Back-to-Back Half Marathons!

18 Apr

geist

In the spirit of keeping on keeping on, I signed up for another half marathon!  I’ve been hemming and hawing about it for a few weeks now, but I just decided to go for it this week.

The awesome:

  • It’s near me.  Close races are always convenient.
  • It’s on the smaller side, which will be fun after doing the largest half marathon in the country.
  • It’s around a reservoir; I’m guessing lovely views!
  • No pressure – the mini will be done…this one is for fun.

The con:

  • And this one I’m pretty worried about: it’s only 2 weeks after my other half.

I know, I know…all you marathoners out there are thinking ‘I do that mileage in my sleep.’  Well this marathoner is thinking – woah I really don’t want to hurt myself.  I’ve been feeling pretty strong lately (thanks P90X!), but I don’t like to push my luck.  I think 2 weeks is just a week or two shy of what I’d feel comfortable with to recover fully, but I think it’s doable.  I am going to going to do the second half-marathon as a chance to do something fun and relax – I’m not expecting any PR.

I’ve been thrilled with my running lately, and why not seize the opportunity to do another race?  With Adam moving to Nashville in June, I won’t have many chances left to have my #1 fan in tow (though my mom might object to that title ;)).  Summers are always crazy busy for weekends and there are usually far less race opportunities (at least close ones).  In the fall, there are 3 or 4 all right back to back so this will be a good time to see how many I should sign up for then.  I’m also hoping that knowing I have another race soon will keep my anxiety low on race day for the Mini.  It’s not “hey this is your one and only chance to do well,” so I’m guessing this will keep me more calm and allow me to set appropriate expectations for myself.

The Mini is almost here!!

Just a little over 2 weeks until the mini-marathon, and I am beyond excited.  I got my race confirmation in the mail yesterday and my corral placement.  It makes it seem that much more real.  I am up really close in corral D – which seems like potentially an error (for real people – I’m not that fast, come on!).  Though I was in E last year.  Moving on up ;)  I can’t believe my chance at a rematch is almost here.  I’m feeling good about going into it confident and prepared.  Last year’s mini was a pseudo-disaster…more on that another time.  Let’s just say I’m looking forward to kicking booty!

corrals

Signing off for a bit…

And last but not least, Adam and I are off to a real vacation tomorrow!  We are thrilled for a little R&R and time away.  We’re going to work hard to stay accountable to enjoy our vacation but not completely and totally fall off the P90X (healthy living) bandwagon.  We’ll just do our best!  We are packing some snacks just in case we can’t find anything healthy – that should help…right?  Our goals also include getting in 2 short runs and a couple rounds of ab ripper – though we are postponing P90X for our vacation (a calculated decision based on where vacation and the mini fell).  Things will be quiet for the next bit – see you when I get back!

-Kelly

Have you run any races back to back?  What are your tips for a speedy recovery?

8 Responses to “Back-to-Back Half Marathons!”

  1. brickiepedia April 18, 2013 at 4:18 pm #

    Hey! Nice work on running back to back halves!! That’s freaking awesome!!
    I just did a post you might like and I would love if you could help me out.
    I made a vegetarian pumpkin gnocchi but it also links in with my fundraiser – I am running a 10K on May 19 and raising funds for the UN’s World Food Programme – I just think it’s crazy people are dying from starvation and malnutrition… I’d really love it if you could spread the word a little bit goes a long way!!
    Thanks SO much in advance!!
    Brooke

    • racesrepsramblings April 19, 2013 at 1:30 pm #

      Great post Brooke! Good luck raising your funds! What an awesome cause- I hope your race goes great!

  2. megbek April 19, 2013 at 9:09 am #

    dangggg back to back?! good luck lady!! that should be fun! i haven’t ever run back to back races, i look forward to hearing about your recovery!

    • racesrepsramblings April 19, 2013 at 1:21 pm #

      I know! A little crazy, but fingers crossed it goes well. :) I’ll be sure to share how it goes- and if I’d do it again!

  3. atwostoreyhome April 19, 2013 at 1:31 pm #

    Back to back races? Gutsy… I like it :) I think as long as you rest appropriately during those two weeks (probably not do a lot of running,) you’ll be fine. Worst case scenario, you listen to your body, know you’re not ready to race again, and lose the registration money. Not the end of the world!
    Enjoy your vacation! Where are you guys going? If it’s wherever that waterfall is, I am jealous!

    • racesrepsramblings April 28, 2013 at 9:56 pm #

      Haha! Thanks so much :) I’m feeling ambitious (or crazy) – let’s hope I made the right call come May 18th. And you’re right, worst case scenario a great learning experience (and a shirt)! We ended up going to Costa Rica – it was pretty awesome. Vacations are the best. :) And though we didn’t visit that specific waterfall we did manage to swim in another one! So fun.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Dealing with Runner’s Knee | Races, Reps, and Ramblings - May 9, 2013

    […] my next half-marathon I will be taking 2 weeks off of any knee stressing exercises.  This includes running, legs lifting, […]

  2. Half-Marathon in the Morning! | Races, Reps, and Ramblings - May 17, 2013

    […] learning experience (or a learning what not to do experience) :)  I came up with this brilliant back-to-back half plan about a month ago.  I tend to get race anxiety and thought “Hey!  Another half – this will be […]

Share your thoughts!

