Successful half-mile run!

6 Jun

Well, after an exciting/disappointing assessment from my most recent visit to my sports med doc, I put in my first couple runs on my training schedule!   Tuesday I ran my half mile jog and this morning I graduated to my 1 mile run.  Yep, that’s all!  I felt pretty good, though a bit tired.  It’s funny, when you are used to running at higher distances it’s amazing how short half a mile can feel.  That was a pretty nice feeling.  Though it reminds me of my rehab days from my ankle injury a couple years ago.  After getting out of my cast/crutches/cane/walking unassisted, I was absolutely elated when I was able to first run a half mile without stopping!  This week I’ve been trying to recall that experience and the joy at being able to run any distance.  So whether it’s 7 miles or half a mile – I’m going to celebrate it!  Running really is a gift, and I am so fortunate to have a body healthy enough to do it!

photo(21)

Do you see the giant bird I spotted on my run this morning?

Because I am not able to do Insanity (yet), I have fallen back to my trusty P90X videos.  I really enjoy the workouts and I am to the point where I don’t like missing a weekday of a workout (Hallelujah!).  I am not doing them in any particular order at this point – just one a morning to maintain.  Over the next week my plan is to create a workout schedule for the next 6 weeks.  It’s going to be called “Get My Knees and Hips BUTT KICK Strong”  or something like that – I’m still working on it :)  I’m hoping to combine running, P90X videos, hip/knee exercises, and maybe throw a couple Zumba/other videos in there just for some spice – I have been doing P90X for more than 6 months so I’m ready for a mix-up.  I’m looking forward to sitting down and mapping it out next week!

 Ch ch ch Changes…

This is Adam’s last week living in Indianapolis and bittersweet for sure.  It’s finally sinking in that he’s leaving (sniff).  Adam begins his residency program in Nashville, TN on July 1st and that next chapter will be incredibly exciting!  I get nervous butterflies for him just thinking about his first day!  I will stay in Indianapolis at least through our wedding (January) – so it’s back to long distance for a bit.  Womp, womp.  It’s going to be a shock to the system, but I figure I’ll have more time to wedding plan, workout, and blog about both of those things!  Additionally for my birthday a few weeks ago, my family got me a TV and cable/Netflix (I think they thought I might be lonely).  I am not used to having a functioning TV (sort of got used to living without it for the past couple years), so I guess I could call that my fiancé replacement :)  If you don’t hear from me, I’m probably fine…just watching whole seasons of Lie to Me in my pajamas oblivious to the world for shower-less days on end.  Yikes.

 Pause for a moment of Mushy Gush (or skip ahead)

Remember that cabaret Adam sang in last week?  The one where we got to dress up like fancy people.

photo-6

Heading to the cabaret. Yay for fancy clothes!

Well, a review of the show came out, and I almost dropped my computer when I read it.  Please bear with me while I share an excerpt – I’m bursting with pride!

Baritone Adam N., undeniably the most impressive member of the cast, is a recent IU Medical School graduate who is leaving Indianapolis soon to move to Nashville where he will undergo his residency. Showing the sort of star quality that might have landed him in the entertainment big leagues had he chosen that route, Nagy was stupendous in both his vocal and dramatic interpretation during his swan song performance of Jason Robert Brown’s “She Cries,” from the musical “Songs for a New World.”

For serious!  I can’t make this stuff up.  At another point it calls him electrifying.  Wow.

1370312795_2456_IMG_0354

Looking good Dr. Adam!

Learning to feed myself again

So in addition to losing my singing, working-out, doctoring fiancé…I’m losing something else.  I have a big confession to make.  A big one.  Like I don’t even want to admit it.

Deep breath… so Adam has been on vacation the past couple months (i.e. no work).  Because of this extra time and his kind heart, he has made my food for the last 2 months or so.  And by food, I mean every single thing I eat.  Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, and snacks… yeah… everything.  I know, I am beyond spoiled.

photo(20)

He even tells me if I need to get things to supplement the meals he makes.

I’m almost embarrassed about how much of a help he is to me…I don’t want to use words like “helpless” or “lost”…but that’s what next week could be like for me.  Pathetic, I know.  So one new exciting aspect to this blog could be “Kelly learning how to feed herself again.”

Quiet on the blog front

In our last couple days together in Indy we’ve been doing exciting things like Wedding Registry and packing.  It’s a thrilling life, I know.

photo(22)

Doesn’t this towel look lovely for our registry? I swear I’m not pregnant – just my purse underneath it. Adam says I look like a creepster in the picture. I say classy.

The nice safety net is that although Adam moves next week we’ll just have 4-5 days apart before reuniting for a week of family vacation (with his family in Hilton Head).  Woot!  Because of this upcoming departure, things will be pretty quiet on the blog front for the next bit.  I want to make sure I’m soaking up every last minute of time together.  Send me strong thoughts and vibes so I don’t totally lose it next Tuesday when the moving truck pulls away!

Happy almost-Friday! :)

-Kelly

14 Responses to “Successful half-mile run!”

  1. jojo922 June 6, 2013 at 12:44 pm #

    Woohoo on that mile! After this “rest” you’ll definitely come out of it a stronger runner! Enjoy your time with Adam!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings June 7, 2013 at 4:06 pm #

      Thanks so much!! I agree – after this rest and strengthening time I’m hoping to come back at things with a lot of power. Fingers crossed! :)

  2. atwostoreyhome June 6, 2013 at 2:42 pm #

    1. Congrats on celebrating the shorter distances! That is tough :-/ 2. That is hilarious that Adam has been making all your food for the last few months! I literally laughed out loud at that. You can do it… I believe in you! :-D 3. I’m sorry he is leaving and you’re going to have to do the long distance thing!! When Andrew and I first started dating he was in grad school 4 hours away. He had about a month between graduating and starting his job, which is local, but required 12 months of training in another city 2 hours away. When he left at the end of that month, I cried so hard. It’s tough, but it does force you to make your time together count and have meaningful phone conversations (rather than eat dinner on the couch and have the, “How was your day?-Good.” conversations.

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings June 7, 2013 at 4:09 pm #

      1. Thanks so much for the kind words – 1 mile is 1 mile! :) 2. Yeah – it’s pretty ridiculous hahah! This morning he was busy doing moving stuff so I managed on my own. A challenge but I did find something to eat. Should be an adventure :) 3. Thanks for the encouragement and sympathy! Sounds like you know it all too well. 12 months sounds like forever! I’m lucky with just 7! And I agree – you really do appreciate each other sooo much with long distance. We keep joking that it will allow us to be super romantic and mushy before our wedding…distance makes the heart grow fonder! ;)

  3. turtlepacerunner June 6, 2013 at 4:24 pm #

    I hear you on the running half a mile and feeling elated! I just switched to a paleo diet and I’ve been feeling weak so I’ve put running on hold.

    Congrats to Fiancé on the great review! And good luck to you! :) I’m sure you won’t go hungry.

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings June 7, 2013 at 4:10 pm #

      Wow Paleo! That’s ambitious – that’s a shame it’s affecting your running :( And thanks for the luck – I think i’ll need it. I will manage to find things to eat – let’s just hope they are reasonably healthy (note to self: can’t survive just on peanut butter)!!

  4. megbek June 7, 2013 at 9:33 am #

    Yay for your runs feeling great! And that huge bird, what the heck? That would have scared me into sprinting home. Big creatures are terrifying. Glad you’re sticking with P90x! That’s some good stuff.
    Wow, that’s really incredible that his review was so shining! I bet you’re a proud fiance. Congrats to him!! Sad that he’s leaving, but um, girl, LOL I love that you’re going to have to make your own food again! That was so funny to read!!!! I love when my man does all that stuff for me. :) :)
    Yay for enjoying life and vacation next week! YAY! Enjoy your last few days with him my dear! Happy Friday!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings June 7, 2013 at 4:12 pm #

      Yeah that bird was a little terrifying but also amazing – I couldn’t believe that it didn’t fly away! And thanks for the kind words for Adam – we both were so happy with the review! I think he was a little surprised by it! And yes… food. Here’s to hoping I don’t just eat ramen noodles for the next couple months! haha!! Definitely an adventure! Have a wonderful Friday!! :)

  5. Lucy @ Lucy On The Lookout June 10, 2013 at 9:32 am #

    Aww boo to the long-distance (how far away will you guys be?) – my boyfriend and I had to do it for a relatively short period but it was so horrible. And hearing you speak about how much Adam helps you out e.g. with cooking, really hit home that if mine ever left home I would feel pretty helpless too! But glad that you’re getting to go on vacation for some good ol’ quality time :) ! Way to go on the positive review of his singing – you guys are too cute!!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings June 11, 2013 at 1:45 pm #

      I know :( Boo is right!! Though I’m lucky – Adam will only be 4.5 hours away by drive. It will be really hard getting into a new routine without him, but we’ve done it before and I have plenty to keep me busy! Thanks for the sympathy :) He pulled away this morning – it wasn’t a pretty moment!! Hope all is well!!

      • Lucy @ Lucy On The Lookout June 11, 2013 at 1:49 pm #

        Oh no! Apologies for my twitter comment, didn’t realise you had already said your goodbyes, but glad you’re ready to tackle it and make the best of the situation :) Enjoy lots of distraction, running (and maybe ice cream… you deserve it ;) )

        • kelly @ racesrepsramblings June 11, 2013 at 5:46 pm #

          No worries at all! It’s funny about 5 people texted me today asking when he was leaving.. so I was already well reminded of it! Though I’ve been reasonably strong today – I don’t think it has sunk in! And I like the idea with ice cream – I DO deserve it!! ;)

  6. LO June 11, 2013 at 2:56 pm #

    um, maybe that towel would be a pretty stellar wedding dress. and maybe i think power bars are totally acceptable meals. and perhaps most importantly, we need to be friends now that everyone we know has moved away. thats all.

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings June 11, 2013 at 5:48 pm #

      Haha! I think that towel would make an excellent wedding dress – I don’t know why I didn’t just go for that in the first place ;) I think power bars might have to be my new go-to meal. I mean it has nutrients in it, right?? And I also agree – we should most definitely be friends. Lunch, dinner, coffee date?

Share your thoughts!

