Sometimes All You Need is a Break

6 Nov

After returning from my whirlwind Bachelorette weekend I was excited to get started with P90X.  After finishing 90 days of ChaLean Extreme on Friday, I was pumped and ready for the next challenge.  Well… insert a little bit of standby travel drama and suddenly it’s Tuesday morning before I’m back home for a workout.  All my plans to complete my fitness test and my first whole week of P90X sort of crumbled.  Suddenly I didn’t have time to go to the grocery store (being delayed 24 hours can put quite a kink in the week!), and I needed more days in the week to get my schedule accomplished.  Throw in sleep deprivation from a fun filled amazing weekend (yes, worth it ;)), and I had the recipe for complete P90X failure.

photo(121)

One of my fav bachelorette gifts. Oh the perks of getting married in winter!

Instead of following my own advice of waiting until you’re really ready to begin P90X, I just jumped in and tried to stay afloat.  There was a bit more sinking than swimming so I decided to redub the week “Pre-P90X week.”  And I’m so glad I did!  This translated to finishing 3 of the workouts which started to get my body and brain used to the intensity and length.  I also got the fit test out of the way (umm so much weaker when I don’t have Adam to compete against encourage me).  I managed to stay pretty active, but also allowed myself time to rest and relax from the weekend.  I took a few glorious days to sleep in and not feel guilt free about my workout.

This was my best “break week” yet!  Mainly because it was a break week of moderation.  I still worked out, but not every day.  This left me feeling refreshed, but not uber lethargic from no workouts at all.  Sometimes when I take a week or two off, I just totally jump off the wagon and IT’S SO HARD to get back on.  Moderation break week = awesome. Additionally, food-wise,  I enjoyed some Halloween splurges that were fun, without going overboard (which is sometimes what happens when I allow myself a break day or week).  This nice moderation allowed me to get more excited about P90X, but allow some freedom… the perfect blend.  Everything in moderation as my Mom always says!

photo(124)

Yes I will enjoy this cupcake in moderation.

This week I ‘started’ P90X strong and I’m feeling great about it.  I got my chopping party in on Sunday and have my food ready for the week (YUM!  I forgot how much I enjoyed eating by post-it note).  With my measurements and fit test out of the way, I’ve really been able to focus on the workouts.  Perfection.

It’s fun working out again with Tony, he really is pretty ridiculous.  So far the longer workouts aren’t killing me yet, but it’s definitely an adjustment (let’s just say I’ve been running late all week).  So far I have completed Chest and Back (push-up city), replaced Plyo with ChaLean Intervals (my knees are still bugging me, and I softly rolled my ankle last week in rehearsal… don’t even want to talk about it. ), and did Shoulders and Arms this morning.  Tomorrow brings 1.5 hours of yoga. Yikes.

I will say folks… I’m sore.  Even though I’ve been doing ChaLean Extreme, it’s amazing how different exercises bring out different muscles. This is why I love variety!  There is truly no end in sight to pushing my body.  I guess I thought at a certain point I’d have more trouble getting sore… simply not the case!  Hmm.. I wonder what it’s like for professional athletes??  Do you guys still get sore when you switch to a new workout?

In other news, just 3 weeks until White Christmas opens!  I’ve been tapping, dancing, singing, and acting my little heart out every night.  Things have sure been busy (most nights eating dinner in my car, thank goodness for food prep).  I constantly feel my to-do list growing (hello thank you notes!) and my time shrinking!  I imagine the poor little blog may suffer a bit, but I’ll do my best to document my progress with P90X (and of course the wedding, we all know that’s my favorite part!).  Just know I send my love even if I send no posts :) In two weeks I’ll see my sports med doc for ankle/knee issues, looks like I’ll be facing my demons after all.  A bit nervous about what he’ll say about my running future.  Say a little prayer.

photo(122)

The whole group heading to do some promotional photos!

And in wedding news… things are trucking right along!  Adam and I had our LAST premarital session Sunday (we’ve had to do like a million because we’re getting married at his family’s church, but I’m catholic so we need to do both… let’s just say fiasco).  We feel thoroughly “tested” (we had to take 2 multiple choice tests through the process) and know our strengths and weaknesses as a couple.  Knowledge is power right? As much of a “pain” it has been to fit in all these sessions, it is really nice going into things with every stone uncovered (okay many stones uncovered).  Should help make the whole marriage transition a bit easier!

Adam also finished up our wedding programs this week (I’m in LOVE) and we finished up “Our Story.”  This is a little book about how we met that we’ll have in the pews.  The story how we met is pretty unique and we thought it would provide some entertainment to our guests, and if you can’t tell…we both enjoy writing just a bit.  :)  Happy to have those big projects out of the way.  At this point I’m trying to switch my focus to the musical and off the wedding.  Easier said than done.

photo(123)

Our rings! We went with simple gold bands. Because we’re cheap, I mean traditional.

photo(120)

Happy after our last session! Sad because I had to say goodbye to Adam. :(

Anyways, have an awesome week!!  Power Yoga in the morning… GAH.  Wish me luck. 1.5 hours of yoga is a lot even for a ‘yoga-liker’ like me…I’m getting there Lucy and Catherine.  Slow and steady I’m starting to ‘like’ it.

-Kelly

28 Responses to “Sometimes All You Need is a Break”

  1. jojo922 November 7, 2013 at 1:08 am #

    Cute PJs!!!

  2. Brittany November 7, 2013 at 1:31 am #

    You’re a beast for doing all these Beachbody workouts! I love Insanity, but found that I did not like the schedule for it. So now I just do it in between other workouts.

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings November 7, 2013 at 12:36 pm #

      Yeah… it’s amazing what some crazy motivation can do. With the musical and the wedding (and the honey moon ;)) I want to be in the best shape I can be. My big fear is I will fall off the wagon once it’s all over. I need to sign up for something now to keep at it! And you are so smart to use Insanity how it works for you. I wish the Beachbody programs had modified schedules so you could add in other workouts you enjoy (fitness classes or running etc.). 4 days a week would be perfect!

  3. sincerelylily November 7, 2013 at 7:15 am #

    i looooove your rings! i think we are doing the same (we still have to pick them out). not cheap- but classy! simplicity is key :) i love that you guys have programs and a story for your guests…. ahhhhh so cute! youll need to post pics or send me some pics, im in the process of desiging and there are so many choices!

    im glad you found some balance in your rest days and days to recover and sleep in and just soak in life. i love those pjs, totally cute.

    good luck at power yoga! yikes 1.5 hours… i would probably not survive.

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings November 7, 2013 at 12:39 pm #

      Awww!! I’m so glad you like the rings!! We are so happy with them… and you’re right. The main motivation wasn’t entirely cheapness, we enjoy the simplicity of them. Timeless, classy. And we love the idea of ‘creating an heirloom’ with a simple gold ring to pass on. Neat. I can’t wait to wear it!!

      And the programs are just fabulous, at least in my opinion. We ended up doing one sheet, front/back. There’s lots of information but not a lot of inserts or extra stuff to hold. They are the same design as our invites, just different words. Once we get them totally final I’ll see if I can post a picture that will work. There are just so many names on it… it’s tricky! Or shoot me an email (on the about me page) and I’ll just send you real pics.

      And glad you approve of the PJs, they are fab. I survived Yoga, to my shock and delight! It was more like 1.25 hours… I skipped over some stuff that bugged my knee. Still success I say! :)

  4. hkzwart November 7, 2013 at 9:40 am #

    Still love following your journey! I just smile every time I read your blog. I’m glad you’re adjusting to Tony! I actually did a ChaLEAN workout yesterday (a bonus DVD thrown in with TurboFire) and yep, I’m sore!! Got to work out LIVE with Chalene this weekend and can I just say it was one of the most amazing experiences of my life?? Truly awesome! Keep at it and keep pressing play. Hope you enjoyed the yoga today! :)

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings November 7, 2013 at 12:41 pm #

      Aww I’m so glad you’re enjoying it – makes me so happy! :) And it is funny… being away from Tony and returning back makes him all the more ridiculous. It’s like… did he seriously just quote Forrest Gump during yoga!? So glad you got a chance to do a ChaLean workout – they are so great. HOW WAS CHALENE!?!? That’s so amazing, are you going to do a post about it? So amazing, I’m a bit jealous I must say ;) And I survived yoga, and almost enjoyed it. Amazing ;)

  5. beil4 November 7, 2013 at 10:12 am #

    I am doing P90X as well, and Tony just makes the workouts, I have watched the DVD’s so much I know were the jokes are! I love the hour long workouts though because I love the sore feeling!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings November 7, 2013 at 12:42 pm #

      Oh I know… it’s so great when you have to brace yourself because you know a ridiculous corny joke is coming up :) The perks of having P90X practically memorized! Hah! And agree, I enjoy the hour long workouts.. I just wish they were 1 hour flat, and not 1 hour and fifteen with ab ripper. Worth it I suppose!

      • beil4 November 7, 2013 at 2:03 pm #

        Oh yeah I agree with you on the plus ab ripper, if they could somehow do the hour with the ab workout that would be awesome!

        • kelly @ racesrepsramblings November 8, 2013 at 10:24 am #

          Dream come true. I think P90X 3 will be awesome… I hear it’s only 30 minutes TOTAL!

          • hkzwart November 8, 2013 at 10:35 am #

            Yep! 30 minutes…yahoo!! :)

          • beil4 November 8, 2013 at 6:01 pm #

            That is cool! I heard that as well!

  6. Catherine @ A Two Storey Home November 7, 2013 at 10:35 am #

    I love that you took a transition/semi-rest week! It sounds like you needed it after all the craziness of the (awesome) weekend! In situations like that, not only is it “okay” to take a little break, but I’m pretty sure it’s BETTER for you to do so.
    I went simple and traditional (cheap :)) with my wedding band too! The engagement ring is sparkly enough… we wouldn’t want to make anyone jealous, you know? ;-)
    I LOVE the White Christmas photo and can’t wait to see more!!

    • Catherine @ A Two Storey Home November 7, 2013 at 10:36 am #

      Oh, and I hope the 1.5 hour power yoga went well! I’ve never done anything beyond an hour, so you are rocking it!! :)

      • kelly @ racesrepsramblings November 7, 2013 at 12:46 pm #

        Well it was more like 1.25 hours because I skipped some things that bugged my knee/I don’t feel comfortable doing without an instructor (plough, wheel). But I survived!! Feeling soretastic today though.

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings November 7, 2013 at 12:45 pm #

      Oh girl, it was so great… so needed and you are right it’s BETTER that I did it. I feel relaxed and happy to push it as opposed to completely and utterly burned out.

      And glad to know I’m not the only simple traditional one out there! :) I agree… I really had trouble finding a ring that complimented my engagement ring. I really didn’t want to detract from it. I sort of like the contrast. And agree… we’re so kind for not causing any jealousy ;)
      And truthfully, I also like the idea of ONLY wearing the wedding band if I’m ever in a situation where I don’t want sparkles (volunteering, traveling, among extreme poverty, working outside, etc.).

      Hopefully I’ll have more White Christmas pics soon… it’s gonna start really amping up!! WOOT!

  7. anna November 7, 2013 at 6:00 pm #

    What a beautiful couple both of you make, and I love your bands! We had to take premarital classes, as well, and though it was interesting and we learned a lot about each other, I’m for sure glad it’s over. Best wishes on “White Christmas”, I hope it’s a hit. :)

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings November 8, 2013 at 10:27 am #

      Aww thanks so much, can’t wait to wear them! And agree with you on the premarital stuff.. nice to do, but what a relief to be through!! :) Thanks so much for the kind words, excited for the show!!

  8. Meghan @ fitnesscrEATures November 8, 2013 at 3:00 pm #

    Taking breaks in moderation is exactly the perfect thing to do. I couldn’t agree more… I have weeks like that too – where I just get behind and ain’t nothing changing about that! AND SO WHAT? You still worked out so you didn’t jump ship, like you said, so rock on lady face! I would have definitely fallen off the wagon after that amazing weekend you had.
    I wish I could come see your performance! Nothing whisks me out of reality like a good old fashioned live show. I can imagine you’re pretty amazing in it too! All dolled up like… ADORBZ!
    Those costumes seem awesome, especially those guys in the background! Lucky them! I love those rings, cheap or not! And yay for pre marriage stuff, I’ve heard that’s incredibly important. :) Have a gorgeous weekend, gorgeous friend!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings November 12, 2013 at 12:29 pm #

      Glad to know I’m not the only one that would’ve been tempted to fall off the wagon after a weekend like that ;) And as far as the show – holy moly, only 10 days til we open. So scared!! But don’t worry – I will post lots of pics so you can feel like you saw it! Yay for fun costumes, wigs, and make up!

  9. Lucy @ Lucy On The Lookout November 13, 2013 at 11:32 am #

    I’m a huge fan and advocate of break weeks (though yes, I agree, in moderation is the key!) – I think it is much easier mentally to keep on track for the long term by having some well deserved rest and enjoying some cake(!) etc :) Sounds like you’re doing great – hooray for yoga!!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings November 13, 2013 at 12:22 pm #

      True story!! The big thing is the long term goal – taking a break in order to continue on the big goal of living healthy for life. Totally worth it.

  10. Luv What You Do November 21, 2013 at 11:58 pm #

    I love the flannel jamies! I have a few pairs and I get so excited when it’s time to pull htem out!

Share your thoughts!

