And the winner is…

22 Jul

chalean-extreme-workout-dvd-review

After about a week of researching, thinking, deciding, and putting off my decision… I have finally decided my next workout program!  In the battle between T25 and ChaLean Extreme, it was an extremely close call.  And honestly I will probably do both over the next 6 months.  But, for right now…because I miss the lifting and variety of P90X, I have ordered ChaLean Extreme!  I’m really excited, though still not 100% sure I made the right call – don’t try to change my mind, I think it’s already in the mail ;)  Here are a couple of the main reasons:

The Reasons

  • I miss lifting.  I really started seeing benefits from it, and I’m excited to do that again.  I sort of feel weak now…whomp.
  • A gut thing.  I’ve been thinking about ChaLean Extreme for a long time, and just think I’m really going to like it.  My curiosity is getting the best of me – I’ve gotta try it!
  • A time thing.  I have a bit more time through October (when rehearsals for White Christmas start ;)).  I can do T25 when I’m truly ‘busy’ and 25 minute workouts will come in really handy. For now, I can handle the 45 minute or so workouts from ChaLean.
  • I feel ChaLean might be lower impact than T25, though I could be wrong…again an instinct thing. I watched a couple clips of both programs and feel this might be a better fit for now.
  • ChaLean is a bit older so there is a small cost savings there.  I can use every penny I can get!

The Plan

After ordering it today, I’m hoping it will arrive sometime this week or next.  That being said, I’m tentatively planning on starting next Monday, July 30.  When I did P90X I was careful to plan ahead and make sure I was truly ready to begin the program.  Having seven days to mentally get prepared for my start will be awesome.  Next weekend I can do my before pictures, take measurements, and get serious.  I can start mapping out my meals and have a chopping party Monday night.  With P90X I marked my milestones on the calendar so I knew exactly when pictures would take place.  Mentally that was really helpful.  Fingers crossed that the program arrives in time for my projected start date!

Until Then…

Until I start I’m going to focus on staying active in other ways.  I’ve been going on a lot of walks lately and have found them helpful. Though, not quite as awesome as running (yeah not even close). :(  I want to take a break from DVD workouts until I begin next Monday, so no random P90X or Jillian Michaels workouts this week.  I want to start fresh and ready!  A huge part of success for me is feeling mentally ready.  Now that the program is ordered I have roughly a week to get my mind wrapped around the idea “that this is happening.”  Then there is no turning back!  I have found that if I just start something without really planning and thinking about it, I’m much more likely to abandon it.  Now I’m really just ready to get committed to a new fitness program and make sure my eating is healthy – I think ChaLean Extreme will be just the ticket!  I have made the financial commitment and the public commitment to all of you: so it’s on!

Weekend Wrap-Up

This weekend I spent in Nashville (yay!).  Three weeks was just too long without seeing Adam.  We are so happy to be around each other once again.  Though it was funny, both of us mentioned a few times, ‘I really gotta get back to working out like we did before’.  With Adam’s residency crazy work hours, my knees, and losing our regular workout partner, we’ve both been a little under-motivated.  Hey, it happens!  Though Adam is actually considering doing T25 now, hooray!  Which would be convenient for me… I could just borrow it when he’s done. :)  With his crazy schedule, it could be perfect.  Though really he needs something that doesn’t cause weight loss!  I swear that boy has lost weight since I last saw him.

We rounded out the weekend with a huge day of wedding planning yesterday!  I know, aren’t I kind?  ‘Hey Adam, your first day off in 10 days, let’s wedding plan!’  Okay I swear it wasn’t that bad – but we did make a lot of the big decisions that I’ve been waiting on his input.  That’s success!  Invitations are ordered, save the dates are addressed, and ties are picked out.  And he managed to squeeze in a few video games as a real treat.  A day off of perfection :)

photo (1)

Some possible ties! 40% off at Macys… sweet. Adam’s is the gray one in the center. But which one for the groomsmen?

Hope you all had a wonderful weekend!

-Kelly

Did I make the right call with ChaLean Extreme?  Any tips for getting started?

6 Responses to “And the winner is…”

  1. beabetteryoufitness July 22, 2013 at 10:46 am #

    Great choice! Guessing you already have a coach or don’t want one (I know you’re an independent kinda gal ;)). But if you want an accountability group, let me know and I’d love to help you out! FREE! And follow Chalene on Instagram–she’s AWESOME!!!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings July 23, 2013 at 2:10 pm #

      Thanks so much! I’m excited about the decision – very curious what the program will bring. I will definitely let you know if I am looking for some more accountability. For now I’m going to give it a go on my own, yep kind of an independent lady, but if I’m struggling I will reach out. Thanks so much for the offer!

  2. hkzwart July 22, 2013 at 10:57 am #

    I think you made a good choice!! Two reasons… (1) your gut feeling, and (2) my continued thoughts about your knees every day I’m working out to T25! Although much more knee friendly than Insanity, it’s still a lot of lunges, squats, and jumping. I wouldn’t have wanted you to have the same discouragement with this one as you did with Insanity. When your knees are healthier and stronger (which they will be after ChaLEAN) you can give it a go. As for Andrew, Shakeology CAN be used for weight gain by boosting the caloric intake with healthy add-ins. Try nut-butters, bananas, and other healthy add-ins to add calories. Has he looked at any of the BodyBeast supplements? There are some bulking options there as well. I love your theater interest as well. My sister did some theater in Nashville while she lived there and I’m a huge theater fan (love Nashville, too!). Happy wedding planning!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings July 23, 2013 at 2:12 pm #

      Wohoo! Thanks for the vote of confidence, I’m feeling even better about it. Thank you also for thinking of me during T25! I think it might be perfect when I’m done with ChaLean – hopefully with nice and strong knees ready to go! And as far as Body Beast he actually hasn’t looked into it – I think he’s worried about time… he’s a busy kid. Maybe I should look into it for him :) Thanks so much for advice and thoughts. Wedding planning is progressing – Save the Dates going in the mail tomorrow, woot!! :)

  3. Catherine @ A Two Storey Home July 22, 2013 at 12:54 pm #

    The program sounds awesome! I look forward to hearing how it goes. This morning I came across BeachBody’s Les Mills Combat series, and I am contemplating getting it! I may see what else is out there in the mixed martial arts genre (after being stalked on Friday, I’m feeling like I’d like my workouts to prepare me to kick someone’s a$$, if the need ever arose…hahaha.) I’m glad you and Adam got so much done for the wedding yesterday! Wedding planning can be a nightmare.

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings July 23, 2013 at 2:14 pm #

      Yeah I’m really excited! It just shipped today, so it’s becoming more real :) I have heard of Les Mills – I’m very curious about it. If you end up getting it, you’ll have to tell me how it goes! AND if it does indeed make you stronger and fiercer :) I wouldn’t mind feeling like I could kick booty. And I feel you on the whole Wedding nightmare thing.. yeah. Blah. We just talked about having a “wedding-free” night or time… just so we can take a break from it!

Share your thoughts!

