Phase 3 Begins!

4 Apr

Nutrition Plan

Carbs! Glorious Carbs!  We are back in the land of the carb-eating and I must say it’s pretty fabulous.  See our delicious pasta from last night – no worries, it was wheat and all that jazz.  And of course measured out our serving per the P90X nutrition guide.  This plan feels more ‘normal’ or more what we were used to.  I can have 3 servings of carbs a day and 2 servings of fruit.  It’s fantastic.  I’m still noticing that I’m hungry throughout the day so Adam and I have been trying other carbs such as oatmeal and pasta to fill us up longer.  So far so good!

IMG_3605

Oh pasta – how I’ve missed you!

We have a big Costco run planned this weekend – I’m excited to see all those delicious carbs piled up in the cart.  :)

Workouts

Adam and I are now on day 4 of the workouts and we’ve already noticed a few things:

  • We are stronger!
    • We are back on the videos we did week 1 (oh so long ago!) and it’s amazing to see and feel the progress.  It’s incredibly encouraging.
  • We are sore!
    • Because we are able to really push it with weight and reps, we are both super sore.  Tuesday we were remarking that we don’t remember ever feeling this sore…even in the first days. Yeah, surprised me too!
  • Variety is back!
    • Phase 2 was starting to get a little monotonous so I’m very pleased to be starting the last phase.  We are back to new videos and only have 2 weeks with them.  It’s hard to believe it’s almost over! (I’ve been watching a little too much ab ripper).

Running

Though running isn’t a part of P90X – it is a part of my P90X experience, as I’m training for a half marathon May 4th.  Unfortunately Phase 3 of running isn’t bringing great things for me.  My knee problems I experienced this fall are back with a vengeance.  Last night I went out for a run and had to walk home due to knee pain – never a good thing.  I don’t remember the last time that has happened.  I’m going to increase my icing and have decided to skip my second shorter run of the week.  Rest is all I can do at this point.   I’m also contemplating making an appointment with a doctor.  My knee has been ‘clicking’ for about 7 months now and no amount of rest has allowed it to improve.  Yeah…it’s probably time.

I’m keeping my fingers crossed for my 15K this Saturday.  At this point I’m just hoping I can finish it – I won’t even care if it’s terribly slow!

Weather

And to end on a positive note… the weather is improving!  Here in the midwest we’re finally seeing consistently sunny and somewhat warm days.  That’s incredibly encouraging! :)

-Kelly

How do you deal with injuries?  What remedies have you found for running pain?

Share your thoughts!

