Recipes: Best Asparagus Ever!

20 Mar

IMG_3519

I’m not a big foodie… maybe someday!  I’ve always wished I had the patience and dedication to become a great chef.  I think I still have time, right?   Truthfully, I’m really lazy when it comes to cooking.  I’d rather eat cheese and crackers than a proper dinner.  Yeah, it’s a challenge.  I’m still working on being a better eater!

This recipe is a winner in all aspects: healthy, fast, and delicious!  Adam and I make this at least once a week (okay- usually Adam does it).  When we first found the recipe, we made it 2 or 3 times that week!  So it’s definitely recipe true love.

Ingredients:

  • Fresh asparagus 
    • We use bulk fresh asparagus or the smaller bunches at Marsh/Kroger.
  • Olive oil
  • Freshly grated parmesan cheese
    • It’s worth it to buy the block of parmesan and grate it.
  • Salt
  • Pepper

Yeah – seriously… that’s it!

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Cut the asparagus into smaller pieces.  These pieces can be anywhere from 1.5-2 inches to 3-4 inches.  We’ve made the recipe with all sizes of asparagus pieces – even full…so the size is up to your creative discretion.
  3. In a medium sized bowl, mix asparagus and about 1 tablespoon olive oil (this depends on the amount of asparagus you have).  Essentially you need just enough to lightly coat the asparagus.  A little olive oil goes a long way!
  4. Add a couple shakes of salt and pepper.  You really don’t need much – just a bit for taste.  The first time we made it we used wayyy too much salt, so keep in mind that only a little is needed.
  5. Mix together to coat evenly.
  6. Spread evenly on a baking sheet, and bake for 12 minutes.
  7. Grate parmesan cheese onto asparagus and return to oven for 1 minute.  Again, just a little bit of cheese.  When we do this step it isn’t even enough to count as one portion of dairy.  Maybe around .5 to 1 oz of cheese.
  8. Enjoy!

Even someone pretty inept in the kitchen like me can do it!  :)  Also, originally the recipe called for cauliflower, but we substituted asparagus.  You can try this with many different veggies.  (Note: we did it with broccoli, and it wasn’t too great.)

Give it a try and enjoy – I guarantee you will be glad you did!

Happy eating!

-Kelly

2 Responses to “Recipes: Best Asparagus Ever!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cake Batter Protein Shake | Races, Reps, and Ramblings - May 15, 2013

    […] to cooking or food prep, I like simple.  I mean really simple.  (Check out my simple salad or simple asparagus here).  I tend to be pretty lazy about food (it’s really a problem).  Because I want to […]

  2. Recipe: Simple Egg Scramble | Races, Reps, and Ramblings - September 4, 2013

    […] the past few months I’ve worked to slowly add simple, quick recipes to my repertoire.  My simple asparagus and simple arugula are still some of my favorites that I rotate in pretty often.  Lately […]

Share your thoughts!

