2013 Fitness Goals

29 Apr

While resting and relaxing on vacation this past week I decided to become a little more concrete with my goals for fitness.  I feel like I’ve already come so far and accomplished so much with P90X and my race training…and I want to keep going!  These ideas have been floating around in my head for a few weeks/months, but I’m finally ready to put them to paper.  Adam and I each made our goals and discussed what we’re hoping to achieve before 2014.  I wanted to keep things very manageable and reasonable – it’s far better to exceed than not reach a goal.  I’m a little late for January, but without further ado, my fitness goals:

  1. Finish P90X – successfully become a P90X grad!  Take fit test, pics, and all that jazz.
  2. Complete Insanity – Start May 28
  3. Run a sub 2-hour half marathon
  4. Run 3 half marathons
  5. Complete another round of P90X

I’m really excited to have a “next step” once I finish P90X and my upcoming half-marathons: Insanity!  This is another at-home fitness program from Beachbody (the same maker as P90X).  The program is similar in intensity as P90X (more of a cardio focus though), but a little less time commitment (under an hour) and only 2 months vs. 3.  The biggest complication will be losing my training partner.  With Adam moving to Nashville, I will have to forge on alone in my home workouts like Insanity or P90X.  It will be a challenge, but I’ve had many weeks to get used to the idea.  I’m hoping by the time comes I’ll be ready and mentally prepared to make the journey ‘alone.’  I can always share the updates here! :)

I’ve also really enjoyed combining strength training and running so I know I want to continue with that. It’s actually really exciting to see how far I can push myself physically.  For a while I had gotten used to being out of shape and sort of accepted it as ‘the new norm.’  I’m thrilled to see a life of activity and fitness as my normal – I want to see what I’m capable of accomplishing.  Before starting this journey there were so many things I didn’t really think of as possible – pull-ups, a million push-ups, running miles in the 7’s again.  Hold onto your hats kids, let’s see where this thing goes!

This is just plain hilarious.

10 Responses to “2013 Fitness Goals”

  1. finchnwren April 29, 2013 at 7:13 pm #

    Thanks for liking our protein bars post! Your goals are very inspiring!

    • racesrepsramblings April 30, 2013 at 11:11 am #

      Thanks so much! I’m very curious to try those bars – fantastic stats…hard to come by for sure!

  2. themovingmuncher April 30, 2013 at 8:59 am #

    P90X looks intense! But awesome! Would love to run a marathon one day, currently building up the courage to consider doing a half :)

    • racesrepsramblings April 30, 2013 at 11:09 am #

      Yeah – great way to describe P90X. Intense for sure, but it’s a great program. I’ve been surprised with how much I’ve enjoyed it. And you should definitely think about signing up for a half! You never know – you might love it!! The timing is good now as there are many half-marathons in the fall, which allows for summer training…much nicer than freezing in the winter! :)

      • beabetteryoufitness April 30, 2013 at 1:29 pm #

        Hey!!! You’re going to start Insanity, huh? Awesome! Are you a beachbody coach, too? If not, you should be!

        • racesrepsramblings April 30, 2013 at 1:55 pm #

          Yep! I’m excited to start – I’ve enjoyed P90X so this seems like a good fit. It looks like you’ve had great results with Les Mills. I’m not a beachbody coach – I’ve thought about it, but I kind of like remaining non-biased when I share my experiences with the program. Who knows – maybe someday! :)

          • beabetteryoufitness April 30, 2013 at 2:24 pm #

            I understand. A lot of coaches start out like you–loving the programs as a customer and then realizing they could make money and own their own business! I would love to have you on my team! Do you currently work with a coach? If not, I can put you into a P90X and Insanity challenge group! I’m excited to see your progress!!

            • racesrepsramblings April 30, 2013 at 2:46 pm #

              Thanks for the info! I think at this point I’m not really ready to join a group. I will definitely keep this in mind though if it’s something I’d like to get involved with! Again – thanks for the offer!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Dreaded Runner’s Knee! | Races, Reps, and Ramblings - May 1, 2013

    […] not sure what my next step will be exercise-wise.  I’m not sure how much this will affect my 2013 Fitness Goals.  Really I’m just trying to process the information.  Let’s see.  Essentially any […]

  2. P90X Updates: Dealing with Lack of Motivation | Races, Reps, and Ramblings - May 7, 2013

    […] past week I got my next goal in the mail: my Insanity Challenge Kit!  It was on sale in April and even though I wasn’t […]

Share your thoughts!

