P90X Updates: Dealing with Lack of Motivation

7 May

With all this running, racing, and knee talk am I even still on the P90X bandwagon??  The good news: I sure am!  The even better news: Just two weeks until I’m a P90X grad!  Can I get a heck yeah?  Because of vacation and racing, Adam and I decided (months ago) to push our P90X program back to accommodate these events.

What’s up next?

Just two weeks to keep pushing it!  Now we have only one more week of ‘hard’ workouts: lifting, kenpo, ab ripper, and one week of ‘recovery’ workouts with yoga, core, and stretching.  This week is essentially the last week to really ‘bring-it.’  It means pushing play and pushing the reps/weight.  Unfortunately, I can’t do Plyo or Legs/Back now due to my knees, but I will do some substitution with Kenpo/Chest and Back.  Honestly I’m pretty bummed that I can’t finish P90X with all the appropriate workouts.  But I keep trying to remind myself that this is about more than just 90 days.  Life happens and injuries happen; it’s all about making modifications and making it work. I’m looking forward to seeing my results and doing the fit test at the end of this.

How am I feeling?

Well, to be perfectly honest I’m feeling pretty unmotivated.  I don’t know if other runners out there can vouch for me, but when you finish a half or full marathon…you sort of don’t want to do anything.  Or at least that’s what has been happening with me.  I kind of want to just eat ice-cream and watch movies (yeah…it’s bad).  This isn’t really the type of attitude needed for the last two weeks of P90X.  So I have been fighting my desires and haven’t eaten ice cream (yet ;)) and keep pushing play.  This morning’s workout was the first since Saturday and let’s just say it was a little rough.  I’m still pretty sore from the race so I found myself disappointed that I couldn’t match my previous weeks’ reps.

After the workout, Adam tried to give me a pep talk, but I thwarted his every effort with a pouty attitude.  Once I got out of my “I don’t want to work out” funk I did some brainstorming on how to feel excited and encouraged about the last two weeks.

Pushing yourself to workout when you (really) don’t feel like it:

  • Look up some fun quotes and infographics to get the juices flowing again.  Here are some of my favorites:

 Believe

.

  • If you have a workout partner, remember that this isn’t about you.  Not wanting to workout lets your partner down plain and simple.  I don’t want to be that guy!
  • If you don’t have a partner, remember that this isn’t about you.  Not wanting to workout lets down your family, friends, and loved ones that want you to be the healthiest, best version of you!  If you can’t get motivated for you, get motivated for them.  They want you around for a long time!
  • Remember what it feels like when you don’t workout.  Yeah – I don’t want to go back to that.  Lethargic, uncomfortable, and definitely not the best version of me.
  • Keep it simple and celebrate small successes!  This week my body is just plain tired.  Instead of beating myself up for not being able to run or put down huge rep numbers, I’m trying to focus on just doing it.  Just working out is the goal.  Go on walks or hikes, anything that will get you moving!

Other Changes

This past week I got my next goal in the mail: my Insanity Challenge Kit!  It was on sale in April and even though I wasn’t planning on starting it until the end of May I figured I’d take advantage of the sale :) This puppy has been burning a hole in my pocket for a few days and I caved today and opened up my Shakeology (see my review here).  I wasn’t planning to start Shakelogy until I started Insanity, but I couldn’t resist!  With my lack of motivation since Saturday I figured shaking up my routine (pun not intended) and using Shakeology for the last 2 weeks of P90X might help too!

photo(7)

So excited!

I have my first PT appointment tonight for my knees and will likely get more of a timeline for no high intensity workouts :( This means I will have to push off Insanity for a few weeks, but I’m still excited I got it in the mail.  It will be ready once I get clearance from my MD.  I’ll have to figure out a new plan that includes lots of low intensity workouts until my knees are ready for something as intense as Insanity.  Fingers crossed I get good news tonight!

Happy motivation!

-Kelly

Help!  How do you stay motivated and focused?

4 Responses to “P90X Updates: Dealing with Lack of Motivation”

  1. Amanda @ Peanut Butter & Adrenaline May 8, 2013 at 10:23 am #

    Yeah, the unmotivated thing is definitely going for me right now. I just finished a half on the 28th, and I gave myself two weeks to recover, but I know I can run. I just don’t want to! Next week, I’m going to give myself a kick in the rear to get it together with a few days designated for running and cross training.

    • racesrepsramblings May 8, 2013 at 1:08 pm #

      I’m glad to hear I’m not the only one! :) It’s always good to build in time to rest, so it sounds like you’re being smart about it! Hopefully by next week you’ll be feeling ready to get back at it. Usually I feel better after I get back in my routine again. Hopefully both of our motivation levels will improve soon!

  2. atwostoreyhome May 9, 2013 at 9:06 am #

    Ooo good topic! At any given time (post race or not,) there’s at least 30% of me that would prefer to stay in my pajamas, watch movies, and eat ice cream all day. Hah! When that desire is especially strong I remind myself that, so far in my life, I have NEVER regretted a workout. I’ve never thought, “Gosh, I wish I’d just watched movies all day,” and even if all I do is step out the front door and walk for 30 minutes, I will feel better than if I hadn’t!

    • racesrepsramblings May 9, 2013 at 10:32 am #

      I love it!! That is such a true phrase – I saw an infographic with that recently “Oh I really regret that workout” – said no one ever. ;)

      That always inspires me to get in gear! And you’re right – any movement is better than nothing at all. Even something as simple as a walk gets me moving and usually I come back feeling refreshed and happy I went!

Share your thoughts!

