How to “Propose” to your Bridal Party!

22 Aug

Happy Thursday folks!   Let’s have a little wedding post Thursday!  Can you believe it’s almost the weekend?  I for one am breathing a big sigh of relief on that one.  I feel like I’m getting into wedding “crunch-time.”  Now many of you know my wedding isn’t until January… But I’m also the genius who signed up to do a musical the month before my wedding.  Yeah, interesting life choice.  ;)  So that means the next month or two is my “crunch time!”  I am working feverishly to get things done NOW so I don’t have to think about them LATER.  This is an entirely new concept for the queen of procrastination.  :)

So far the planning has been going pretty well – I’ve got my google docs and giant spreadsheet to lead the way, but I’ll be honest guys: it is stressful.  There are no two ways to slice it.  It is hard work, and it’s overwhelming.  Especially when you’re planning a 300+ (please dear goodness let more people say no) traditional winter wedding, with just little old you and your fiance (and on a budget for about 100 people).  We’ve been doing a good job of not taking out the stress on each other (hooray!).  Mainly it just ends with me ugly-crying to Adam via video chat over the type of cupcake liners we are using.  Dear goodness that did happen last night.  HAH.  Okay, clearly it’s not just about the liners, it is just the endless amount of little decisions.  People keep saying “it’s your day!  choose what you love!” but want I want to say is “You pick because I just want to marry Adam and am tired of thinking about irrelevant details that don’t matter.”  Hmm… maybe I’m not the best bride.   Is it too late to elope?  I kid.  I think.

Today I’ve decided to turn over a new leaf and just start making decisions LIKE A BOSS!!  Okay, I’ll settle for “reasonably decent decision maker.”  A few weeks ago I did a personality inventory at work as a team building exercise.  It was SO fun and informative. One of my biggest stressers/weaknesses according to the test?  You guessed it: decision-making.  So I’m glad to know what should be stressing me out IS stressing me out.

The funny thing – I’ve been so amped up on wedding anxiety lately that Adam actually asked me if I have still been working out!  HAH.  It’s true, I have been acting like a crazy person that hasn’t been exercising.  But truth be told, I’m plenty anxious that even exercising isn’t cutting out all the stress (yikes).  Maybe I need to go to twice a week yoga instead of once a week :) So this is me taking a zen moment to remind myself that stressing over the most happy day of my life is Dumb (with a capital D).  Because honestly folks, on January 18th, I am not going to give a flying hoot what color my cupcake liners are…so why am I letting myself agonize over them now?  Okay, going with simple white scalloped liners.  Done.  Next decision.  See, I’m learning!  Hmm.. but the blue polka dot ones are soo fun.  GAH.  (Do you see the cycle starting??)

Anyways, the end result will be fleeeeeping awesome!  But, it’s just a long journey to get there.  As I’m sure many of you can agree?  Any words of encouragement or advice to share?  And in other, more positive news: look a picture of SHOES!  Wedding shoes!

photo(83)

My shoes came in! I ordered them online (on sale for 30 bucks, originally like a million) and they FIT and are comfortable and it is TRUE LOVE!

Proposing to Your Bridal Party

And now, the whole purpose of my post: How to propose to your wedding party!  I have a pretty small bridal party (my sister, sister-in-law-to-be, and 2 flower girls).  They are all family so I wanted to find a special way to invite them to be a part of the day (instead of the usual ‘forced fun’ my family normally operates).  This gesture was mainly to get them excited, feel involved, and know how excited I am to have them be a part of it all.  So I decided to “propose” via Ring Pop.  I saw a fancier version of this on Pinterest, but being somewhat budget savvy I decided to do a bit cheaper version.  Here’s what you need:

Materials:

  • Ring Pops (around 50-75cents, depending on the number you buy)
  • Padded mailing envelopes (around 80 cents each)
  • Ribbons or fun fillers! (around 2 dollars for all, but you could be creative with this one)
  • Small card (1 dollar each)

Steps:

  1. Write a nice meaningful note to your ladies.  Be sure to include, “Will you be my …” so the whole “proposal” thing is clear.  Makes it cutesy.  Oh you know how cutesy stuff is loved!
  2. Address your mailing envelops to each of your ladies.
  3. Put your note, ring, fun fillers/ribbons, and whatever else into the envelope.
  4. Seal is all up and send!
photo(76)

All of my materials ready to go!

photo(75)

My note ‘proposing’ to my flower girl Gabriela!

photo(74)

All packed up and ready to be mailed!

SO easy and pretty budget friendly.  The thought, effort, and snail-mail aspect go a long way!  And honestly, it was pretty fun and exciting to mail them off.  Yay for weddings! :)

-Kelly

16 Responses to “How to “Propose” to your Bridal Party!”

  1. Liz August 22, 2013 at 1:22 pm #

    Love the proposal idea!

  2. Pandora Viltis August 22, 2013 at 1:24 pm #

    It sounds to me like you have the right mindset if you recognize the marriage to Adam is more important than the wedding details. Lots of brides to he focus so much on the wedding that they forget its about the rest of your life, not just one day. Take this from a gal who’s been married twice and got it all wrong the first go around (been married to husband #2 for *yikes* 16 years).

    The proposal to your bridal party is very sweet :)

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings August 23, 2013 at 9:26 am #

      Aww glad you like the proposal idea – they had a lot of fun with it. I got the cutest call from my flower girls saying yes! And congrats on 16 years, that’s amazing. I’m hoping our wedding is just the start of many years together!

  3. Nicole August 22, 2013 at 4:28 pm #

    Lots of stuff to think about! Everyone keeps telling me I’ve been a good decision maker throughout this process but it doesn’t mean I don’t second guess those decisions sometimes! I think it’s only natural. Don’t worry it’ll all come together! Like you said, there are way too many decisions to waste a lot of time agonizing over each one and on the day of you won’t notice most of them anyway! I often defer to my vendors to make choices – like “you chose which flowers the bouquet should have” because I have no idea what would look best and I’m sure my florist knows better than me!

    good luck!!!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings August 23, 2013 at 9:28 am #

      I feel you! Weddings are just tricky! Sort of makes me wish I had kept that binder of wedding ideas through child hood…would’ve made it much easier now ;) And that’s really smart to just defer the decisions. I really think I need to just start doing that more. Glad your planning is going well – it’s coming up so soon! :) Best of luck to you too in the final stretch!

  4. Brittany August 23, 2013 at 12:09 am #

    GAH this is too cute!! LOVEEEE LOVE LOVE.

  5. Tubontherun August 23, 2013 at 8:10 am #

    Love the proposal idea! It’s much more creative than my “will you be my bridesmaid?” asked at the start of our spinning class!

    If it is any consolation, you’re much further ahead in your wedding than I am in mine, and mine is 10 weeks away (ARGH 10 WEEKS!!?? when did that happen!?). It’s time I got a list together.

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings August 23, 2013 at 9:29 am #

      Haha thanks! It was fun seeing the reaction of all the girls. Though I think the spinning class idea does have a certain charm to it too! 10 weeks!!! That’s crazy!! So exciting – you’re really in the home stretch. I hope that things start really coming together for you! I can’t wait to see pictures!! :)

  6. Meghan @ fitnesscrEATures August 23, 2013 at 9:01 am #

    I’m sure it’s super stressful to be doing both the musical and wedding planning all at once! That’s a lot of time and dedication! I would be unable to focus anywhere else! I can’t imagine having 300 people to worry about – that’s so cool! It’s going to turn out beautifully, and as you said, you just want to marry your man so that makes it all a little less stressful! Cute way to propose to your bridal party! I love candy so I would have said yes! :) Ha! Have a great weekend!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings August 23, 2013 at 9:30 am #

      Thank you lady! It’s funny I go through waves of “THIS IS AMAZING I LOVE HUGE WEDDING!” and others of “OH MY GOSH PLEASE BE DONE” – with the all cap extreme emotions too ;) I know in the end it will be just lovely. As long as we end up married that’s all that matters! And good to know I can bribe you with candy :) Have a lovely weekend too!

  7. Lucy @ Lucy On The Lookout September 3, 2013 at 7:06 am #

    Oh such a sweet idea with the ring pops, am sure the flower girls will especially love them! Sorry to hear that organising things have been a big bundle of stress at the moment, especially with your beau so far away but I’ve got a feeling you’ve got it in the bag (especially with those shoes… gorgeous!)!! At the end of the day you’ll find a way to make these little decisions and by the time the day comes you’ll be able to let it all go and just be with the man (and the people) you love. Having recently gone to my close friend’s wedding, it was so lovely to see that even though there were small slip ups (as there are with many if not most weddings!) the important thing was that they were celebrating their love for each other, and as their guests there is nothing more than that I could have wanted from the day. Also read your post about chalean (firstly, 30 days have come and gone already?!) and about slowing down with blogging and couldn’t agree more – am going through a lot of changes at work at the mo and something had to give. Sadly it was blogging for a little while, but now I can just enjoy it and take it in my stride :)

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings September 4, 2013 at 7:54 pm #

      You are SO right about all the small decisions. It’s okay to be stressed as long as I realize that the whole goal is to be married to Adam. And you know what – that’s all I really want anyways! I’m starting to defer decisions to others so I don’t have to worry. Progress has been made – phew!! It looks like Zara’s wedding was absolutely beautiful, I love that her groom made a toast! Is that common in the UK? And I know… can you believe 30 days have already come and gone!? I couldn’t believe it was already time to do a post about it. And more power to you for taking the time you need with work. I love reading your blog, but it’s much more important that you are taking care of yourself first!! Happy blog posts are always better than obligation blog posts! Glad all is well!

      • Lucy @ Lucy On The Lookout September 5, 2013 at 3:04 am #

        Yay glad things are coming along nicely :) So, in the UK, it is traditionally father of the bride then groom then best man! The girls have it off easy ;) It was SUCH a lovely wedding, I met up with her last night and it was so wonderful reliving many happy memories, I’m so excited on behalf of you and Adam, squee!!

        • kelly @ racesrepsramblings September 5, 2013 at 9:32 am #

          Oh my goodness! No Maid of Honor speech!? Yeah the girls definitely get it easy. For us it’s usually Father of the Bride, Maid of Honor/Best Man (normally whoever is better goes second ;)), and then the groom may say a few words of thanks, but typically not a ‘speech’ per say. So interesting to hear about the different customs! Love it. I’m so glad her wedding went off without a hitch!

Share your thoughts!

