Getting Back Your Fitness Groove…Post-Vacation.

26 Jun

Well folks, after a lovely week in Hilton Head, South Carolina, it’s back to reality for me!  And I must say, it’s been a bit of a strugglebus.  Not so much in terms of getting back to my job and routine, but just getting back to focusing – I feel like I’m in a daze!  It’s amazing what a little bit of extreme R&R can do.

The week was filled with a little bit of this:

photo(28)

Ahhh the sweet ocean.

photo(29)

I swear we aren’t naked.

A little bit more of this…

photo(25)

Oh lounging by the pool, you are amazing.

And maybe a little too much of this…

photo(26)

Frosty Frog’s famous daiquiris!

photo(27)

These are not the same cups as the above photo. Oops.

Yeah…

All in all, it was a fabulous trip full of family (19 of us!), food (some heavenly stuff), and relaxation (by the pool or ocean, um amazing).  Hilton Head is a long standing family tradition; Adam’s family has done it for over 30 years, so it’s something everyone really looks forward to.  During the trip I managed to get in a couple runs and even started group Jillian Michaels morning exercise.

IMG_0261

Group exercise in the living room!

We did the tape 4 times!  Yeah, I’m impressed too.  Unfortunately as you all know, fitness is not the cornerstone of healthy living…it’s more about the food.  All our activity didn’t quite make up for our indulgences, but hey – isn’t that what vacation is for?  I will say, I was sort of excited to return to the somewhat straight and narrow – my body truly has become accustomed to a healthier diet!  Not only accustomed, but dare I say craves it?  Win, I say.

As I’ve rudely and abruptly gotten back into the swing of things, I’ve been mentally keeping track of what has helped most.

Tips for returning to a healthy lifestyle (post-vacation sloth):

  1. Visualize it.  Often if I think about what my workout will be Monday morning, picture it in my head, plan on it, think about it, plan, plan, and just get it so stuck in my head that it’s happening.  And you know what?  I will be okay with it!  Usually if I let myself not plan on it, it’s much harder to talk myself into it when the alarm is going off.
  2. Unpack/Settle in.  Nothing is a better excuse (for me) to not work out than “my house is a mess, I have no clothes, and I haven’t even unpacked my bag!” – Nevermind that I’ve been back 3 days and the bag is still just sitting there.  I will somehow find a way to make that a valid excuse (trust me, it has worked marvelously in the past).  Remove the barrier to working out and just unpack already.  After this trip I unpacked as soon as I could and it was an amazing call.  Trust me, you’ll feel so much better.  I did!
  3. Plan food. Take extra care over the first few days to just get back to eating healthy.  The main reason?  Brain training. I want my brain to associate delicious treats and frozen drinks as a treat.  I mean, that’s what they are, right?  I’m a huge fan of everything in moderation (thanks Mom – the phrase has stuck with me!) and vacation is a perfect time to indulge in some not-so-usual treats.  But… I want to be upfront with myself that I’m no longer on vacation and it’s back to the usual.  I don’t want to let my vacation eating habits linger on for days or weeks or months.  Honestly I feel better when I eat well, and being a bit strict for the first couple days has allowed me to quickly regain those benefits!
  4. Don’t beat yourself up.  Yes, it’s important to get back at the routine and start filling your body with healthy yummy things.  But… it won’t help anyone to beat yourself up about it.  I’ve been focusing a lot on the reasons I want to maintain a healthy lifestyle in the first place.  That often is helpful in getting me back to better habits without making me feel like dirt.
  5. Just do it.  Visualization and planning will only get you so far when it comes to working out and eating well, at some point you just have to do it.  Get up and keep on keeping on.  The past few days I haven’t focused on quality workouts (yeah I’ll admit it!), more just getting up and getting in my exercise.  I’ve definitely noticed labored, slower runs, and less than stellar JM video performances, but again just glad I’m getting out there!

So far the transition back to reality has worked out well and I even managed to pack myself a stellar lunch/snack bag for work this morning.  Yeah I was so proud I took a picture to send Adam.  I’m doing it, I’m really packing my own healthy stuff and doing it!  Cue groans from those of you that have no sympathy for me losing my little chef :)

photo(32)

I’m not typically a “show-your-fooder” – but I mean come on. This lunch is perfection! Fruit, veggies, yogurt, protein bar, chicken, oatmeal, and Shakeology. Amazing. Feel free to pat me on the back.

Though I have to admit I’ve had a couple flashes of returning to my old extremely lazy food prep days.

photo(3)

Dang he caught me! And that non-English jargon is just Kelly-speak for excitement.

The ramen story: I love ramen (well cup noodle to be exact) because it’s fast, easy, and delicious.  Yeah and with a million grams of sodium my body loves it too (not).  Adam is always annoyed when I eat ramen because sometimes I won’t even cook it – yikes, I know.  I got rid of all my ramen during a food drive conveniently during P90X, but as a joke Adam’s parents got me more for my birthday (much to Adam’s dismay). I’ve been holding onto that ramen for a special occasion (when Adam won’t know I’m eating it).  Last night we had a dinner skype date and I opted for whole wheat spaghetti instead – yeah I’m making strides.  :)

Here’s to hoping my post-vacation tips will encourage me to continue to have a successful week!  It’s good to be back!

-Kelly

How do you cope with reality life after vacation?  What tips can you share on not being lazy and eating real meals?

13 Responses to “Getting Back Your Fitness Groove…Post-Vacation.”

  1. Vicki Wolfson June 26, 2013 at 5:54 pm #

    Too many times people equate healthy eating with deprivation. Its much easier to eat healthy when you’re getting the flavors you enjoy. Please keep in mind that flavors and foods are two different things. There are flavors to your fave unhealthy foods and you can cook those flavors into healthy foods. It’s all about balance.

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings June 26, 2013 at 5:59 pm #

      I couldn’t have said it better myself. It’s so important not to deprive! I have learned that usually causes more harm than good. And you are so right about balance – it’s crucial.

      • Vicki Wolfson June 26, 2013 at 6:01 pm #

        You’re a smart cookie, wish I understood what you do when I was your age. Keep up the good work

        • kelly @ racesrepsramblings June 26, 2013 at 6:10 pm #

          Thanks so much! It’s a hard lesson to learn for sure…I feel like everyday I’m still learning. But as long as I’m generally making progress I’ll count that as success! :)

  2. lisamitchell21 June 26, 2013 at 6:33 pm #

    Love it! Especially Adam’s texts :) you all are the best

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings June 26, 2013 at 6:39 pm #

      Haha – yep he’s still making sure I eat real dinners from Nashville. Food police in the best sense… he likes to make sure I eat :)

  3. Catherine @ A Two Storey Home June 26, 2013 at 9:27 pm #

    Welcome home! Hilton Head sounds amazing! I always have a tough time returning to work after vacation too :-/ My equivalent of ramen noodles (i.e. the meal that I always want, but Andrew always shakes his head at) is noodles with butter and garlic salt. So good. I have recently switched to brown rice noodles so at least they’re whole grain? Hahaha.
    I’m glad you had a great vacation!!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings June 27, 2013 at 9:14 am #

      Thanks so much! It’s definitely good to be back – and if you ever get the chance to go to Hilton Head, take it! I love that you have your “ramen noodles” – hilarious. But I agree, I think we both are making huge strides! I’ll have to check out those brown rice noodles, sound delicious :)

  4. megbek June 26, 2013 at 11:41 pm #

    First, and most importantly, ADORBZ pictures of your vacation. No such thing as too many daiquiris, sorry girl. :) Good try, though!
    I always, always, always struggle to get back into a routine after vacation. Typically, I look forward to it, but I always feel less than perfect, in terms of ready to workout. Lately, I’ve tried to not skip workouts, even if I’m traveling and it definitely helps me get back in the swing of things so I wasn’t totally off course.
    Anyway, these are great tips, and as is the case with some things, easier said than done. I can go 2-3 weeks without unpacking before I finally cave in. Haha, I loved ramen in college. I drained them, added butter and seasoning, and called it spaghetti. How dumb. But also delish! :)

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings June 27, 2013 at 9:17 am #

      Hahah thanks lady! I’m also glad to know I’m not the only one that struggles to get back into a routine! Not skipping workouts is huge, I totally agree. I think staying somewhat active this vacation has made it much easier to get back in the swing of things. It’s when I’m totally worthless that I REALLY struggle. :) And you’re speaking my language – 2 weeks after vacation and still not unpacked? check. I’m always so happy when I just do it though. Why is it so hard?? I try to remember those feelings of happiness every time I don’t want to do it :) And your “spaghetti” sounds amazing!!

  5. Lucy @ Lucy On The Lookout June 27, 2013 at 9:46 am #

    Awesome on the working out (and relaxing too 8) ) whilst away, and for recruiting people to do it with you too! I too find that my body ‘craves’ a healthier lifestyle after a while if indulging a lot during holidays (that’s what holidays are for after all ;) ), but you’ve hit the nail on the head re: it’s all about being organised! Nice one of the packed lunch too, (and for saying no to the ramen), Adam must be so proud hehe! I can sometimes fall in the trap of ‘cooking’ ramen (i.e. just steeping them in boiled water) too, but then I get so thirsty afterwards I realise it’s a bad idea… at least, regularly! Hope you’ve adjusted back to ‘reality’, but are still managing to hold onto all your holiday glow :)

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings June 27, 2013 at 10:11 am #

      Thanks Lucy! It was an awesome trip, lots of fun memories. I still have the tan, so I’m happy hehe! And I’m really glad to know that many people fall into the Ramen trap! I’m not alone! But I think together, recovery is possible ;) And I totally agree: a little indulgence is what holidays are for!!

Share your thoughts!

