Ch ch ch changes!

5 Feb

It’s been a whirlwind of a few weeks!  With the wedding behind us I’m now focusing on the next major life event: relocating to Nashville, TN.  I’ve made it to The Music City safely and there are no words to express my excitement and contentedness.  It’s just so amazing to be reunited with Adam and live in the same apartment.  We keep reminding each other “Hey I’m your wife/husband and we live here together.” Pinch me. Okay…yeah, vomit.  Sorry.  But seriously, we’re just so thrilled.  All is right again!

photo (4)

Hooray! Officially a Tennessee resident!

Adam is working nights and I still haven’t started my new job yet, so we’re in this strange twilight world land all the time.  But… I’ve been using the time to do all the work that you sort of forget about when you get married: thank you notes, name change stuff, moving stuff, etc. etc.  Most of it requires a lot of paperwork and running around, but I’ve made some decent progress and I’m feeling good!

photo (3)

We also drink out of these fancy glasses when we’re bored.

Speaking of work… I found a new job and I’ll start in a couple weeks!  The position involves a LOT of travel, which I’m excited/scared about.  I used to travel a ton for another job and it makes ‘balance’ in life a very tricky thing.  HOW WILL I BRING MY WEIGHTS IN MY SUITCASE?!?  A crisis I still haven’t settled.  I know being healthy on the road will be a challenge, but something that will force me to be more creative than ever before!  Plus I’m so used to this whole ‘healthy’ thing and I love it.  Well, I love how it makes me feel.  That’s something I definitely don’t want to give up.

Speaking of healthy… as promised I am just giving myself a get out of jail free card and just enjoying food to my heart’s desire.  Honestly the week or so before the wedding I was pretty stressed and didn’t do a good job of “everything in moderation.”  I didn’t really purposefully deprive myself, but let’s just say I was really ready for some pizza after the wedding.  (Note: we did order a pizza the Sunday after the wedding).  But… now that I’ve had my fill of chocolate and chipotle and deliciousness I have been reminded of why I generally try to eat well in the first place (And why I stay away from deprivation: it just makes you want more).  You. Just. Feel. Better.  I’ve toned down the candy this week and I’m already feeling a bit more like myself.  Adam and I are planning to start P90X3 one of these weeks before I start my job and I’m looking forward to getting back into a routine.  Though this mental break from exercise and meal planning has been welcome.  I’m a huge fan of planned breaks – it always is a good reminder of why you put in the work to stay healthy in the first place!  Though I do feel a bit rebellious to admit how little I’m exercising and how much chocolate I’m eating. Wahaha. Everybody needs a break right?? :)

And finally… my “bridal style” has been featured on a blog!  I know, right!?  Nuts.  I’m planning on doing a couple wedding posts once I get gather the energy to do it right :)  So in the meantime, check out the blog post with a few of the professional shots!! :)

View More: http://emilyweisphotography.pass.us/kellyandadamblacktiebride

Yay fancy wedding pictures!

 

 

http://www.theblacktiebride.com/black-tie-bride-style-kelly-at-the-fountainview/

Have a great week!

-Kelly

21 Responses to “Ch ch ch changes!”

  1. Ryoma Sakamoto February 5, 2014 at 7:39 am #

    Hello! !
    OMOTENASHI from Japan! There are a lot of great things from the perspective of foreigners also a matter of course for the Japanese.

    Ryoma.Japan

  2. Liz February 5, 2014 at 9:00 am #

    Congrats on the job. Resistance bands are great for arms and legs and weigh very little. Good luck!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings February 14, 2014 at 2:58 pm #

      Thanks Liz! I had forgotten that I do have some resistance bands, so I think that will definitely be the way to go. Thanks!

  3. sincerelylily February 5, 2014 at 10:41 am #

    ahhhh YOU WERE FEATURED ON A BLOG!?!? I just clicked through and just…. wow. You two should be models. All the shots of you are beyound stunning. Kudos to your photographer. Good luck choosing which ones to frame and print, etc….. :)

    Yes, paperwork post-wedding seems like a huge task but at least you have a little down time while in between jobs. THat is great that you landed a job too!!! And traveling??? Fun! Generally, if you are staying overnight and doing hotels, you can usually get acess to a gym and utilize it. Or do walks. Or do exercises in your hotel room, you can find a lot of neat ones online for using a chair or just the floor.

    I love the HIs and Her glasses!! And yes to pizza and candy…. we had speedwork last night with run club and after went out for pizza. I was thinking ‘hmmm probably shouldn’t eat pizza after a hard workout’ but what the heck- it was deliscious and ate several pizzas. Yummy to doing that every now and then.

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings February 14, 2014 at 3:01 pm #

      Hahah I know, right?! Kind of insane. I actually laughed out loud with my photographer told me about it. But, honestly if it helps another future bride figure out her look than I’m all for it! We printed off a couple shots this week, but man it was HARD! And that was just 5x7s!

      I booked my first hotel and it looks like it has a gym so I should be able to get down there or do some videos in my room if there is space. I just have to make it a habit and get used to the change. No excuses! ;)

      Pizza is so delicious. That’s all there is to it. Though Adam and I both have been unbelievably sluggish and lazy-eating the last month. Last night we both were like ‘we need to be active healthy people again.’ It’s getting borderline ridiculous. But I do think giving yourself breaks (and pizza) makes it that much easier to keep being active!

  4. Britta February 5, 2014 at 1:08 pm #

    So many changes, but changes ARE WONDERFUL! Congrats on the job and I am sure you will find balance with work, life, exercise etc.. just takes some time! I think pizza was well deserved after your wedding.. pizza is just necessary and well, why not if its what you are craving? Your wedding pictures are STUNNING so far. I absolutely adore the one where you guys are in the library.. wowza. Amazing.

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings February 14, 2014 at 3:04 pm #

      Thank you ma’am! And you’re right… it’s just going to take some time to adjust and get used to a new routine. And it may even push me to try some new things activity-wise, which is always a good thing! And so glad you liked the pictures, woohoo! :)

  5. anna February 5, 2014 at 2:00 pm #

    You look *stunning* in your bridal pic – congrats on the feature and on the new job!! What exciting times for you. Are hotel gyms sufficient for you, or do you prefer your own weights? That’s how I usually get in a workout (if there isn’t a gym chain that I belong to around), though sometimes they’re not the best selection. I know what you mean about deprivation – I’m trying to eat cleaner just so I can look decent for the big day, but man oh man, I’m getting a carne asada burrito as soon as this is done with (then most likely regretting eating something so heavy afterward. ;)). Good luck with all of your transitions!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings February 14, 2014 at 3:05 pm #

      Aww thank you so much!! Lots of changes, but yes lots and lots of excitement! :) Honestly, I prefer my own weights just so I can do my videos in my hotel room (I’ve considered stealing the hotel ones for an hour or so hahah). But I think I need to be open to other forms of fitness with my new schedule. I also have resistance bands so I think that could work too. And ENJOY that burrito when you’re done – it’s going to be amazing haha! :)

  6. FitnessFatale February 5, 2014 at 4:36 pm #

    Congrats on the new job!

    I can totally relate to the pinch me thing! I still feel that way and I’ve been married 4 months! :)

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings February 14, 2014 at 3:06 pm #

      Thanks so much! And I’m SO glad that I get to look forward to this feeling for a few more months at least – it’s just so fun. :)

  7. Catherine @ A Two Storey Home February 5, 2014 at 5:52 pm #

    Yaaay! It made me so happy to see this pop up on my Reader today! I’m glad you guys are adjusting and getting into a groove and loving it! Congrats on the new job! That is fantastic. Do you have one of those resistance bands/tubes with the handles? Those are great for traveling because they are light, don’t take up much space, and you can do a lot of strength work with them!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings February 14, 2014 at 3:08 pm #

      Aww I’m so glad it made you happy! I feel like such a total slacker these days blog-wise. But life happens. We’re definitely starting to get used to our new routine, it’s awesome. Being married is pretty sweet. :) I do have some resistance bands, honestly I always shied away from using them – but I think at this point it’s my best bet and a great way to make sure I get resistance training in. Time to dust them off ;)

  8. fitnessmeetsfrosting February 6, 2014 at 2:58 pm #

    Gorgeous photos!! And congrats on the new job! Sounds exciting (and a bit scary, as any new job can be)!

  9. Lucy @ Lucy On The Lookout February 7, 2014 at 5:30 pm #

    Aww the last photo of you and Adam in the snow is so lovely! Glad to hear you are settling well, GOOD LUCK with the new job, I’m sure you’ll be fab! The great thing about the blogging fitness world is that there are always quick workouts you can do even in your hotel room and using your body weight (at least that’s what I plan to do at home due to being very time-pressured these days!)

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings February 14, 2014 at 3:11 pm #

      Thank you ma’am!! Yes, lots of exciting (and a bit scary) things coming up. I’m sort of looking forward to a month from now when all the newness isn’t quite so new!! And you are right – there are SO many quick hotel workouts I discovered that would work perfectly. Now I really have no excuse ;)

  10. jojo922 February 7, 2014 at 11:07 pm #

    Yay!!!! Thanks for sharing your photos! Love the snowscape one of you two!!!

  11. Meghan @ fitnesscrEATures February 12, 2014 at 11:53 am #

    OMG congratulations again to the most gorgeous couple ever. And YAY for living together. That’s not a vomit moment, that’s a “OMG SO DAMN ADORABLE” moment. You guys are awesome together, clearly, and I’m so happy for you!
    Now, next matters. I will be in Nashville in late April…. Just sayin. :)Those pictures on that other blog are stunning. You have the most classic beauty ever and it translates perfectly into those pictures. ENJOY your newly married life! :)

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings February 14, 2014 at 3:15 pm #

      Awww so glad you enjoyed the pics!! So fun and YES, you are right.. living together is double YAY. So much fun.

      So…Nashville in April.. well. I live here :) We should find a 5K or 1 mile race (because I could probably do that distance) and meet up!! Will it be on a weekend?

      Hope all is well!

Share your thoughts!

