Successful 12-miler!

12 Apr

Well I’m pleased to report I had a great run this morning!  Yes, you’re reading that correctly, this morning.  This Friday morning…before work.  Okay so it was a little insane, but what’s a busy gal to do?  I had to squeeze it in some time!  My pace was on the more conservative side with an average around 9:20/9:25.  I stopped a few times and I know I’ve got some inaccuracies in my tracker so I’m not 100% certain, but that’s okay by me.  The weather was cold, at least cold for this week (we hit the 70s a couple days ago)!  My weather app said it would be 39 degrees…but it was a mighty cold 39 degrees.  It was consistently very windy, and I was glad I opted for gloves and ear warmers to shield me a bit.

I ended up choosing the ludicrous time of  Friday morning for my long run because I’m headed out of town this weekend.  I’m going bridesmaid dress shopping with my sister and future sister-in-law in Atlanta!  I’m very excited for the trip, but it also presented some logistical challenges.  A month or so ago I went to Atlanta and ended up doing my long run in a great park.  The difference?  That run was 5 miles, this one was 12.  I didn’t want to be sore and paranoid about hydration on a day dedicated to helping out my soon-to-be sister-in-law.  Nothing says ‘this day is about you’ like “We need to stop and get more water…I need to stretch more…I can’t walk that far…I’m tired.”  Do you see all the I’s in that?  Running this morning will allow me to relax and go with the flow as far as plans for the weekend.  I also did a triple day this week (running at lunch and P90X videos in the morning and evening) to help front load a little bit.  It will be great to not have to think about things!  I should get home early enough Sunday to squeeze in my last  P90X workout.

All the planning and thoughts about the timing of my long run are wonderful and make some sense – but wow when my alarm went off at 5:20, it seemed like just about the stupidest idea in the world.  I kept trying to think of another time I could make it work.  After a couple minutes of letting myself come to the conclusion I needed to run (and possibly dozing back to sleep during that time?) the snooze alarm went off and I went to work getting ready to head out.  In training for the Mini-Marathon, I have focused on keeping all my long runs in the morning.  I want to simulate a race run as much as possible.  In previous training periods I did all my long runs (or any run) in the evening or afternoon, and had quite a shock race day.  This morning I felt like I really was getting my routine down.  I had everything laid out the night before so could just go on auto pilot.  After eating my English muffin and filling up the bottle for my fuel belt, I was out the door!

And yikes, when I turned the corner it was windy.  Cold, I’m-gonna-be-happy-when-this-is-over windy.  Thankfully, the first few miles passed pretty quickly, and happily, I experienced no knee issues.  I noticed my miles were coming in a bit on the slower side: in the 9:10s-9:30s.  I haven’t seen those numbers in a while so it was a bit disheartening, but I reminded myself the goal was just to get the mileage in!  Slow and steady wins the race.

On this particular run, I was excited to try something new (always smart to do it before race day).  Normally I use Gu gels, but I had just stopped by the running store and picked up some chews to try.  Generally when you’re running over an hour it’s important to refuel with something to give your body some carbs and energy it needs.  I try to eat something every 40 minutes if I’m running over an hour.  My chews were pink lemonade flavored and I couldn’t wait until mile 4 to give them a try.  Shocker: I didn’t like them!  Now don’t get me wrong – I loved the taste.  What a great change from Gus (I sort of want them just as a non-running snack)!  But there was something about the act of chewing while running that I found difficult.   Pathetic right?  I did end up finishing the bag over the course of the run.  I could certainly handle them, but it was an important discovery that this won’t be my favorite form of refueling.  I’ll stick to my Gus for now.

Yummy! But… discovered it’s a challenge for me to chew and run.

The rest of the run was pretty uneventful.  Kind of what you’d expect from a dark, cold, early, long, pre-work run.  Wow when I put it that way – the run was actually fantastic given all those modifiers!  Throughout the run I wasn’t really pushing for speed.  I wasn’t slacking, but it was certainly on the slow and steady track.  It was nice to have a relaxing long run.  It was quite a bit windier near the river, which was a good challenge too.

Normally these bridges are gorgeous, but holy windy today!

When I got home I realized my average pace was officially on the slower side (didn’t I just do 10 miles at an 8:14 pace last week??).  Thankfully Adam was there to remind me “wasn’t your goal between 9 and 9:30?”  Hmm… I guess I had forgotten that.  I mean come on – it was early, I was barely functioning, let alone remembering what goal I had set earlier in the week!  Adam suggested that my body just knew and remembered what my goal was :)  I stretched as much as I could and got ready for work.  I was very fortunate to have Adam there after the run.  He packed my breakfast/lunch/dinner – what a doll.  That was a huge help in getting me out the door and to work on time.  Maybe it’s a good thing he isn’t doing this race!

After a bit of reflection about my run – I’m really feeling quite pleased with it!  It was tough to do it this morning, but I still managed to complete it.  AND – complete it with little to no pain.  I’ll call that a win-win.  I saw this picture on Pinterest this morning and laughed – an accurate summary of my morning!

Probably true for this morning!

Now onto the weekend and wedding details in Atlanta!  A great start to a great weekend for sure.

Happy Friday, and have an awesome weekend!

-Kelly

6 Responses to “Successful 12-miler!”

  1. megbek April 12, 2013 at 1:42 pm #

    Good job on running in the AM. Holy crap I wish I could! Have fun in Atlanta!! That’s my stomping grounds and it’s going to be beautiful all weekend so run in the weather if you can!

    • racesrepsramblings April 12, 2013 at 3:03 pm #

      Thanks so much! I was pretty amazed after I was done that I didn’t just press snooze. I’m so glad Atlanta will be nice weather, thanks for the heads up :)

  2. atwostoreyhome April 12, 2013 at 1:52 pm #

    Great job getting the run in this morning! I can totally relate to that feeling of waking up early and trying to bargain with myself about another time I could do the run–if I don’t do it then, chances are it’s not going to happen!
    I haven’t seen those energy chews, but I’ll have to look for them! I prefer chews to Gu…chewing gives me a brief distraction, although when it’s cold I cannot chew and keep the snot in my nose at the same time ;-)
    Congrats on a solid run! Have fun this weekend!

    • racesrepsramblings April 12, 2013 at 3:07 pm #

      Thanks!! It’s a nice relief to have it done, because you’re right…usually there is no other time to complete it! I got the chews at a running store – though I’d never seen them before so they might not be as popular as Clif or Gu. If you’re a chews fan, you’ll probably like them – the flavor was awesome. They had 3 or 4 flavors that all looked delicious! And I hear you on the snot…isn’t it supposed to be summer soon??

      Thanks again for the encouragement and have a great weekend! :)
      Kelly

  3. boltingbutterfly April 15, 2013 at 8:34 am #

    Great job getting out in the morning! I know how hard it can be to fit in long runs when you have a super busy schedule. I had to run 24 miles on a treadmill once, not the most fun. I love getting out there early in the morning run. It makes me feel so productive and gives me so much energy for the rest of the day. Now that it’s getting lighter earlier in the morning it makes getting up so much easier. Simulating as much as you can of what race day is going to be like will make you really successful. Good luck with the rest of your training!

    • racesrepsramblings April 15, 2013 at 9:30 am #

      Thanks! I was feeling pretty delighted with myself ;) I cannot imagine running 24 on a treadmill – WOW. That’s impressive. But I agree… thank goodness for mornings with light and warmer weather. Thanks for the luck, I’m excited to see how this simulation strategy pays off!

Share your thoughts!

