday).  I’ll also skip if somehow in my day I replaced the workout – i.e. went on a run at work, or a 2 hour dance rehearsal.  And finally, I’ll skip if I’m out of rest days and my day is so jam packed that I can’t do anything else.  Even if I’m disappointed in myself for not getting my rear in gear, I have to ‘forgive’ myself and move on!  Tomorrow is a new day – channel that energy to make tomorrow the best workout ever!!  Or just working out, I’ll settle for that too ;)

A fourth option – swap the workout.  If you don’t have time for a full workout but can get in something shorter, say yoga?  Do it!  I’ll do this option if I just ‘want to get something in’.  Something is better than nothing!

So what am I going to do today?  Honestly I’m not sure!  I’m hoping that I can talk myself into lifting after my dance rehearsal.  This is one of those situations where I won’t really be able to push back with the destination wedding this weekend.  Fingers crossed I’m not dead after my dance rehearsal!

Speaking of which… the first dance rehearsal for White Christmas was on Saturday!  I danced for 8 hours.  There was a dance workshop for 4 hours in the morning and 4 hours of learning the choreography to “The Best Things Happen While You’re Dancing.”  (Swoon!)  I felt like I had signed up for Dancing with the Stars. Seriously – imagine beautiful waltz, fabulous dress, spinning, lifting, dancing!  Oh dear goodness, excited and nervous!

Though…I am still sore (yeah, it’s Wednesday, that was Saturday).  I think that rehearsal was more difficult than most of my races – half or full! (except for that one marathon I didn’t really train for, yeah that sucked).  My knees gave me a bit of trouble so I’ve cut back on running – I may even have to kiss my November half-marathon goodbye (tear).  But I really feel like I have the responsibility to take care of my body with all of this dancing.  And if running is a known irritant… it just makes sense to lay off it for awhile.  It’s still a bummer to me that I can’t run normally without pain, but that’s another sob post. There are FIVE lifts in this ONE dance number, just to give you an idea of the physicality required.  I may spend my time doing abs and planks instead of running (cuz lordy, I’m gonna need it!).  I’m SO excited for the show – it should be amazing.

And because it’s Wednesday: here’s a wedding craft for you to enjoy.  Adam is a whiz and put these together for our tables – me on one side and him on the other.  Yay!

Kelly 00Adam 00

Kelly 02Adam 02

Have a great rest of the week! :)

-Kelly

Edit: Also totally spaced that today is 9/11.  We must never forget!  (clearly I’m talking to myself).

How do you handle missed workouts?  Do you do option 1, 2, or 3… or another way of dealing? Any tips or advice when you get off schedule?

10 Responses to “When You Get Off Track…”

  1. Meghan @ fitnesscrEATures September 11, 2013 at 10:50 am #

    I go through all those scenarios too when I over sleep through a planned workout… I’ll just typically end up doing it later than planned which isn’t the end of the world – but I still feel bummed about not getting it done when I should have.
    Girl, I didn’t know you were doing a dancing performance! I wish I could come see! I remember you getting the part but this sounds so wonderful! And yes, two hours of dancing absolutely replaces a workout.
    Sorry you’re cutting out running for dancing, but frankly, dancing sounds more fun right now! And always always always a good call to respect your body’s wishes. Have a fab day!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings September 11, 2013 at 12:25 pm #

      Glad to know I’m not the only one that feels bummed… I guess that’s a good thing! It keeps me coming back for more. Though sometimes I need to just relax about it!

      And yes! A dancing performance – haha it’s a little terrifying. It should be a lot of fun though. I’ll be sure to post pictures once things get rolling. And thank you for the validation that I don’t need to squeeze out another workout. :) Hooray. Yep – stupid knees, but I’m still staying active which is the important part to me.

  2. Catherine @ A Two Storey Home September 11, 2013 at 12:30 pm #

    Great post! I definitely do all three options at different times. I usually try to squeeze it in later in the day, and I operate under the principle that something is better than nothing! A few sets of pushups, squats, and ab work during commercial breaks (and handfuls of cheez-its ;-)) are better than just sitting there. Also, I think it’s ultimately about listening to your body, and it sounds like your body benefited more from getting extra sleep rather than a workout this morning! Plus, I think dance practice sufficiently replaces a workout!! That sounds intense!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings September 12, 2013 at 9:21 am #

      I love your commercial workout! Such a great idea! And you’re so right – something is better than nothing. :) My dance workout last night definitely wore me out – I was drenched when I left so I call that a successful workout! :)

  3. Phoebe Desiree September 11, 2013 at 6:09 pm #

    I workout in the evenings. Depending on what errands I need to run I’ll suck it up and do it or not at all. Sometimes it’s best to just sleep when you feel like there’s not enough time lol.

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings September 12, 2013 at 9:23 am #

      Totally agree – sleep is one of my favorite things! It takes priority if I’m really needing it.

  4. hkzwart September 12, 2013 at 3:47 pm #

    Agree with all the options… and can relate! Ironically, today was one of those days I hit snooze one too many times and didn’t get the 6am workout in. Guess what happened? I left the house to take the boys to school, got back, and was locked out of the house! Serves me right! I was so tempted to just throw in the towel today and just wanted a HUGE plate of food that was bad for me (I hadn’t eaten breakfast OR had my coffee yet… yikes!). That’s how off-kilter I feel when I don’t do it first thing… I’ll find 100 reasons why I should just skip it, but the guilt haunts me. So today, I DID just get it done later and felt so much more balanced as a result. One more day of Beta cycle with Shaun T… then onto Gamma! You are TOTALLY justified in skipping your “workout” when you’re dancing like you are. Way to go! :)

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings September 17, 2013 at 10:51 am #

      Oh my goodness!! Getting locked out is the worst – that might have done me in. I also really feel off-kilter if I don’t get it in. It’s amazing how much I’m “addicted” to it now. Which is a good thing – but you’re right, that dang guilt just HAUNTS! Hope you’re enjoying T25!! :)

  5. Lucy @ Lucy On The Lookout September 13, 2013 at 12:46 pm #

    Oh those photos are just TOO cute :) !! Hehe I’m totally a “meh I’m tired and don’t want to work out” type person too, but agree with all 3 options and believe they each rightfully have their place. Shame about your half mara but totally agree that it is a wise decision considering you want to be on top form for the dancing (plus that is totally a workout too!). This post has just inspired me to go out for my run (it;s raining and everything!) – yup I totally switched off my alarm this morning in time for more zzz’s… but glad I did as otherwise wouldn’t be so sprightly now!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings September 17, 2013 at 10:53 am #

      Aren’t they fun pictures!? I hope our guests will be entertained by them. Adam picked out mine and was sure to choose some REALLY embarrassing ones :) And I’m so glad to have inspired you to get your run on – way to get at it in the rain! Though I must admit – I love running in a warm rain, makes me feel super tough ;) And you’re right… sometimes it is SO worth turning the alarm off, it just has to happen :)

Share your thoughts!

