Make-up and Hair Trials!

8 Jan

Today is the LAST double digit countdown day before our wedding.  Did you read that!?  Just TEN days to go.  Seriously, where did the time fly?  I feel like it has gone by in an instant, yet also has slowly and painfully crawled by…  if that’s possible.  On the wedding front things are feeling fairly under control (winning).  My new full time job is the wedding/moving/packing, and my days have been very full.  It’s a nice full though.  I’m plenty busy, but I’m working toward an awesome and exciting deadline.  (and the incentive prize is a week in Key West!)

Today and yesterday I’ve spent labeling, boxing, and organizing all of our reception decorations.  Adam and I have been doing them all ourselves, and borrowed most of the them from a close friend.  We are having family/friends set it all up the morning before the wedding  so I’m working meticulously to make things as clear and as organized as possible (gosh I wish I could set it all up myself on Friday, grrr).  My boxes include labels with table numbers, pictures of the final setup look, and room layout.  Essentially, I’m trying to make it fool proof.  And more importantly, easy on our helpers.  We are SO appreciative of them helping that we want the setup process to be as stress free and “fun” as possible.

photo (11)

Ooo the start of fun wintery centerpieces!

Another big task this week is sending out individual timelines to all involved parties.  Which in our case, is a lot of people.  I haven’t completed this task, but I’ve made a good dent and should have them all out by Friday.  I’ve helped out with many weddings, and there is nothing more stressful than not knowing what is expected of you.  These timelines should help people understand the key points where they are needed (ie. alerting family of family photos, alerting singers of rehearsal times).  Here’s to an easy day!

Who knew there were SO many logistics in planning a wedding!?  I do a lot of organization and planning in my work-life, so I feel skilled to handle the job… but holy moly, I can TOTALLY see why people hire wedding planners.  I honestly thought they were a frivolous luxury, but if you aren’t an organizer or don’t have a lot of helpers, it really would be a huge, huge help.  Especially if you have a lot of moving pieces like ours has turned out to have…oops.

We are hiring a day-off coordinator (different than a planner turns out) who will help us set up/tear down the reception and be there to put out any fires.  We found our gal through a friend of a friend.  She’s super sweet and is in college working to build her wedding experience portfolio.  It’s a win/win for both of us (not super expensive for us, and lots of experience for her!).  Best money spent, I feel so relieved I don’t have to bark orders in my wedding gown.  Nicely bark.  Efficiency people.  But even sweetly barking brides in a wedding dress somehow come off as a Bridezilla.  We definitely don’t want people to think I’m cray – I’m just passionate about organization!

photo

My 3rd most important task this week: checking for wedding blizzards.

Anyways, it’s been a fun week, and I’ve truthfully been so busy it hasn’t really sunk in that my last day of work was Friday.  I still feel full-time!   Full-time WEDDING!

One exciting piece of the wedding process recently came together and I’m just thrilled with the outcome.  I had my hair and make-up trials!  WOOT!  Now I know what I’m going to look like.  That’s a pretty fun feeling to be able to picture the day with those details.

Make-up

Because I’m a make-up snob I went with the highly rated (with the highly corresponding price) make-up place here in Indy.  And after my make-up trial, I’m thrilled that I did.  I’ve always felt like I could do a pretty solid job on my make-up, but when I walked out of my trial I felt like royalty (WAY better than I could’ve done).  She did a super job and really focused on the things I wanted: strong brows, even fresh skin, a deep lip, fabulous lashes (individual lashes, not the strip).  I can’t wait to see the final product on W-day!

photo(139)

Oh. my. brows. I love eyebrows.

Hair

Surprisingly, I ended up being pickier on my hair trial than I was for my make-up trial.  I think this is because I didn’t have a 100% clear vision on the look.  I knew roughly how I wanted, but couldn’t articulate the exact hairstyle.  I ended up having two hair trials because my lady is so sweet and accommodating.  The first trial went well, but I ended up thinking it was a bit too simple.  I wanted something with a bit of “Wow” factor without screaming “hey I’m going to prom!”  My thinking was old hollywood glamour.  The vintage look is very popular now and I’ve always styled my hair in vintagey swoops, that I knew it would be  a good fit.  Plus a lot of those hair styles are very classic and elegant which is exactly the adjectives I’m going for!

photo 1

Front!

photo 5 (1)

Side! oooo look at all that lovely swoopage.

photo (9)

Some soft details that hopefully don’t scream PROM!

So what do you think??  (Note: it’s too late to have a bad opinion, if you hate it lie like you’ve never lied before.  IT’S STUNNING KELLY, would work quite well).

Excited to see the final combined result??  Hard to believe it’s just around the corner!  My vision of “classic, elegant” bride is coming together and I’m so happy with the results so far!

Hairpiece

My final detail that I just finished up today is a hair clip made from pieces of my Mom’s veil/headpiece.  I’m so happy with my handiwork and it will be SO special wearing a bit of the SAME thing she wore down the aisle. Oh gosh, the tears are already coming.  I’m going to be a mess.  This puppy will tuck into the back of my hair and peek out.

photo (10)

I’m a crafty lady.

Anyways, wedding progress is great and I’m still alive! :)  More later and hope you’re having an awesome week!

Kelly

25 Responses to “Make-up and Hair Trials!”

  1. Brittany January 9, 2014 at 12:07 am #

    OH MY GOSH TEN MORE DAYS! You seriously look STUNNING IN THESE photos..with AND without the makeup!! LOVE LOVE LOVE I cannot wait to see photos from the big day!

  2. Events by L January 9, 2014 at 2:54 am #

    Awe! You are going to be such a stunning bride!

    You must be so excited for your big day! We loved reading this post not just as a wedding planners, but because you are like so many brides that don’t fully understand all that is involved in a wedding day until the day is right around the corner.

    At Events By L we offer packages customized to each bride and our day of coordination package is very popular for brides as they suddenly realize they can’t be the bride taking photographs, cutting cake, having their first dance, and enjoying their Big Day while also coordinating what time the flowers are arriving and the soup is being served.

    We include an extensive timeline in our day of package, which takes several hour to put together to meet the vision of our brides. Putting together a timeline that will run smoothly takes a lot of experience in planning weddings, or a HUGE amount of luck.

    Enjoy your Big Day! You are going to make a gorgeous bride, and we can’t wait to see pictures of your beautiful occaion!

    All the best!

    Cheers~

  3. Ryoma Sakamoto January 9, 2014 at 9:04 am #

    あけまして おめでとうございます!!!
    This is what Japanese is should be between the New Year.
    Holidays in Japan.
    On the morning of the New Year’s day,
    the whole family get together and wish one
    another good health and to celebrate
    the coming of a new year by drinking a special kind of rice wine
    called otoso.
    The dishes,we prepare for the New Year’s holidays
    are called osechi.
    Most Japanese visit Shinto shrines or Buddist temples.
    We pray to the deities that we will live safely through the
    coming year.
    These New Year visits to shrines and temples are called hatsumode.
    We, adults give otoshidama-a New Year’s present-
    to children. In most cases, it’s money.
    This is thought as a gift from the gods to encourage
    children to do their best.
    いつも ありがとう。感謝!!!
    Ryoma

  4. Change of Pace January 9, 2014 at 9:26 am #

    Your hairpiece is stunning, and I truly do LOVE your hairdo! I love the side detailing!
    Can’t believe it’s here so soon! You must be beyond excited!
    I love that your making a timeline. That’s actually brilliant for people so they know what they need to do and when!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings January 27, 2014 at 2:20 pm #

      Hooray!!! So glad you liked it – I was pretty happy with how it all came together. Everything worked out so smoothly and having those timelines definitely helped!

  5. beil4 January 9, 2014 at 12:01 pm #

    I am loving the make-up, the hair and the hair piece! It all looks perfect!! I can’t believe 10 days! Just remember to breath!

  6. Britta January 9, 2014 at 1:28 pm #

    bahhh 10 DAYS?!?! That’s crazy but also so incredibly exciting. I will have my fingers crossed that you guys don’t have a wedding blizzard on the big day! And since you are making everything fool proof.. I am sure everything will go smoothly on the day of. Love the make up, LOVE LOVE the hair.. you are going to make such a stunning bride and I cannot wait to see pictures!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings January 27, 2014 at 2:21 pm #

      I know!? Can you believe it! Goodness does time fly. And we lucked out and got SNOW on our wedding day. It was amazing. Not too much but got some fabulously snowy pictures – I can’t wait to see them. :)

  7. anna January 9, 2014 at 5:11 pm #

    OMG, just saw your side column that it’s in NINE days!! So exciting for you, Kelly! I LOVE the make-up, as well, and the hair is elegant! Did you go with air brush? :) I agree, too, about the coordinator (and having a planner, though I think I’m too cheap for that lol) – I want to have fun and would rather just have someone else take care of the logistics the day of. That’s a great idea about timelines, as well – I was wondering when to give them out, but I think beforehand is a great idea. YAY, it’s all coming together, so happy for you!!! :)

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings January 27, 2014 at 2:22 pm #

      So happy you like the make-up and hair! It definitely worked for my “elegant” theme I was going for. I did go with the airbrush make up and I really liked it. It was smooth and stayed on wonderfully. The coordinator was also the best money spent – worked out perfectly! All in all, a terrific day! Can’t wait to read about yours coming up here SOON!

  8. FitnessFatale January 9, 2014 at 9:35 pm #

    Omg your makeup looks stunning!!! You are going to be a beautiful bride and have a very well organized wedding! You sound just like me! You will NOT regret that day of coordinator!

    Enjoy every moment and soak it all in!! It’ll be the best day of your life!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings January 27, 2014 at 2:23 pm #

      So glad you like the look!! It all came together day of, thank goodness for trials :) And you’re right – I did NOT regret having the coordinator on the day, it was PERFECT. Can’t imagine not having her. It all really came together!

  9. sincerelylily January 12, 2014 at 9:14 pm #

    YOUR MAKEUP IS TO DIE FOR. I love it. It is not too much but enough – and your lips and brows…. I actually might print this off and bring it to my next wax appt – I love them!!! your hair is gorgeous. A coordinator is such a good idea- can’t go wrong. We have one for day of, to make sure the reception is set up smoothly and perfectly b/c there aint no way im doing any of that! lol I think it’ll take a huge responsiblity and worry away from you.

    YOU ARE GOING TO BE MARRIED BY THIS TIME NEXT WEEK!!!!!! gahhahhahahah
    I cannot wait for you and for pictures- you will be stunning. Just stunning. xoxo

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings January 27, 2014 at 2:25 pm #

      Eeeee glad you like the make-up! I was so thrilled with it. Elegant but not overdone was what I was going for. Hahahah I love it – please let me know if you print that sucker off, I will feel truly honored! Hahah I love eyebrows. A little too much maybe. Very glad you have the day of coordinator, that was key for us… made the day more relaxing. It was such a great day!

  10. Liz January 13, 2014 at 1:23 pm #

    Woo hoo!!! Only a few more days to go. Enjoy the moments and don’t stress. Congrats!

  11. Asia January 15, 2014 at 1:37 pm #

    BEAUTIFUL!!! I love your hair & makeup! Even though I’m not getting married until 10/18, I’m getting my makeup trial done on Sat for our engagement photo shoot! haha. I might have to steal some of your inspiration because it looks stunning. Congratulations in advance! It’s almost time!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings January 28, 2014 at 5:32 pm #

      Thank you thank you!!! I’m so glad you like the look! And feel free to steal away!! :) I hope that the session went well – can’t wait to see the pictures!!!

  12. Meghan @ fitnesscrEATures January 15, 2014 at 4:53 pm #

    OMG you’re getting married soon. I CAN NOT WAIT and I don’t even know you IRL! You’re going to be such a stunning bride, like the most classically beautiful and exquisite bride EVER. Enjoy every moment you lovely lady – you and Adam are going to start your lives together soon! <3<3 So much excitement for you!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings January 27, 2014 at 2:26 pm #

      Aww you are too sweet!! It ended up being an awesome, awesome day. Can’t wait until the real pics come back… I guess we’ll just have to be patient together ;)

  13. Lucy @ Lucy On The Lookout January 21, 2014 at 9:53 am #

    I’ve said it already on twitter but…………… Happy Marriage Day!!!! (a.k.a. Congratulations!) Hope you and Adam had a lovely day and are kicking back on a kick ass honeymoon. So happy for you guys, you’re winning top points for cutest couple so far in 2014 x x x

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings January 27, 2014 at 2:27 pm #

      Wohoo!! Thanks lady!! It was just perfection! And I must say I’m pretty thrilled for winning cutest couple contest so far. Gotta love a little competition ;)

Share your thoughts!

