Recipe: Simple Arugula Salad!

28 Mar

IMG_3528

Another super simple recipe.  This is one that I don’t even need Adam’s help for :)  I am obsessed with this salad.  It’s easy, fast, delicious, and healthy!  What’s not to love? (really there is nothing not lovable about this addicting salad)

What is Arugula?

The major ingredient in this salad is arugula.  This is the only leafy green in it.  For those of you that don’t know about arugula, I have to say you must try it! I’m not a huge salad girl – normally I eat them out of health and not really for taste (though sometimes I have been surprised).  Arugula is different.  There is something about it I find so tasty.

For those folks that aren’t foodies and may not have heard of it before, arugula is, per wikipedia’s guide, a form of cabbage  that is also known as salad rocket (fabulous name right?).  It is most often eaten raw or cooked as a leafy green veggie.  It’s got great stats too as it is rich in potassium (great for runners) and vitamin C.  It’s known for its rich, peppery flavor and an exceptionally pungent flavor for a leafy green.  That description is so apt – arugula has a fantastic flavor.

Enough about the green itself, onto the recipe.

Ingredients:

  • Arugula (enough to fill a salad bowl)
  • Olive oil (I usually use about 1/2 tsp.)
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Lemon juice
  • Freshly grated parmesan

IMG_3529

Directions

  1. Combine arugula and olive oil in a medium bowl.
  2. Add salt and pepper to taste.  A couple shakes will do.
  3. Squeeze half a lemon over the greens.
  4. Grate a few swipes of parmesan.  Just a pinch.
  5. Use a fork to thoroughly mix everything together.
  6. Eat it like it’s candy!

Okay that last one might be a stretch, but lately it’s been such a treat.  This simple salad is almost nothing on the P90X nutrition plan and delicious to boot.  I normally count it as 1/2 veggie, 1/4 fat, and 1/4 dairy with my portions.  A little goes a long way with the olive oil and cheese – you really don’t need much.

Enjoy!

-Kelly

Do you have any great arugula recipes to share?

2 Responses to “Recipe: Simple Arugula Salad!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cake Batter Protein Shake | Races, Reps, and Ramblings - May 15, 2013

    […] it comes to cooking or food prep, I like simple.  I mean really simple.  (Check out my simple salad or simple asparagus here).  I tend to be pretty lazy about food (it’s really a problem).  […]

  2. Recipe: Simple Egg Scramble | Races, Reps, and Ramblings - September 4, 2013

    […] I’ve worked to slowly add simple, quick recipes to my repertoire.  My simple asparagus and simple arugula are still some of my favorites that I rotate in pretty often.  Lately I’ve been switching up […]

Share your thoughts!

