Once I Can Run Again

21 Oct

Hello Monday!  Hope you all had a great weekend.  This weekend got me thinking a lot about running.  Truthfully, I try not to think about running.  It is kind of depressing, and I don’t particularly enjoy moping about…though it does happen.  My knees are still giving me pain even after a visit to the Doctor and Physical Therapy last May.  I know, I know… I need to go back and get it figured out.  More tests = more time, more money.  Between planning a wedding, performing in a musical, and trying to stay sane (Adam, I’m seriously trying to not be crazy I swear) I’ve decided to just put off figuring out why my Runner’s Knee isn’t improving until after the wedding (let’s call it my February project).  There’s only so many things I can handle at once.  And truth be told, I’m afraid of what the doctor will say.  Will I need to give up running for good?  By delaying a diagnosis I’m holding onto the hope that this is just an injury that can be overcome once I have more time to deal with it.  Brilliant plan I’d say.  Denial.  Works every time.

photo(5)

Remember this happy runner girl after my 1:51 half? Yeah, me neither :(

Today was the first day in a while that I really allowed myself to think about running again.  At least think about it in a positive, hopeful sense.  I wanted to make some goals for ‘once I’m running again.’  Some of these may be impossible given whatever my knee injury might now be… but dare to dream right?

  1. Run some 5Ks.  Believe it or not, I’ve never run a 5K for time.  There was that one time I ‘illegally’ ran with my brother, but spent the race running backwards to keep him moving.  And hmm… I think that’s it!  I really want to see what I’m made of when it comes to shorter distances.  These may also be more knee friendly to me.
  2. Run another marathon.  My last full marathon was “pre-ankle injury” and I really want to get back out there and make it happen.  I have a goal of running Boston someday (yes, I realize that with my times I might have to wait until I’m 80), but I will never get closer to Boston if I never get back to marathons.
  3. Get better at hills.  Nashville is hilly, enough said.
  4. Improve my asthma.  I really want to get it under more control.  Right now I feel like it’s okay, but I’m hoping to really be able to say “yeah my asthma doesn’t affect my running potential at all.”  Not there yet.
  5. Do fun runs!  Whether they are 5Ks or half-marathons, I want to do more races with friends or groups of people.  I think those types of runs really shake up the “I’m running this for serious for time” and always help me remember the fun social aspect of running.
  6. Be a Runner’s Knee success story.  I’m not there yet, but I want to be able to say to other sufferers, “Hey!  You can get through it!  You can run again, it’s just a speed bump.”  Fingers crossed that will be me.

Happy Running!

Kelly

What are some of your running goals?  Have you ever overcome a big injury?

18 Responses to “Once I Can Run Again”

  1. Damien Clarkson October 21, 2013 at 7:41 am #

    After injury I did a month of exclusively 5K’s 3 times a week, I found it really rewarding and improved my times massively. Perhaps it is worth a go?

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings October 21, 2013 at 9:45 am #

      That definitely sounds like it’s worth a try! Lately I’ve gotten pain running even any distance.. but I’m sure once it’s healed it’ll be better to start out slow. Plus I wouldn’t hate the time improvement! :)

  2. katyhancock October 21, 2013 at 8:33 am #

    It’s good that you’re making goals for the future, and this way running is still involved with your life :)

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings October 21, 2013 at 9:46 am #

      Agreed! Somehow thinking about it and planning makes me still feel like I’m a runner even though I can’t run now! :)

  3. sincerelylily October 21, 2013 at 9:10 am #

    fun runs! yes! such a good goal! and hill work will PAY OFF, i assure you…. i recently moved to an area that is hily, so all my training incorporates them and i have PRed my last two races. I thank the hils.
    :)

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings October 21, 2013 at 9:46 am #

      Good to know!! I am sort of dreading the hills, but you’re so right… I know they will improve my running so much. Thanks for the evidence :)

  4. runnermoe October 21, 2013 at 9:59 am #

    Have you asked your sports med doctor about ORTHOvisc? It is a lubricant for knees and I had it done for my IT band syndrome. Pain was gone after 1st out of 4 injections! Now I was skeptical on it because nothing on the internet showed it was for IT band, but OMG it took my pain away for good. It is nothing like a cortisone injection. I did not want that. But you should check it out. I know how you feel not running! I was an irritable mess lol

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings November 1, 2013 at 11:00 am #

      Actually I have not! I’m planning on making an appointment with my sports med doc and I will have to ask him about that. Sounds like a miracle! Do you still have pain now or did it solve it long term?

      • runnermoe November 1, 2013 at 11:11 am #

        No still no pain!! It’s crazy how it hasn’t came back! And I went right back to hard training 2 days after 1st injection. I wish I would of got it done way earlier cuz it set me back 3 months of trying to rest, ice etc. Hopefully you can get it done and it works for you!

        • kelly @ racesrepsramblings November 1, 2013 at 11:11 am #

          Very interesting! I will ask and hopefully I can get one too. It would be AMAZING to have something stop the pain. When did you get it?

          • runnermoe November 1, 2013 at 11:19 am #

            I got the 1st injection in sept. then you get 3 more once every week. So my last one was oct. 4. but after the 1st I was good to go. They say you will be pain free for up to 6 months and if you need it done again you can. but hopefully I won’t. I just wish more people would try it! It’s not like a cortisone shot. cortisone is for inflamation and helps break up scar tissue. ORTHOvisc is a lubricant for knees. For me my IT band was creating so much friction and this completely lubricated it and no pain! Sorry for my rambling…it just worked that great for me!

            • kelly @ racesrepsramblings November 1, 2013 at 11:37 am #

              No this is not rambling… it’s SUPER helpful!! Thank you for all the information. I will definitely have to look into it. Fingers crossed it might help my situation!! :)

  5. Meghan @ fitnesscrEATures October 21, 2013 at 4:23 pm #

    Hey, I really appreciate this outlook. I truly commend you for your patience during your running hiatus (not retirement, HIATUS!) because I understand how hard it is to not run after being a runner. Heck, I took ONE week off this past week and I was miserable. Just ask my poor boyfriend, I was on cranky belligerent betch. What can you do? So I think you’re super strong for holding on and doing other things in the mean time.
    And when you’re healed, I’ll come do the Nashville half with you! I’ve heard it’s awesome!! :) Keep your chin up, as it sounds like you’re doing – because you’ll be back at it when the time is right. :)

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings October 22, 2013 at 8:21 am #

      Thanks lady. Patience is all I got! Plus I’ve had this happen before (injuries and needing to take a break). I just want to remain hopeful and not drown in my running sorrows. PLUS I have a whole lot of excitement going on right now, so that keeps me very busy!! :) I think it’s all the dancing that is helping too – I’m still able to stay active, which makes me so happy. Your poor bf can hang out with my poor guy… I’m the same way when I don’t make time for working out. It’s amazing how much it is tied to mental wellness!! And AGREED – Nashville half, here we come! :)

  6. bayrunnerjamie October 22, 2013 at 3:09 pm #

    Great list of goals! I think the short distance races are a great idea, I’ve been considering trying a 5K and a 10K myself. I know how hard it is to stay positive when you are injured, I STILL have worries and doubts every time I feel any discomfort in my legs even though I can run again. But you have a great attitude, and sounds like a lot of really wonderful things going on in your life!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings October 23, 2013 at 1:46 pm #

      You are right ma’am!! I need to remember that even if running isn’t going the greatest now, I do have other things that are great! And you’re right – short races are where it’s at… I can’t wait to start thinking about them more seriously!

Share your thoughts!

