ChaLean Updates!

26 Sep

Hey Friends!

I hope all has been wonderful!  It’s been a whirlwind of a two weeks for me full of a wedding (no, not my own, 114 days til that!), a time-out on working out (Dr.’s orders), and moving.  I always said that I wanted to blog because I had something helpful or valuable to share…and let’s face it folks – the last two weeks just haven’t been very interesting.  So I didn’t blog, because whatever I said would have been painfully boring.  Sure I’ve been busy, but who wants to hear “Oh my gosh I’m SO busy.”  Gross.  You’re welcome for not blogging.  Let’s try and keep this stuff relevant and interesting. ;)  Additionally, it’s one of those things where when faced with the choice of blogging about healthy living or actually trying to live healthy, I’m going to pick the latter every single time.

So what has been so important to keep me away from all my blogging friends!?  Well, a picture essay for you all to enjoy:

photo(86)

A lovely South Carolina destination wedding!

photo(85)

This lovely beach wedding was for Adam’s cousin, though sadly Adam couldn’t attend (stupid residency). I sang “Lucky” during the ceremony and had a lot of fun!

photo(87)

Oh yeah, and I wasn’t the most healthful eater. Oops.

photo(84)

But I caught the bouquet! Hooray! :)

photo(92)

Packing up my apartment! My lease is up and I’m moving in with my soon-to-be in-laws (the coolest people in. the. world.) until the wedding. Call me old fashioned.

photo(88)

I made egg scrambles for my parents. Let’s just say they were overwhelmed with my sheer amount of culinary talent.

photo(90)

My Dad picked out his suit for the wedding! Isn’t he dashing?

photo(91)

The bridesmaid dresses came in! I tried it on to show my gals! One lives in Seattle and the other in Atlanta, so pictures are everything! Please ignore the moving mess behind me. :)

Yeah – so life is crazy.  Anyone else out there a perpetual let’s-make-things-busier-than-needed person?  I do it every time.  But again, I must enjoy it :)  And if you’re crazy like me, I’m sure you do too!  Okay, onto some relevant updates!

ChaLean Extreme

I’m still pumping iron with Chalene and loving it!  I feel strong, lean, and really haven’t noticed adding any bulk.  This week I “restarted” week 4 of Phase 2.  Last week I had a non-emergent medical procedure that forced me to take 5 days off from working out (stir-crazy!).  I decided to just re-do my week and will begin my FINAL phase of ChaLean Extreme next week.  I’m still really enjoying the program and would HIGHLY recommend it as a terrific beginner program – because Chalene is so patient.  BUT, it’s also great for advanced folks because she really pushes you to lift heavy.  An awesome program.

I’ve also been doing some thinking on P90X vs. ChaLean and will have more words with a complete post – but I do find ChaLean to be an excellent introductory program to P90X.  I think it could really help people get ready to complete P90X successfully.  If you’re worried P90X is too extreme, ChaLean is a great thing to try, because it really offers many modifications (more modifications than P90X).  Additionally, ChaLean is shorter (avg. 40 minutes a day vs. 75 minutes a day).  If you’re not used to working out daily, adding just 40 minutes a day is more doable than the full 75 of P90X.  So if you’ve been wanting to give lifting a go – give P90X a try (I’m thinking of you Lucy!!).

That being said – coming from P90X to ChaLean hasn’t seemed like a huge step-down for me.  Sure it’s shorter and not as intense (time wise and variety of movements), but I think it’s been a needed break and variety while still pushing myself.  Honestly I recommend it either way.

I’m still struggling with the eating program.  It is not as structured as P90X, so I’m having a hard time sticking to it.  I’m doing sort of a hybrid of P90X/lower calorie thing.  It’s been semi-successful, but mainly I’m just trying to eat clean, healthy food.  Which I find difficult if I’m not structured, a struggle for me.  I’m not really doing ChaLean for weight loss (though I wouldn’t hate losing a pound or two) – so I haven’t stressed too much about staying to the recommended 1300 calories.  I will say – I would probably have better results if I followed that, but that’s just common sense!  Not practical for me at this point though.  But please note – your results will differ largely from mine if you do incorporate the eating program.

Knees

Yeah it stinks and still hurts and I still can’t do anything about it.  I try to run every couple weeks just “to check” to see if it’s better.  I ran yesterday to wake up to excruciating knee pain today.  I don’t have anything nice to say about it so I won’t say anything at all.

I’ve decided to abandon running to protect my knees for all the DANCING I’m doing.  I’m rehearsing choreography often and I feel like that’s enough strain on my knees.

Post-wedding I’m planning to get more serious as far as doctors, tests, solutions to my knees.  At this point I’ll just settle with being happy I can dance and do my lifting programs.  I don’t want to inflame them to the point I can’t work out at all.  Smart?  Yes I do agree.  So much for my “running” blog.  Yeah.  Poor me.  Hahah.  I think I’ll survive.

I think that’s enough for now.  Happy almost-Friday!

Kelly

7 Responses to “ChaLean Updates!”

  1. hkzwart September 26, 2013 at 12:52 pm #

    I’m SO glad you’re enjoying ChaLEAN! Now that you’re in the know for P90X3, you’ve got your happy medium all set…shorter workouts with amazing results. And it’s not a “graduate” program like P90X, meaning it’s great for beginners as well as more advanced exercisers. Sounds like a winner to me! I know what I’LL be doing this winter! :)

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings September 26, 2013 at 1:16 pm #

      Agreed – it’s really in that perfect sweet spot of short but effective. I’ll be curious how you enjoy it. But you love Chalene, so I think this will be a hit for you!!

      • hkzwart September 26, 2013 at 2:38 pm #

        I meant P90X3 is the happy medium… and what I’ll be doing this winter! Sorry, I re-read it and it was confusing! :)

        • kelly @ racesrepsramblings September 27, 2013 at 8:01 am #

          Gotcha!! Yep – I think P90X3 might be what I’m doing this winter too! I’m excited to have something to look forward to post wedding. I’ll need something to get me back into it!

  2. jojo922 September 26, 2013 at 1:21 pm #

    So close to hitting double digits to your wedding day! YAY!!!! Love the blue of your bridesmaids’ dresses :)

  3. Lucy @ Lucy On The Lookout September 27, 2013 at 5:31 am #

    Ooh I love the bridesmaids dresses, good choice! I totally know what you mean about when life gets so busy it is better to actually live healthily than stretch yourself by keeping up the blogging, getting exhausted and then making unhealthy choices! So go you for giving yourself a blogging break (I do this too and I don’t think there’s anything bad about it :) ). Ohh your poor knee… But way to go with the LIFTING! I’m actually getting a little excited that my gym account unfreezes soon for the coming colder months and I think I’m going to try some classes which involve weights!! (i know, shock horror ;) !!!) and then if I can build up some strength (because my arms are like hello jello) then would definitely be interested to think about home workouts, so looking forward to your chalean final review! Hope life at your in-laws-to-be is going swimmingly :)

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings September 27, 2013 at 8:03 am #

      Thanks lady!! We are excited about them – should be a pretty dress :) And thanks for the no-blogging support. I really think it’s important to take those breaks when needed – otherwise blogs are just spitting out content that isn’t engaging, relevant, or interesting… not that they always have to be that way. But I just don’t want EVERY post to become a fluff post. I think you’re smart for doing it too! Classes with lifting in them- genius! I love group fitness stuff and ones that incorporate a bit of weights sound amazing! I can’t wait to hear how you like them. Hope all is well :)

Share your thoughts!

