The Benefits of Not Running

12 Jul

Well I haven’t been running, which you may know if you’ve been around here before.  You can check out my experiences with Runner’s Knee here: The Dreaded Runner’s Knee, Dealing with Runner’s Knee, and When Running Hurts, okay…so maybe I talk a lot about my inability to really run.  But what I wanted to do today is take a look at the positive side of this situation.  The benefits of not running!  Okay, I tease, there really aren’t that many true benefits.  But… this morning I was able to find TWO clean athletic socks (that matched) easily and swiftly and it got me thinking, “there have to be more positives out there!”  So for all you injured runners out there – this one is for you!

Screen-Shot-2013-04-07-at-10.32.19-PM

The Benefits of Not Running

  • An abundance of clean running/workout clothes.  Now when I do my morning workout I no longer have to search and sniff test endlessly.  It’s super easy to find all parts of my workout ensemble that are clean.  Win!
  • Extra time to try new fitness trends!   Without all those hours spent running you could explore Zumba or Crossfit or any Beachbody at home DVD program.  Think of the possibilities!  Usually with all that time running I don’t feel motivated to check other things out – a non-serious injury allows you that excuse!  Or you can be like me and watch hours of old Grey’s Anatomy episodes on Netflix.  Endlessly.  Either activity is a big win!
  • Decreased hunger.  When I’m not running a ton every week, my hunger seems to go down to a tolerable level.  Though, the lack of running means I should probably keep track of what I eat a little better.  The excuse “I ran 10 miles today” no longer is valid…darn!
  • No paces to stress you out!  If you like to see improvements with running and get frustrated with slow times… one way to avoid all this?  No running at all!  No running = no pace = no stress.  Sounds brilliant to me.
  • No farmer tan.  I don’t have to worry this summer about my usual running shorts line on my thighs.  Now I can look better in my underwear.  Such a win.  Priorities people.
  • Money savings.  Race entries are expensive.  Like really expensive.  A break from running means a break on my wallet for awhile.  Though I have made up for it in Physical Therapy bills… womp womp.
  • Free Saturday mornings!  Without a long run to plan around I’m totally and blissfully available!  Saturday brunch?  No problem.  A late night on Friday?  No problem.  Want to drink wine at 9 am?  No problem.
  • No need to track the weather!  What a relief!  I no longer have to care about the humidity or chance or rain.  Is it a nice day?  Great.  Is it the most horrendously humid day every experienced?  Cool.
  • Nothing to compare.  If you have an issue comparing yourself to other runners…taking yourself out of the game removes all comparisons!  Now you can sit on a high pedestal and say “Oh if I could run, I totally would be faster and could run longer” and it doesn’t matter because you don’t have to prove it.  Sweet.

So if you’re currently injured and feeling sad – don’t worry, there are plenty of positives to the situation.  And, if these don’t make you feel like slightest bit better (or at least smile), hang in there… you’re not alone!

Happy Friday!

-Kelly

What positives would you add to the list?  How do you deal with breaks from running?

 

15 Responses to “The Benefits of Not Running”

  1. Brittany July 12, 2013 at 1:15 pm #

    I love your positive spin on not being able to run!! I tell ya, not worrying about the long run weekend is nice!! I’ve been away from it for a while and actually missed it!! I am starting to train again now for another half and I look forward to the long runs! Take care of that knee so you can be back at it soon!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings July 12, 2013 at 2:00 pm #

      Thanks lady… trying to be as positive as I can be! It at least entertained me to make the list :) And I hear you on missing the long runs…there is something so calming and detoxing about long runs. I love the feeling of just finishing one. Amazingness. What race will you be doing next. And thanks for the support! :)

  2. Liz July 12, 2013 at 1:43 pm #

    Just started following your blog and I love it! So many great tips from someone who is trying out different work outs and food. Also, the Keys are a great destination for a honeymoon. If you’re looking to party Key West is awesome! Try out the Southernmost Hotel on the Beach. It’s on Duval which is where all the action is but on the quiet end.

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings July 12, 2013 at 2:03 pm #

      Hi Liz! Thanks for following, and I’m glad you’ve enjoyed it! I’m SO happy to hear the Keys will be great! I cannot wait. We’re hoping to have more of a relaxed honeymoon…do you think we might be able to find that too? Our hotel is about 20 minutes away from Duval so we’re hoping we can escape the craziness, but always go there when we want to :) I think our hotel has a shuttle service – woot! Thanks for the tips!

  3. runningtoherdreams July 12, 2013 at 4:40 pm #

    I hope you are able to get back to running soon! Great reminders about the positives, I have noticed I am not as hungry either! :-)

  4. Debb V July 13, 2013 at 6:56 am #

    Kelly, I can really appreciate this post. As someone who’s taken a couple weeks off recently due to injury, I have to admit it really got me down. But I’ve struggled to also find the positives, and while you found a few more than me (admittedly, it is kind of nice knowing I have a nice, neatly folded pile of clean and fresh smelling workout clothes in my closet right now). I have been exploring other fitness trends as you mentioned and finding it does help keep me feeling challenged and active. Thanks for the positive spin! :)

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings July 15, 2013 at 9:50 am #

      Hi Debb! I’m glad you can relate – sometimes it’s just helpful knowing we’re not the only ones out there sidelined.. at least that tends to help me a lot. And who can resist clean socks and workout clothes – that’s amazing :) Good luck with your recovery, I hope you can get back at it soon!

  5. Catherine @ A Two Storey Home July 13, 2013 at 8:06 am #

    Hahaha, “Want to drink wine at 9 am? No problem.” :-D So true, though. Training for a marathon or half marathon is time consuming way beyond the actual minutes and hours you are running. It knocks out the evening/night before a long run, the morning of, and potentially leaves you feeling exhausted the rest of the day! I also love the benefit of being able to try new fitness trends! There are so many things that intrigue me, but I never know how to fit them in with running without overexercising.
    Great post!

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings July 15, 2013 at 9:52 am #

      So agree – that’s an excellent one to add to the list. It isn’t just the running time.. it’s all the prep around it too. You certainly make sacrifices to train (well) for a half or especially a full. No 9am wine drinking for sure! ;) Now I feel my schedule is quite a bit more flexible, which can be really nice. Glad you enjoyed the post!

  6. MegBek July 15, 2013 at 3:47 pm #

    These are all total positives! I’m glad it was a matching set of socks that set you up to see the positive side of a break from running. :) You are doing a fine job keeping things chipper in spite of your aching knee. :) Kudos, I’d be Debbie Downer extraordinaire with no readers because they’d all dip out. I can imagine trying new things would be my most positive takeaway! <3

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings July 16, 2013 at 9:43 am #

      Haha! Thanks for the support. It’s not the easiest to remain positive, but I’m trying. Let’s see how long this positivity can last ;)

  7. Sarah @ Sweet Miles July 15, 2013 at 4:04 pm #

    I throughouly enjoyed your “search and sniff test” quote! Hilarious..I think I run in dirty running clothes more often than clean ones! Yuck! Amen to race entries being expensive! Man, my wallet could use a break too!! Hopefully you can scratch your name off the “injured” list sooner than later :)

    • kelly @ racesrepsramblings July 16, 2013 at 9:44 am #

      Hahah! But the search and sniff test is such a real thing ;) My fiance was helping me put away clothes and I was trying to show him the ropes… he just didn’t have the skill (yet!). Thanks for the support, and I’m hoping I can return to normal again soon!!

Share your thoughts!