ChaLean Extreme: 60 Day Results!

2 Oct

chalean-extreme-hybrid

Wow – it is hard to believe it has been 60 days of working out with Chalene (Well really 67, I pushed back a week per Dr.’s orders). It has been an awesome 60+ days and I am still enjoying the program.  I feel strong, I look forward to the workouts, and the time needed to complete them is working out quite nicely with my unusually full schedule.  Because I’m not following the diet plan prescriptively, I am likely not seeing maximum results.  Nonetheless I’m still pleased with my progress – at least what I can see with my eyes!  The numbers haven’t really changed, somewhat as expected.  Maybe my body has reached its happy place numbers-wise?  Totally possible.  I’m a few weeks from celebrating my “anniversary” of starting P90X and rededicating myself to regular fitness.  That’s one year of pumping it and working out – perhaps my body has found its new normal!  Either way, ChaLean is still a program I’d highly recommend, just keep in mind I didn’t use the program for huge changes…but based on others’ experiences, it is possible to have a transformation.

These results are based on:

  • Completing almost every ChaLean Extreme Workout (except for the week skipped for health reasons, and I missed the cardio video twice).
  •  Increasing the Ab video from once (as directed)) to 3 times a week.
  • Aiming for around 1500 or 1600 calories per day.  There were some cheat meals in there (the wedding and usually on weekends), during the week I am pretty disciplined. If you are looking for big results you’d have to be more strict.  Personally my balance of strict during the week and more relaxed on the weekends works well for me.
  • I’m not following the ChaLean diet Guide.

Tape Measure Results:

Waist: -.25

Chest: 0

Hips: 0

Thigh: 0

Bicep: -.25 on the left, 0 on the right

Weight:

-1 lb.

Muscle Definition:

Tough to measure, but again, according to my eyes I feel more defined.  My back and shoulders seem much tighter.  And really my arms are much stronger and tighter as well.  So far so good!

Body Fat %:

No change.

Up Next:

I just started the “Lean” Phase and the very last phase of ChaLean Extreme!  Hard to believe I’m coming to a close here soon.  I feel ready to really push it and make sure I finish strong.  The lean phase seems to be a bit longer (workouts 45 min instead of 35) so I’ll have to plan accordingly.  After ChaLean I’m considering doing another round of ChaLean Extreme, or possibly a round of P90X.  With the wedding falling during that time, I really want something structured.  Yep, I’ll admit, the desire to look trim and great for my wedding is alive and well.  What is that?!  I’ll be happy to have it behind me so working out can always feel fun again (okay mostly feel fun).  Sometimes when I feel like “I have to,” I don’t want to, and it begins to feel like a job.  Funny how that works.  Anyways…structure it is, because it does make it most enjoyable and doable for me!  Because I’m still having pretty significant knee issues I will stick to something lower impact.  But we’ll see, looking forward to finishing up!

And pictures… I forgot to have Adam take pictures of me last weekend (it was a busy, busy moving weekend full of pouring rain, crazy mishaps, and all sorts of ridiculousness).  BUT, he will return this weekend, so I’m going to ask he take some pictures then.  Hopefully I’ll finally get some stinking pictures up (cough cough, slacker, cough).  I have found it’s much, much harder to document my progress living alone.  Here’s to next time getting some better pictures.  Have a wonderful week!

-Kelly

10 Responses to “ChaLean Extreme: 60 Day Results!”

  1. Change of Pace October 2, 2013 at 5:53 pm #

    Awesome work for sticking to it so closely! Sorry to hear your knee is still bugging you :(

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings October 3, 2013 at 12:37 pm #

      Thanks so much! And yeah it’s a bummer, happy I have lots of other things to distract me. I plan to get more serious in the winter/spring with a doctor/tests etc. to find an answer!

  2. Erin October 2, 2013 at 7:59 pm #

    Have you ever tried brazil butt lift? It sounds really silly, but its so much fun! It’s like zumba, weight lifting/strength training, and cardio all at the same time. Plus, it helped me tone up so much!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings October 3, 2013 at 12:38 pm #

      I actually never have! But I have seen videos for it and it really looks so fun. That’s definitely on my list to try at some point. Glad to hear you enjoyed it.

  3. Catherine @ A Two Storey Home October 3, 2013 at 9:20 am #

    Nice! It seems like your body has maybe reached its happy place, numbers-wise, like you said… which I think is awesome! Yay for structure! I could use some of that right now… ;-)

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings October 3, 2013 at 12:38 pm #

      Agreed – I’m thinking that’s what it is… which is good, but it’s interesting after being in the mindset of “oo I wonder how many inches I’ve lost!” It will definitely take me some time to adjust to maintenance!

  4. Meghan @ fitnesscrEATures October 4, 2013 at 2:48 pm #

    Those are some interesting results you’ve gotten so far. I agree with you about your diet and how it works for you. I, too, think I’d see maximum results from my hard work put forth in exercise if I were stricter in my diet but the way I eat now works 100% perfectly for me. I stay the same weight and that’s just fine! I hear you – when working out becomes a task it’s time for a break. YES PICTURES WOMAN you two are the most adorable couple ever and I’d like pictures to continue my belief! :) Happy Friday!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings October 9, 2013 at 9:29 am #

      I hear you on the diet thing – it’s just sooo tough to be 100% strict. I’ve been better with my bro’s wedding coming up, but it does seem to take an event to really push me to be super strict. But I think that works, I’m a huge fan of everything in moderation. I thought of you this weekend and took plenty of pictures, I hope you’re pleased!! :) :)

  5. Lucy @ Lucy On The Lookout October 6, 2013 at 5:36 pm #

    67 days, amazingness Kelly! That’s dedication ;) And sounds like the right thing to do to continue a routine as the wedding draws nearer as then at least you don’t need to worry about which workout to do, it’ll be decided already! My friend also had something similar of starting not to enjoy workouts as much closer to the wedding but actually when it got so close and she was so busy with work and preparations she actually missed it ;) Awesome job on ChaLean anyway!!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings October 9, 2013 at 9:31 am #

      Thanks lady!! I’m trying my hardest to stay with it. The structure tends to help me actually work out haha. I feel like I HAVE to! It’s so funny that your friend had that experience… I actually thought of that this morning while I was working out. It was a good reminder that I don’t actually have to do it, and I’m lucky I have the time and I’m able to make it happen.

Share your thoughts!

