ChaLean Week 1 Complete!

5 Aug

Happy Monday!  I’m excited to start my second week of ChaLean Extreme.  And when I say excited, no sarcasm here.  I am truly excited to keep at it.  Perhaps I’m still in the honeymoon stage, but I am seriously loving ChaLean (and Chalene :)).  Since I already gave you all the reasons I like it so far, I thought I’d share a bit of the schedule and type of workouts I completed this first week.

The first 30 days (of 90) is the Burn phase.  Each phase is 30 days and has a different focus (Burn, Push, Lean). I’m only assuming that each of the workouts reflect this focus.  I’ve definitely been feeling the burn with this first week!  There has been a big focus on lifting (heavy weight) and combination strength training.  Another nice thing about this program: 2 rest days a week!  This is perfect if you’re like me and enjoy variety.  I plan to do stretching or yoga on my days off to mix it up.

ChaLean Extreme Schedule:

Monday: Burn Circuit 1

  • This workout is about 35 minutes long (awesome!) and starts off with a nice warm-up.  I used 5, 8, 10, and 15 lbs. throughout the video doing squats, curls, and presses.  I probably could’ve gotten by with less variety in weight, but I have them so might as well use them! I was sweating by the end of it and really liked each of the exercises.  Throughout the video there was always a low-impact option (which I always took).

Tuesday: Rest Day!

Wednesday: Burn Circuit 2

  • Similar to Burn Circuit 1, this one is about 35 minutes long and focuses on lifting.  Many exercises had similar moves to circuit 1 and a similar lay-out – but it didn’t feel repetitive to me.  Again – another thoroughly enjoyable workout!

Thursday: Burn Intervals and Ab Burner

  • What a fun little change!  The heavy weights were gone in this workout, instead focusing on reps.  I used much lighter weights (I don’t think I went over 5lbs), but we did about a billion reps.  I sweat a lot and loved the upbeat feel of this one.  This day is a bit longer with Ab Burner (10 minutes).  I think I was working out for about 50 minutes total?

Friday: Burn Circuit 3

  • Back to heavy weights for this one!  More squats, push-ups, and curls.  A similar style to circuit 1 and 2, but again a nice new variety.  Loved it.  Around 30 minutes?  (Clearly I should’ve paid more attention!)

Saturday: Burn it Off and Recharge!

  • Made up of two different segments, this workout was more about cardio.  We did some classic plyo moves and a few with some light weights.  Again, there was always an option for low-impact with I always took.  Fun and energetic, I enjoyed the variety.  The recharge element consisted of yoga-like stretching.  This was the longest day or tied with Intervals, at maybe 45-50 minutes.

Sunday: Rest Day

Progress So Far:

Call me crazy, but I feel like I’m already getting results!  Yes, they are very minor…but I am feeling stronger and healthier.  I’m watching my diet more closely and even attempting to cook!  It’s amazing what really clean eating can do.  I feel more toned and can’t wait to see actual results.  I think my results of this week are more a mental thing – I’m just feeling great!

photo(63)

This is real life. I actually made this. BY MYSELF! Egg whites, peppers, soy sausage on a whole wheat tortilla. I’m fancy.

photo(64)

This week I’m taking it to the next level with pre-chopped bags of veggies to add to my egg whites. Extreme fancy.

After upping my calories to around 1500-1600 calories I’m in a much happier place.  It seems to be a more doable amount of calories for my size and activity level.  I’m not quite as angry :)  I’ve decided to continue to use the MFP app to track my food during the week.  With this program I’m giving myself the weekends off – at least from strict tracking.  Honestly tracking your food is hard work, and allowing myself a bit of a break will hopefully allow me to return each Monday refreshed to track again.  I’m still planning to eat well on the weekends, just not quite as intensely! This weekend I attended a bridal shower and enjoyed some of the tasty yumminess as a treat. :)  During P90X I allowed myself treats around once a week and this strategy seemed to work well.  Everything in moderation!

photo(62)

Working on drinking more water. I even added these fancy cut limes to the water. Are you noticing a fancy trend?

I feel like I’m just gushing about this program, sorry for the annoying enthusiasm about it – but I have just been so happy with it.  It could also be a rainbow of happiness just to have a program I can follow again that I enjoy, and that my knees will allow!  My heart is just happy to be working out again!

Kelly

14 Responses to “ChaLean Week 1 Complete!”

  1. Lucy @ Lucy On The Lookout August 5, 2013 at 9:05 am #

    Hehe at you and your fanciness – you’re learning quickly in the kitchen :) ! (though seriously, prep work like the chopped veggies is a total life saver for a busy lady!!). Glad to hear that it’s going well and that you’re approaching it in a balanced way, 2 rest days, hooray :) Also like how most of them are ~35mins… definitely doable… Can’t wait to hear more!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings August 5, 2013 at 9:30 am #

      Haha I know can you believe I’m really learning!? :) I’m feeling quite proud! And you are so right 35 minutes average is SO doable. I don’t think any of the videos go over an hour, which is perfection. So far so good :)

  2. Meghan @ fitnesscrEATures August 5, 2013 at 9:20 am #

    Nothing about your enthusiasm is annoying, my dear! Everyone loves a good fitness experience and it sounds like you are just going full force with it! :) That’s nothing but pure awesomeness!
    This program sounds great, and I love that you’re feeling so positive about it! Cute that you’re making your own food without your man there! And getting fancy with your water!? Fabulous!
    Yay for heavy weights – something I know nothing about… Happy Monday pretty!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings August 5, 2013 at 9:31 am #

      Hahah – I’m glad I’m not terribly annoying :) But you’re right, I’m just really into it. A fun feeling. And can you believe I’m making food without Adam? I sent him pictures to prove that it’s happening. He’s been pretty impressed. What can I say, I’m a fancy lady. ;) And someday maybe you will know about heavy weights! I think you might like it! Maybe! Happy Monday to you too!

  3. Catherine @ A Two Storey Home August 5, 2013 at 12:06 pm #

    Yay! I’m glad it’s going so well! And you are being SO fancy with those pre-cut veggies! I am impressed… I’m terrible about planning ahead. I’m taking a similar approach to MFP–not tracking on the weekends. There’s no need to feel guilty about having some treats here and there, but I think there’s a tendency to feel that way with MFP when you track your food every single day.

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings August 6, 2013 at 9:14 am #

      Hahah I know right? Just such a fancy lady! ;) Haha. Though I will admit – it has been SO convenient just throwing the veggies in the pan. It has allowed me to cook everyday – something I never do. And I think the whole no tracking on the weekends is perfect. A great way to use a tool without going overboard. I don’t like guilt! ;)

  4. Rebekah @ fitnesscreatures August 5, 2013 at 3:34 pm #

    YAY for heavy weights!!! That’s the best thing you can do for yourself. Glad you’re already feeling stronger – I completely understand. Good job with your prepped food. It makes life so much easier and it really helps when you’re on a time crunch in the middle of the week. Keep it up! You’re doing great :)

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings August 6, 2013 at 9:15 am #

      AGREED! I love weight lifting! And thanks for the props on the pre-cut food. I have LOVED it this week. I just hope that I’m motivated enough to keep going with it, it has been so convenient. Thanks for the support :)

  5. kathy @ vodka and soda August 6, 2013 at 7:25 am #

    awesome! it’s so important to do something you enjoy in order to stick with it. and i’m glad you upped your cals; sometimes you have to tweak your numbers in order to find that happy place and i’m glad you did!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings August 6, 2013 at 9:15 am #

      Agreed – loving the program has made it so much easier to get up and do it. And more calories = much happier :)

  6. Brittany August 6, 2013 at 11:14 am #

    WHOO!! Keep the enthusiasm coming! Glad this is going so well for you!

  7. imperfectionismybeauty August 8, 2013 at 10:10 pm #

    Good Luck! I love Chalean Extreme. This is my third time doing the program!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings August 9, 2013 at 8:35 am #

      Thanks so much!! So far it has been just amazing. I’m sure I’ll be doing it again at some point too. She’s just awesome.

Share your thoughts!

