One Year of Strength Training!

22 Oct

Just a quick hello to say “Happy Anniversary of Healthiness to Me!”  Yeah, what a narcissist. ;) But, but… I’m SO happy!  (And dare I say, shocked?)  I’m happy I’ve been able to keep up this lifestyle for a full year!!   When I started P90X exactly one year ago today I was hoping and praying it would be a long-term change.  I wanted to make some improvements in my health for the better.  And I’m beyond delighted that I’ve stuck with my new habits for a full year.  Here’s to the next year of fitness and healthy eating being a regular part of my life!

IMG_3669

Now my fridge looks like this! (Well, when I remember to grocery shop ;))

Kelly Back Oct-May(2)

At the start of my journey exactly one year ago today!

25 Responses to “One Year of Strength Training!”

  1. hkzwart October 22, 2013 at 7:47 am #

    You made me realize that I must be celebrating the same anniversary! Don’t remember the exact date but pretty sure it’s the same week as you. I, too, can’t believe where the year has taken me because of that decision to just push play one year ago. Happy Anniversary! :)

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings October 22, 2013 at 8:22 am #

      Well Happy Anniversary to you too!! :) I’ve actually had a lot of fun today already just thinking back on it. I’m a huge fan of celebrating – any reason will work. And this is a great reason!! Hope you’re celebrating too!

  2. sincerelylily October 22, 2013 at 7:58 am #

    whoot whoot! happy 1 year! keep it up :)

  3. Caitlyn October 22, 2013 at 8:49 am #

    love it!!! happy one year and many more. :) that side by side is awesome.

  4. crazycatruns October 22, 2013 at 9:10 am #

    Congratulations! You SHOULD be incredibly proud :) I found this post incredibly motivating. I have spent the last 2 years moving toward better health, but so easily slipping back into old habits. This was a nice “fire up” to keep moving forward! And a good reminder strength training has GOT to be at (or near) the top of my list this winter! Thanks for sharing :)

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings October 23, 2013 at 1:42 pm #

      Thank you so much!! And glad to help be a motivator! It’s actually been a motivator for me too :) Kind of a nice reminder of, oh yeah… there’s a reason I’m doing this! It has certainly helped me get my workouts in this busy week! Also I’m a huge fan of celebrating – so celebrate I shall!

  5. runnerrich October 22, 2013 at 9:47 am #

    Impressive looking fridge.

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings October 23, 2013 at 1:43 pm #

      Haha thank you! It doesn’t always look that way, but that’s the way it is after a chopping party!

  6. Liz October 22, 2013 at 10:05 am #

    Congrats!!

  7. mim October 22, 2013 at 10:45 am #

    Amazing and inspiring! Love reading you :)

  8. Catherine @ A Two Storey Home October 22, 2013 at 12:19 pm #

    So awesome!! I’m so glad you started, stuck with, and have been documenting your journey through this blog :)

  9. beil4 October 22, 2013 at 5:39 pm #

    So great! I am doing P90X again, I love the program because I love feeling strong not just being able to run and bike! Congrats again!!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings November 1, 2013 at 11:01 am #

      Thank you!! I started up P90X again too! I love it… it really does make you feel strong, what a feeling. Thanks :)

  10. Brittany October 23, 2013 at 9:58 am #

    YAHOO! Way to gooo, your transformation is amazing.

  11. Lucy @ Lucy On The Lookout October 23, 2013 at 6:30 pm #

    Amazing Kelly! You should be the poster girl for strength training – inspiring others as you go along as well :) !

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings October 25, 2013 at 8:23 am #

      Aww thanks Lucy! WOOT! Though I must say, it does always surprise me how much I enjoy it now. It’s become my preferred form of working out. Just proof that preferences can change. I NEVER thought I’d say that I like strength training and yoga. Look at me now!

  12. Luv What You Do October 25, 2013 at 11:39 am #

    I just started adding strength back into my life and you motivated me to do a before and after picture!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings October 29, 2013 at 11:13 am #

      Happy to help motivate!! And YES definitely do the before/after picture. I remember HATING taking the first one, but now I’m so happy I did!!

Share your thoughts!

