Weekend Relaxation and Insanity in the Morning

2 Jun

What a great weekend!  It all started with an amazing Thursday evening.  Adam is a wonderful singer and performed in a local cabaret.  It was a great opportunity to dress up and listen to my favorite crooner.  On Friday I left for a weekend in my former-home, Madison, WI.  I spent time with old girlfriends, and it was fantastic to catch up.  We enjoyed shopping, eating things not on the P90X nutrition plan, and even went to see Wicked!  It was phenomenal.  I even managed to find some green accessories and shoes for the engagement photo session next week. Score.  All in all, an awesome time.  I left Adam behind, but I don’t think he was too upset…reportedly lots of video game and TV time occurred.  Oh the horrors.

photo-5

Delicious heavenly cheese curds from Madison’s Farmer’s Market. I may or may not have eaten this entire bag. (Hey! I shared…)

photo-4

This chocolate chip cookie dough ice cream…totally on the P90X nutrition guide ;)

photo-7

Green shoes and accessories from a successful shopping trip!

After such a relaxing and somewhat indulging weekend, I’m actually really looking forward to starting Insanity in the morning!  I’ve had several days off from a serious workout, and I’m sort of itching to get back at it!  Last week, though I had finished with P90X, I did do 3 of the DVDs just to have something in there.  Watch out, bright and early Insanity begins!

What is Insanity?

Insanity is another at-home fitness program by the some company as P90X.  The program is made up of a series of DVDs I’ll watch and requires no equipment (cool!).  It varies from P90X in that its primary focus is high-energy interval training (I’m imagining something like P90X’s plyometrics, but I’ll find out soon!), instead of using weights for lifting.  Insanity comes with its own nutrition plan and the program lasts 60 days.  This evening I spent some time reading about the program and planning out the meals for tomorrow.  Insanity DVDs typically last 30-45 minutes and are done 6 days a week.  The short duration will be a welcome change, though I’ve heard they are so hard it will feel longer!

photo-3

Opening up my kit to learn all about my next 60 days!

photo-1

Day 1 begins with a fitness test and ‘before’ pictures.

photo-2

Adam carefully reading the nutrition plan. He’s going to be my chef this week – what a doll!

Tomorrow morning starts with the fit test and introductory DVD bright and early.  I’m excited to see what it will bring.  Wish me luck!  Hope you all had a wonderful weekend!

-Kelly

Have you done Insanity?  Any tips for a beginner? 

11 Responses to “Weekend Relaxation and Insanity in the Morning”

  1. Tubontherun June 3, 2013 at 8:14 am #

    I LOVE those green shoes – they’re gorgeous! Good luck with Insanity – I’ve heard a lot about it, but not actually done it myself.

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings June 3, 2013 at 5:51 pm #

      Thanks so much!! I actually found them at a thrift store – I couldn’t believe it. What a find! The only pair in my size. I was happy :)

  2. hkzwart June 3, 2013 at 8:27 am #

    Miss the cheese curds from the MN state fair… glad you enjoyed your treat this weekend! Insanity is a very different program from P90X, which you’ll soon find out! Insanity is the pinnacle of cardio training. And it’s high-impact. So modify, modify, modify if you need to. Have fun!!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings June 3, 2013 at 5:57 pm #

      Oh I know – cheese curds are just amazingness! Thanks for the thoughts on Insanity – I will definitely keep it in mind when I pick it up again. Sadly won’t be doing it for awhile…see my latest post :(

  3. Alex @ Brain, Body, Because June 3, 2013 at 11:02 am #

    I agree with all of the comments that hkzwart made about Insanity above. It’s tons of cardio and plyometrics and super high-impact, so don’t be afraid to modify! I modified quite a bit, but still burned a ton of calories.

    It’s fun, though! Unlike p90x, the other people (background dancers? I don’t know what to call them. The people in the DVD who aren’t Shaun T) don’t pretend that it’s easy! They take breaks, too, which made me feel better about it :)

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings June 3, 2013 at 6:01 pm #

      Thanks for the great tips Alex! It sounds like you had an awesome experience. Sadly my knees probably aren’t up for insanity at this time…went to the doc this morning. The full story in my latest post. Thank you again, your thoughts are much appreciated!

  4. atwostoreyhome June 3, 2013 at 12:05 pm #

    You look stunning in that black dress and green accessories! And who can say no to ice cream? (Even though I’ve determined I should limit my dairy, I had it twice this weekend… oops :-D)

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings June 3, 2013 at 6:03 pm #

      Thanks so much!! I thought it was a fun dress :) I also have pearls so I might swap accessories part way through for a classy look as well. Engagement pics are so fun! And that’s hilarious that you ended up with dairy twice this weekend!! Though – your monthly average must be pretty low if you look at it that way ;)

  5. megbek June 3, 2013 at 1:10 pm #

    Sounds like a great Friday night and Saturday little getaway! SUPER cute black dress + green shoes combo. I am a big fan of black clothing and colorful accessories! I can’t wait to keep up with Insanity and you… :)

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings June 3, 2013 at 6:04 pm #

      It was an awesome trip to Madison! I love little getaways! And thanks for the props on the dress combo – I was a little nervous to do something so daring, but I think it will turn out really fun! And sad news – no keeping up on the Insanity. The latest post tells the sob story. Alas…back to the drawing board!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Successful half-mile run! | Races, Reps, and Ramblings - June 6, 2013

    […] that cabaret Adam sang in last week?  The one where we got to dress up like fancy […]

Share your thoughts!

